Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel in exclusive setting

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Wonderful well restored old palazzo, friendly personal, good service, great facilities. Unique setting on its own island. Overall perfect stay couldn't been better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The best part of our stay at San Clemente was the absolute modesty and friendliness of their staff.
Cons: They could have been a bit honest and upfront about their complimentary items. We thought they were free and got charged for them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would consider this hotel again.

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Nice property off the island of Venice. Hotel shuttle boat took you back and forth to Venice, roughly every :30 to or from. Rooms are nice and comfortable, room temperature is difficult to manage for the time year... either heat on or a/c on, not either or. If you like walking out of your hotel into city streets, this isn't the one. If you prefer quiet and comfortable, yes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

AMAZING STAY

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: 10 minutes from San Marco square and the hotel has complimentary shuttle services every 30 minutes or so depending on the day of the week.
From the location to the staff and everything in between this hotel was absolutely AMAZING. It was our honeymoon and the guest service left us a beautiful handwritten card with cookies and chocolate as a welcome in our room. The grounds are large and private perfect for my husband and I to stroll. The only time we knew we were not alone was in the restaurants or on the shuttle bus which are very punctual. Very quiet and romantic. We will definitely return to this hotel!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5+ star price for 1*star experience

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Beautiful property That is the only thing I liked about this hotel
Cons: -this is NOT a St. Regis property! Not up to par for service- 30 minutes to receive eggs for breakfast. Orders came wrong 3 times. Over exuberant pricing without holding up to quality. Food quality was very poor. We were really disappointed with the service and asked to check out a day early- they refused although admitting their hotel was lacking. Very disappointing.The gym is a small room with no personal space. After being asked to explain our problem several times to management they did give us 50% off our second night (that they made us stay) as a token. Just as a comparison we also stayed as Weston and St. Regis properties in Italy- they show care at every steep that you are happy- provide upgrades and impeccable service! In addition the hotel was previously a hospital for the insane - after it was a monestery... creepy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by San Clemente Palace Kempinski team, Hotel Management
Dear Expedia User, Further to the conversation we had at the morning of your check-out, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on the recent visit to our hotel. We regret that you didn’t fully enjoy the experience with us. We would like to assure you that we have already addressed with the heads of department involved the issues with the breakfast service, which do not represent the Kempinski standard. As our Reservation Manager explained to you while you were at the hotel, according to our policy, a cancellation free of charge is only possible until two days prior to a guest’s arrival and any late cancellation is charged at 100%. Nevertheless, we hope that you appreciated the applied 50% discount on your last night’s stay as a gesture reflecting the strong commitment to satisfy our guests. We are sorry that you did not have the chance to appreciate the heritage of San Clemente Island, which actually played a key role in the history of “La Serenissima”. The island has housed a monastery for more than 16 centuries, and San Clemente Church, the inner courtyards and the peaceful allure of the island are a reminder of the past which we are very proud of. Warm regards from San Clemente Island, Tatjana Meyer, Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Gorgeous palace away from the crieds

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Beautiful stylish hotel, lovely staff and good foor! The boat taking us back and forth to Venice is lovely and enjoyed staying away from the main island.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from venice, Italy

First class hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2016
A beautiful retreat away from the hustle and bustle of Venice. A relaxing atmosphere where the staff are both efficient and courteous. Hreat private shuttle service. Will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Romantic Venetian Getaway

Posted Oct 10, 2016
We booked this hotel for a Silver Wedding Anniversary celebration and it didn't disappoint. From the moment we arrived, the staff made every effort to make our stay and truly memorable one - first class hotel and staff...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, England

Lovely hotel in superb location

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness, convenience and some luxury!
Cons: Nothing without nit picking.
Location: Ten minutes from St Mark's Square!
A lovely hotel, conveniently located on an island ten minutes from the centre of Venice. A complimentary boat ran every twenty minutes whilst we were there. Spacious hotel with wonderful staff, for whom nothing is too much trouble. Nice rooms, excellent facilities, good food if expensive( drink too). The pool is a nice size and certainly not over heated. Location means you can return to your room after a day out, change and then return to the centre where the crowds have generally diminished. Check where the boat leaves from before you arrive. Generous, well laid out breakfast means you can eat well and skimp on lunch. No tea or coffee making facilities so you have to order it as an extra if wanted. But wholeheartedly recommend hotel to anyone visiting Venice. Wonderful.