Ratings based on 811 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Selkirk NY

Nice hotel great service

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Enjoyed the pool and pool bar Food was great! Close to beaches which were Great Easy access from major highways
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Good value for the money. Close to everything.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
I stayed here for four nights while visiting family in port Charlotte. I have 2 children and wanted to be near beaches and things to do with them. It was not a long drive to siesta key. We also went shark tooth hunting at Venice beach. We loved walking/shopping on Venice ave. The pool was the best feature of the hotel. We also enjoyed the breakfast which we enjoyed. I felt the room was just ok, but it servered its purpose. Nice to have a Winn Dixie right across the street to get some food/snacks for the kids. I would stay again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Be Prepared to Prove You DIDN'T Have a Dog!

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Giving the guests the benefit of the doubt and not randomly accusing them of things they didn't do!
Location: Historic Venice Train Depot
The hotel and the room were fine. Nothing special and nothing horrible. It was the surprise charge of $160 after the fact and the hotel's arrogant attitude about it that destroyed any nice perception I might have had. This was a single, overnight stay for business. No food was ordered and no amenities were used that would have incurred a charge. When I checked my credit card charges a few days later, I saw the tacked on charge for $160. When I called to question the charge, the woman told me "we know about the dog you tried to sneak in, so you were charged." Ok. There was no dog. Of any kind, shape or form. She claimed a night employee of the hotel saw me with a dog going into the room I had reserved. In a word, this was impossible. Regardless of mistaken identity or paranormal activity, I insisted there was no dog, this was a mistake and the charge needed to be removed. That's when she said "YOU must provide irrefutable proof that there was NO dog in the room" to which I said, "No, you must provide proof that there WAS!" After haggling back and forth about reviewing security camera footage and a brief but equally unpleasant call with the General Manager, the money was refunded. Just the bogus charge. No apology and nothing more as a customer service gesture to perhaps go beyond their false accusation and attitude. Can't recommend a place that would treat their guests this horribly and we will never stay there again - with or without a dog!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms. nore motel than hotel, Rest is fine.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
A good location, grocery, restaurants & other things close by, even walkable. Reception, pool and restaurant are fine. The rooms are more like a motel. The room had a musty/mildew smell even though the room was clean. Regular travelers would know difference between plastic wrapped paper cups versus an actual glass glass means. There is only one elevator (near, but not IN reception) for a complex spread out like a motel for parking near your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange Park, Florida

Close to where we were visiting

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The only complaint was with bar staff by the pool. Took forever to be served and the bar constantly was dirty and sticky. I had the clean an area myself so I could sit my stuff down
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Clean, quite and relaxing facility. Friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay here every time we come to Venice

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Clean with friendly staff. Music for the 4th celebration could have been better
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Clean and simple

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Only stayed for one night, but the room was very clean and the staff was nice. No issues. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Satellite Beach, FL

Good hotel! Would stay again!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Location: Close to restaurants, the beach, very convenient location.
It's a nice, clean hotel. Friendly staff, great pool. I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Comfortable room but close to the street

Posted Jun 24, 2017
My room was nice and comfortable. Great bed, with a fridge and microwave; however, I was right next to the stairs and even though I was on the second floor still traffic noise from a busy street was a little annoying.