Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D.C.

Neat & Inexpensive

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: The help
Cons: They should stop the policy of displaying your full name & length of stay on the parking pass. This allowed a deviant to harass & scare my sister.
Location: Good Breakfast & Lunch restaurant virtually attached to hotel.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

It was a great hotel, close to downtown and beach.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The Island Sun Inn is prefect as it is.
Location: The location was perfect. You're about 10 minutes from the beach and several great restaurans are within walking distance.
Everything about the Island Sun Inn was great. The staff was courteous and helpful, the room was clean, excellant house cleaning care, and the pool area was great too.It was an older Inn...1950's era, but well kept, which we loved.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Run down

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Location. Price.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Decent restaurant on site and more nearby. Grocery nearby. Close to downtown and the beach.
Needs updating. Toilet seat loose. Sink didn't drain properly. Mattress too soft and uncomfortable. Pillows too hard. Walls too thin.
5 out of 5
by Angela

Lovely place

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Easy check in. Good shopping in the area. The bed was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The room was clean and the grounds we'll kept. We'll stay here again.
1 out of 5
by Pete

Mold and dirt ruined the stay

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms were not even slightly clean...mold on walls and floor in bathroom
3 out of 5
by sang mu

Cleaning problem of bathroom

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Not so good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mi.

stay away from this hotel

Posted May 7, 2017
This is the worst experience we have had at a hotel. We never write reviews but it was bad. Bugs on table by coffee maker , roach on floor by bed , blinds on patio door did not work , entry door peep hole block (unsafe) , tub leaked onto floor by entry real bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful family friendly renovated motel

Posted May 6, 2017
We had 4 rooms that open onto a courtyard so we could sit out there for family time. They provided ping pong, bags game, pool toys, umbrella table and chairs. It was wonderful and we could keep track of everyone easily. One room had a kitchette and the others had a microwave and mini frig. The staff was nice and friendly.
5 out of 5
by Jonathan

Wonderful "Old Florida" hotel - Highly Recommend!

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
We loved our stay at the Island Sun Inn. If you are expecting modern luxury, though, this isn't your place. It's an "old Florida" style hotel, which we love, but definitely has its own vibe. The rooms surround a central courtyard that includes the pool, ping pong, games, BBQ grills, and lots of places to sit. The pool is very nice and everything is very clean. If you are sensitive to sound or light, I suggest you bring earplugs and an eye mask. The rooms have french doors with blinds that open to the courtyard. It's open until 10pm, so lots of light and noise come into the room until that time. They turn the lights off after 10, but there's still a lot of ambient light that comes through the blinds. We had 2, comfortable queen-sized beds, a fridge/microwave, dresser, small table, and large closet. There's also a huge flat-panel TV on the wall with lots of channels. Wifi was OK most of the time. It could be sketchy once in a while. The bathroom is small, but everything was updated and worked well. The room was very clean and comfortable overall. The attached restaurant is highly rated and serves delicious food. We ate breakfast there nearly every day. The staff at the restaurant and the hotel are very friendly! We also had fun getting to know some of our neighbors out in the courtyard. We will definitely stay here again if visiting Venice. Again...this hotel's vibe is decidedly "old Florida," so don't stay here if you expect a Hilton. Prices were great too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice area centrally located.

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Air conditioner was quiet running and cold. Fridge was cold and place was quiet
Friendly people behind counter ready to help and make the stay pleasant for you.