Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

nice hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: pleasant hotel with excellent staff
Cons: it could do with air conditioning
Location: 5mins walk away from Rialto Bridge & 15mins walk away from St Marks Square. The fish market on tuesday at the other side of Rialto Bridge is a must
nice hotel , a little off the beaten track but we met more local people in local bars
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cornwall England

Excellent Hotel, close to San Marco & Rialto areas

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Great quiet location, staff brilliant, hotel style lovely
Cons: Breakfast for Coeliac's (Gluten Free options were very limited)
Location: Hotel on edge of Castello region, being close to Piazza San Marco, Rialto Bridge, many Churches & Restaurants.
The Hotel itself was immaculate & the staff were exceptionally helpful. The location allows easy access to the San Marco & Rialto Bridge areas, both 5 min walks. My only criticism was the breakfast for me, being Coeliac, was pretty basic, but at least there was a breakfast option.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but not easy to find

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Staff, decoration, food
Cons: Better quality pillows and air con
The hotel was in a nice setting, it was an old monetary so the decorations inside were very nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful, however the room was a bit of a disappointment. The pillows were very hard and the room itself was probably one of the warmest I have ever stayed in, even with the air con it was stuffy and i had problems breathing so didn't get very much sleep. It was also quite a difficult hotel to find and if I were to return to Venice I don't think I'll stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Pleasant hotel in a great location

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The hotel was great near all the major tourist sites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Overall very pleasant stay with staff most helpful. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance and well placed for San Marco and Rialto . Would certainly come again to Hotel San Marina.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016
A lovely old fashoined feeling hotel that used to be a monastery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic Htl, perfect location, brilliant staff!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
A very stylist kept hotel to blend into the rest of the beautiful city of Venice. Me & my husband booked for our anniversary & surly was not disappointed. Excellent location -apx mins from Rilota Bridge. (Pier decking points). Apx 10-20 mins into St Marco Square. (Near most restaurants, bars & shopping area). Neat today room Service, staff happy to accomadate to your needs. Breakfast filling to start the day, continental B&B. I left my oil painting item in room after I checked out & the hotel team was fantastic in there customer services to help & reach it to the courier service for it to be posted to the Uk. The speedy response to my email & call was amazing. I received a confirmation from the teams effort before I got off my speed Waterboat ride to the airport to fly back. Totally would stay here again, as made our Romantic Hoilday worth it. Love & miss you Santa Marina Hotel. 10/10!!! Mr & Mrs Gill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Great location, good breakfast, helpful staff

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Very Central, 10 mins from the Rialto bridge and 10 min from the Piazza San Marco.
Cons: When booking your hotel give the option to book a porter to meet you at the drop off port. and just add it to the cost of your room.
Had a wonderful time but hard to find the hotel once dropped off at the Rialto bridge from the airport by the water taxi, I recommend to get a porter to guide you to your hotel it was worth the €15
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Beautiful hotel with minor things I would change

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: beautiful interior and decor fantastic staff great area great facilities
Cons: Please do not put two single beds together and classify them as double bed - easy way to ruin a large proportion of the stay.
Location: 10 minute walk from st marcs square
The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. Stereotypical Venice hotel with beautiful wallpaper, great room layout and decor. The room was very clean, had air conditioning which was an absolute must for the Venice Heat, opening windows as well as shutters and a nice use of wardrobe space, desk, facilities including bar and fridge, en suite with a bath and a shower etc. The only thing that slightly let the room down was that we specifically asked for a double bed - and I knew we wouldn't get that - and we didn't. Unfortunately I'm unsure as to why a lot of hotels think that two single beds pushed together classify as "Double" - as they definitely do not. This meant a lot of falling between the gap of the two beds as we were sleeping in the night as they started to move apart which made it pretty uncomfortable. Our view also consisted of walls and other room windows - however this was simply due to placement of our bedroom and not a massive issue as it didn't affect our personal stay. The hotel was in a great walking distance to everything - most importantly st marcs square which can't have been more than 10 minute once we mastered all of the roads. Breakfast in the morning was great with a lovely selection. Staff spoke fantastic english and we're very accommodating. We also had a free trip to an additional island in venice and had a mirano glass tour which we almost paid £30 each for as a separate tourist attraction! Overall, great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Beautiful rooms and very nice hotel. The staff was gentle and helpful. Breakfast is ok and hotel is close enough to everything but on a quiet side of Venetia.