Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Beautiful garden setting in a great location

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness, quiet, local experience.
Location: In the Dursoduro section, very close to Accademia attractions and also some great neighborhood bars and restaurants
My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary in Venice. We wanted to stay in a place that was "off the beaten path" where we could have a more "local" experience, and Pensione Accademia was exactly what we were looking for! It is in a beautiful garden just off the canal and within short walking distance of most major attractions, yet far enough away that we had access to a neighborhood experience (i.e. making our way through the large group of students on their way to school as we raced to catch our waterbus on the last day)! Staff was very welcoming and helpful yet not intrusive in any way. Breakfast was delicious with what seemed like plenty of local options as well. We would love to return some day!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Beautiful, on a canal; quiet beautiful grounds

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Everything! Decor, staff, food...even bath amenities - L'Occitaine!
Cons: Not much...as mentioned, I would make sure ahead of time to get a larger room.
Location: In this location you are close to Peggy Guggenheim Museum, San Marco Plaza and ALL that you can do there, walking the streets and crossing the canals.
We loved our stay at Pensione Accademia. Unfortunately our schedule had us arriving very late (past 10:30) so we didn't get to see how beautiful it is till the following day. The location is perfect because you are just steps from Accademia bridge, and then the San Marco Plaza if you like. For being so close to the action, it is also surprisingly quiet - we appreciated that. PROS: Attentive friendly staff. Great breakfast, included in the room rate. Gorgeous surroundings. Close to whatever you want to do or see. Free water taxi to Murano (aside from the awesome experience at the glass blowing factory and an up-close look at the artisans, the water taxi ride is the best way to get an up-close view of a lot of Venice that would be so much harder on foot) which should not be missed - Murano is much quieter, calmer than the throng of Grand Canal Venice. CONS: Our room was very small, too small. Had the weather been rainy and not great for exploring, we would have had a much less enjoyable experience in Venice. I think there were larger rooms at the hotel so it would be worth checking that before booking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff & lovely gardens
Cons: Better happy hour & an elevator
Location: Close to sights & a view of the grand canal
Very welcoming staff. The gardens are relaxing after a day of walking
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham, UK

Excellent Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The staff were really helpful, breakfast was really good and we had an early checkout and they gave us a breakfast basket full of goodies. The location was great as it is very near the public boat terminal, however we got lost finding it on our first day in Venice but thanks to google maps. The tourist spots can be reached on foot which is really good, it is very cheap to go by foot than to pay for the public transport that could be very busy and crowded at times. Just beware of pick pocketers, we haven't experienced it but just beware of them especially on the public transport.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

편안한 호텔,위치도굿!,가족단위여행자에게추천

Posted Aug 6, 2016
아카데미아역에내려서도보오분,다리하나만건너면되어서편했고,산마르코광장역과한정거장,도보15분이면갈수있어서좋았어요~직원들이아주친절하지는않지만체크인을밤12시에했는데..무거운캐리어두개를다들어주고친절히설명해주어서좋았습니다.두딸들과함께한이탈리아여행에서최고로로맨틱한 숙소였어요~ 특히,방에서바라보는운하풍경이너무멋졌어요 아카데미에서내려서조금좁은골목구간이잠깐나오는데..산마르코광장가는길이라그런지저희가성수기때가서그런지사람들이왕래를많이해서괜찮았어요 아쉬운점은 커피를 직원이직접내려주지않고, 머신에서 선택해서먹는거였어요
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Special value and a menorable visit

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Great location with outdoor garden and breakfast area. Lot of charm to hotel. Helpful desk staff. Always nice to return to after a busy day. Make sure you get rooms overlooking the adjacent canals.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Quiet and relaxing

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Location: Riviera restaurant on Guidecca canal was a short walk from hotel and was delicious and expensive but the view and atmosphere outside was worth it.
Staff was very informative and helpful about restaurant ideas and the area. The room 28 was smallish but with a wonderful partial view of grand canal. Bed and pillow on the firm side but still fairly comfortable. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely and relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2016 by Enrico - Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, the Pensione Accademia Staff would like to thank You for spreading such good review. We are very glad You enjoyed our Staff and location!. We will be glad to welcome You again in the near future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

The place to stay in Venice

Posted Jul 17, 2016
I've always wanted to stay at this hotel in my many visits to Venice. Happily it lived up to my expectations. Two beautiful gardens, freshly renovated rooms, great staff, superb location, spotlessly clean. And my two favorite wine bars are close by along the same canal. Superb value for the price. Only small complaint: wish the coffee at breakfast were better. That's it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Enrico - Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, thank You for Your kind and positive review. We are so glad You enjoyed our location and Stuff! Took note of the small complaint concerning the coffee, our Staff will be informed. Thanks again, Enrico B. - Reception
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Wonderful staff and quiet but convenient location near the accademia bridge and the vaporetto stop. Very pleasant staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2016 by Enrico - Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank You so much for Your kind words towards our Staff!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

excellent quiet retreat

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Comfortable & relatively quiet with interior garden, easy access to Accademia and also from Zattere landing (ferry from Fesina parking). Very helpful staff, great breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Enrico - Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Lewis and Deirdre, thanks for Your kind and positive comments. We are really glad You appreciated the courtesy of our Staff and the location. Warm Regards, Enrico - Reception