Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from d

Calm,quaint and very quiet

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: Dorsoduro is a great choice if you want to be away from the crowds. Shocking amounts of graffiti everywhere in Venice.
Very nice place to stay. Great breakfasts. Very quiet and calm inside. Easy walk to Accademia bridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by Enrico B. - Reception and Online Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Emerald, thank You for Your kind and positive review. We are glad You enjoyed our breakfast and location! We hope to welcome You again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Great location; allows you to walk everywhere but also has a private taxi point. Excellent staff, great value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Enrico - Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank You very much for Your kind review! Enrico
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Great choice!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: An unexpected bonus, the hotel provided a free trip by water taxi (water bus to return) to Murano for a glass blowing demonstration and factory tour.
Cons: At breakfast the older waiter asked my room number both mornings he saw me and I didn't hear him ask anyone that came in after me that same question.
The Pensione Accademia was a great choice! Very convenient to the Ponte dell' Accademia waterbus stop. The hotel is attractive and charming, fairly small but with gardens in front and back. The desk staff was professional, very friendly and helpful. I traveled alone, so my room was small, but very comfortable and well appointed. I was fortunate enough to have a room in the front and had a gorgeous view that included The Grand Canal. The location is also quiet at night (which was needed after 5 loud nights in Florence), though only a 10 - 15 minute walk from Piazza San Marco or the Rialto Bridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by Enrico B. - Reception and Online Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Dreck, thank You very much for Your kind and positive review! We are so thrilled about the nice and excellent words spent for our Staff, as well as the location and the gardens. We're sorry for what You mentioned about the waiter asking Your room number, it's a procedure he has to do in the morning, and I'm sure his intention wasn't to make You feel not at ease by doing so, but please accept our apologies if You didn't like it. We hope to welcome You again! All the Best, Enrico
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

beautiful, clean, classic, elegant and friendly

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: cleanliness, classic beauty, convenience and great staff
Cons: middle of the night loud drunks along the canal
Location: perfect location for everything.
This is the second time we've stayed here. Both times made the visit to Venice wonderful. It's expensive but well worth the cost. Within a 5 minute walk there are several fantastic restaurants.. almost directly across the little canal that runs along side in the hotel is a delicious, relatively reasonable cost seafood restaurant. We ordered a "sampler" appetizer platter that ended up being a full meal for my wife and myself. To give you an idea of cost, the platter, 1/2 carafe of their hose red wine, desert and water totaled 68 Euro including a 10 Euro cover charge and 10% tax. The only negative about the pensione was middle of the night noise from drunk kids doing whatever they do along the canal (both nights), so even though the canal view is wonderful and romantic, we will stay away from it next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by Enrico B. - Reception and Online Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Bart and Judy, thank You for Your positive review. We are so glad You enjoyed our location. We are sorry for the fact You heard some noises from the people in the street, it's not that common but sometimes it can happen, therefore next time we will be more than glad to welcome You in one of our rooms overlooking the garden, based on availability and upon request. Thank You again,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place to stay.

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Grounds, location, breakfast and staff.
Cons: Nothing as this is a historic building hundreds of years old.
Location: Rialto bridge, St. Mark's square and Basilica, shopping, restaurants. A great city to be lost in.
Great location with good view of the grand canal. Front door accessible by water Taxi. Breakfast very good and beautifully presented. Staff friendly and helpful. Great location-walking distance to major sites. Our room #10 was nicely appointed but small with minimal space for our large suitcases and steps up and down into bathroom. Will stay there again when in Venice but ask for a room with no steps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Beautiful garden setting in a great location

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness, quiet, local experience.
Location: In the Dursoduro section, very close to Accademia attractions and also some great neighborhood bars and restaurants
My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary in Venice. We wanted to stay in a place that was "off the beaten path" where we could have a more "local" experience, and Pensione Accademia was exactly what we were looking for! It is in a beautiful garden just off the canal and within short walking distance of most major attractions, yet far enough away that we had access to a neighborhood experience (i.e. making our way through the large group of students on their way to school as we raced to catch our waterbus on the last day)! Staff was very welcoming and helpful yet not intrusive in any way. Breakfast was delicious with what seemed like plenty of local options as well. We would love to return some day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Beautiful, on a canal; quiet beautiful grounds

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Everything! Decor, staff, food...even bath amenities - L'Occitaine!
Cons: Not much...as mentioned, I would make sure ahead of time to get a larger room.
Location: In this location you are close to Peggy Guggenheim Museum, San Marco Plaza and ALL that you can do there, walking the streets and crossing the canals.
We loved our stay at Pensione Accademia. Unfortunately our schedule had us arriving very late (past 10:30) so we didn't get to see how beautiful it is till the following day. The location is perfect because you are just steps from Accademia bridge, and then the San Marco Plaza if you like. For being so close to the action, it is also surprisingly quiet - we appreciated that. PROS: Attentive friendly staff. Great breakfast, included in the room rate. Gorgeous surroundings. Close to whatever you want to do or see. Free water taxi to Murano (aside from the awesome experience at the glass blowing factory and an up-close look at the artisans, the water taxi ride is the best way to get an up-close view of a lot of Venice that would be so much harder on foot) which should not be missed - Murano is much quieter, calmer than the throng of Grand Canal Venice. CONS: Our room was very small, too small. Had the weather been rainy and not great for exploring, we would have had a much less enjoyable experience in Venice. I think there were larger rooms at the hotel so it would be worth checking that before booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff & lovely gardens
Cons: Better happy hour & an elevator
Location: Close to sights & a view of the grand canal
Very welcoming staff. The gardens are relaxing after a day of walking
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2016 by Enrico - Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank You so much for Your kind and positive review. We are so glad about Your good words for our Staff, it's our aim to be helpful and attentive. We are sorry about not having an elevator: being the hotel crafted in a 17th century ancient Venetian mansion, the structure is subject to strict rules and limitations concerning the laws on cultural heritage and preservation. Should You need it, we are glad to accept requests for a room on our lower floors, subject to availability. It would be much appreciated to be contacted about what You liked the least about our happy hour, in order to figure out and improve. Thank You again and Best Regards, Enrico B. - Reception & Customer Care
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham, UK

Excellent Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The staff were really helpful, breakfast was really good and we had an early checkout and they gave us a breakfast basket full of goodies. The location was great as it is very near the public boat terminal, however we got lost finding it on our first day in Venice but thanks to google maps. The tourist spots can be reached on foot which is really good, it is very cheap to go by foot than to pay for the public transport that could be very busy and crowded at times. Just beware of pick pocketers, we haven't experienced it but just beware of them especially on the public transport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Special value and a menorable visit

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Great location with outdoor garden and breakfast area. Lot of charm to hotel. Helpful desk staff. Always nice to return to after a busy day. Make sure you get rooms overlooking the adjacent canals.