Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet stylish stay across from the tourist mecca

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Special mention of the interior quality, staff and service, breakfast and as many others mention a lovely small balcony with spectacular views.
Cons: No improvements required
Location: 25 minutes maximum to stroll anywhere. Lots of character shops, restaurants close by - Peggy Guggenheim 15 minutes. Rialto / Accademia - 10 mins.
Lovely stylish and quiet hotel facing across Grand Canal to the busy areas of San Marco. Being a small and low property, you can have a discreet and sophisticated experience, large beautiful rooms and within 25 minutes stroll of almost everywhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Elegant but not pretentious

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location, rooms, amenities, staff
Location: Local cicchetti's, Rialto market, San Polo and San Toma neighborhoods...St Marks Square 15 minute walk
Wow...what a perfect experience! The water taxi from the train station took us through idyllic Venetian canals and dropped us off at the front door/deck of Palazzo Barbarigo right on the Grand Canal! Christiano and Valentina welcomed us and immediately we knew our stay was going to be memorable. The location is on the quiet side of the canal (opposite St. Marks and the cruise ships) but within easy walking distance of everything. The hotel only has 18 rooms, is more elegant than quaint, very unique, intimate, and romantic. It's definitely a Luxury Boutique Hotel but with an elegant B&B feel. The rate includes a beautifully served breakfast. The building itself is the star attraction, over 500 years old, but the staff are what you will remember...attentive, genuine, and professional!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Our Own Private Palazzo!

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: A friendly and intimate hotel but we were left alone to enjoy it. A beautiful boutique hotel, in a stunning location!
Cons: A private boat owned by the hotel would have been fantastic. We spent 400 euros on independent boats in 3 days - it was worth it for the experiences!
Location: Central location in the middle of Venice with great access to all the best attractions. Situated right in the middle of the Grand Canal, superb!
We had a fantastic three days in Venice... From the moment we arrived on our own transfer boat on a stunningly sunny day from the airport to the hotel's private pier on the grand canal we received a five star service! Upon check in we were given directions to the best spots to visit in the city - we walked seven miles in one afternoon and ticked off all the hotel's amazing recommendations, from churches to restaurants. That night we headed to the bar, which we had to ourselves and finished the evening with cocktails on the balcony on the grande canal! On day two we got upgraded to a Junior Suite (Room 6) on the Grand Canal - ftw! Each morning we ate late when we got up (breakfast is anytime you want, which is a brilliant policy! so that we always dined on our own, making it feel like we'd hired out the whole palace to ourselves. The hotel went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable & memorable. I would definitely stay at Palazza Barbarigo on our next visit and I have already recommended it to friends heading there next month!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Excellent Hotel, lovely rooms, good location, 10-15 min walk from Rialto Bridge. Good restaurants nearby. Staff are excellent and the breakfast was fantastic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic luxurious hotel with stunning scenery!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for girlfriends birthday. Fantastic hotel, great location with stunning scenery. Service was brilliant, rooms were serviced twice a day. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, willing to go out of their way for you. All requests made we're met, would definitely visit again & would recommend to anyone. Junior Suites Grand Canal view a must do, definitely worth doing with outstanding views!
5 out of 5
by Johanna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by nigel from Bookham

Hidden Jewell

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
From the outside, the Hotel is nothing special ( once you have found it if walking and not taken a water taxi )But inside it is a Palace!!
5 out of 5
by Caroline from Arizona

Grand Canal Hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
This is such a beautiful hotel, right on the Grand Canal, the location gets your anywhere in little more than 10 minutes. Breakfast is great, beautiful fruit and breads and fresh pastries etc. The hotel staff are all so helpful too, especially for us, as first time visitors. I really can't recommend it highly enough, so much to enjoy!
5 out of 5
by Craig from Harrogate

Just Perfect......

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2016
A wonderful hotel on the Grand Canal. Arriving by water taxi at their front door was wonderful. The hotel is beautifully furnished and kept very clean. Staff are extremely efficient and courteous. A beautiful hotel