Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location but very small room.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Check-in is actually at another hotel around the corner and down the street a bit. Breakfast is also served there. Hotel is old and room is very small. Barely room to move around the end of the bed. Bathroom also very small and pokey. Sound of running water all the time through old pipes which is annoying. Location is great though as was the breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Disappointing, shabby accommodation

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Location was great but we found almost any location on the island was great.
Cons: Ragged furniture really needs to be checked and replaced as needed. One staff member was very rude and would not even provide her name for complaint.
Location: Lots to do and see in walking distance. Can walk to almost everything and 'people carriers' are very convenient.
Upon check we were trying to change our checkout by a day. We were informed that this could not happen but the staff did move us into a larger room - thank you. Unfortunately the room had dirty, raggedy furniture. When we spoke to the staff they came to look and changed two chairs but left the love seat which was the worst piece. We did not use it. The accommodations are in a separate building from the desk and staff. When we wanted ice - which unfortunately was often as I had injured my knee - we had to go down the block to the desk and get it ourselves. The weather turned a little cold and we asked about a space heater. The woman at the desk said she would get back to us. She did not and when we went down the block again to inquire she said there were no heaters, after having said she would look for one. Really the deplorable furniture was the real turn off. The bathroom was fine and the room was cleaned satisfactorily.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aspen, CO

Good location but...

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: UPDATE!!! SO in need of a remodel.
Location: Walk to everything Venice offers. Very easy to get around from here.
The location of this hotel is great with it being easy to get to from Rialto boat dock and also fairly close to StMarks Square. But, VERY outdated with old, uncomfortable bed and in a pretty noisy building. I thought it was bad that the hotel pushed two twin beds together to make one bigger bed. There was a big, uncomfortable ridge in the middle where the two mattresses met. And the mattress was rock hard so not comfortable after a day of walking around Venice. The control panel on the thermostat seemed to be locked and I wanted to turn it up just a tad since it was a bit chilly in the room but it wasn't possible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Palazzo stay

Posted Apr 25, 2016
First of all, the hotel is very hard to locate. The check-in area is in the other hotel. The room is so small, there were even no soap, gel or shampoo in the bathroom. The water in the room cost €3, they hijacked you with the drinks, thought they were complimentary!!! It was a terrible experience in this hotel, not worth the €110 I paid for. I would never recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel, great location

Posted Apr 11, 2016
We had the perfect stay at the Palazzo La Scala. When we first arrived we felt a little uncertain and sceptical when it was down a small walkway with a tiny sign. We had to buzz to get help. A hotel staff member came to get us and took us just around the corner to the main lobby. To our relief, the lobby was beautiful, clean and bright. Our hotel room was small, cute, clean and perfect. The location was amazing. Five minutes to St. Marks and 5 minutes to the Rialto Bridge. Staff was great, the breakfasts were amazing. Would definitely recommend to anyone!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2016
The room was too small. Also bad smell on the reception
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami fl

Nice place

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Staff was great..room was nice..location is perfect
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2015
The staff was helpful and friendly and the breakfast was great. Downside is that I could hear too much and didn't sleep well. Bedding seemed too worn and unclean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

excellent location, breakfast and service

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: everything. especially the food and the bathroom amenities and the location. i was also able to check in early. good value through expedia.
Cons: Nothing, really.
Location: The location is excellent, minutes walk from Rialto and San Marco. Safe location. Restaurants and shops steps .away.
I love this little hotel. The location is excellent, minutes walk from Rialto and San Marco. You check in at the main hotel, steps away at Bella Venezia, also where you have breakfast. No big deal as they send someone to help with luggage at check in. Breakfast includes eggs, pastries, meats, cheese, breads, pastries, coffees, juices, fruits, yogurt, cereals, etc...etc...Service is excellent and friendly. If you need anything just call the main desk and they will fulfill your requests. Room is small, but how much time are you going to spend in your room in Venice? Room is cute and comfortable. Good bed, nice furniture and the bathroom is clean and modern, with soaps, toothbrushes, etc...Safe location. Loved being here! Restaurants and shops minutes away. They have an office section where you can print your boarding passes and access internet, and a bar. minibar in room, as well!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: the location, comfort, breakfast, free wifi, and toiletries
Cons: Check in instructions could have been better, reminding us to go to the other building to check in
Location: It is near all the main attractions, placed perfectly between the Rialto bridge and St Marks Square
It was as the hotel was described and in a great location. The breakfast was very nice with great variety and the wifi was excellent. The room was very clean and comfortable, and if like us you're not planning in spending much time in your room it has everything you need. The room was cosy and a nice range of toiletries were provided.