Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from i

Quiet and comfortable

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Our hotel suite, as compared to most other hotels in Venice, was modern in appearance and operation, and was comfortable. This is rare for even the most high end 5 star hotels, including the Danielle or Cipriani Hotels!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear The "Q", Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at San Clemente Palace Kempinski. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the tranquillity. We hope to have you as our guest again soon. Warm regards from San Clemente Island, Tatjana Meyer - Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Start to finish fantastic restaurant menu limited unless you like shell fish
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017
Excellent hotel - only complaint was lack of tea making facilities in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Break for a marriage proposal

Posted May 16, 2017
I could not have asked to stay in a better hotel. Stunning surroundings and excellent staff and facilities. 10/10 hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel next to busy Venice.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Venice is so busy this hotel is great to get away from the crowds and extend your stay and have a day by the pool. Fantastic facilities and great customer service only downside is the food is very expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by San Clemente Palace Kempinski team, Hotel Management
Dear Blank, Thank you very much indeed for your feedback on your stay at San Clemente Palace Kempinski. We are glad to hear that our hotel has further enhanced your experience in the amazing city that Venice is. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm regards from San Clemente Island, Christophe Mercier General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel in exclusive setting

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Wonderful well restored old palazzo, friendly personal, good service, great facilities. Unique setting on its own island. Overall perfect stay couldn't been better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The best part of our stay at San Clemente was the absolute modesty and friendliness of their staff.
Cons: They could have been a bit honest and upfront about their complimentary items. We thought they were free and got charged for them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would consider this hotel again.

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Nice property off the island of Venice. Hotel shuttle boat took you back and forth to Venice, roughly every :30 to or from. Rooms are nice and comfortable, room temperature is difficult to manage for the time year... either heat on or a/c on, not either or. If you like walking out of your hotel into city streets, this isn't the one. If you prefer quiet and comfortable, yes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

AMAZING STAY

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: 10 minutes from San Marco square and the hotel has complimentary shuttle services every 30 minutes or so depending on the day of the week.
From the location to the staff and everything in between this hotel was absolutely AMAZING. It was our honeymoon and the guest service left us a beautiful handwritten card with cookies and chocolate as a welcome in our room. The grounds are large and private perfect for my husband and I to stroll. The only time we knew we were not alone was in the restaurants or on the shuttle bus which are very punctual. Very quiet and romantic. We will definitely return to this hotel!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5+ star price for 1*star experience

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Beautiful property That is the only thing I liked about this hotel
Cons: -this is NOT a St. Regis property! Not up to par for service- 30 minutes to receive eggs for breakfast. Orders came wrong 3 times. Over exuberant pricing without holding up to quality. Food quality was very poor. We were really disappointed with the service and asked to check out a day early- they refused although admitting their hotel was lacking. Very disappointing.The gym is a small room with no personal space. After being asked to explain our problem several times to management they did give us 50% off our second night (that they made us stay) as a token. Just as a comparison we also stayed as Weston and St. Regis properties in Italy- they show care at every steep that you are happy- provide upgrades and impeccable service! In addition the hotel was previously a hospital for the insane - after it was a monestery... creepy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by San Clemente Palace Kempinski team, Hotel Management
Dear Expedia User, Further to the conversation we had at the morning of your check-out, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on the recent visit to our hotel. We regret that you didn’t fully enjoy the experience with us. We would like to assure you that we have already addressed with the heads of department involved the issues with the breakfast service, which do not represent the Kempinski standard. As our Reservation Manager explained to you while you were at the hotel, according to our policy, a cancellation free of charge is only possible until two days prior to a guest’s arrival and any late cancellation is charged at 100%. Nevertheless, we hope that you appreciated the applied 50% discount on your last night’s stay as a gesture reflecting the strong commitment to satisfy our guests. We are sorry that you did not have the chance to appreciate the heritage of San Clemente Island, which actually played a key role in the history of “La Serenissima”. The island has housed a monastery for more than 16 centuries, and San Clemente Church, the inner courtyards and the peaceful allure of the island are a reminder of the past which we are very proud of. Warm regards from San Clemente Island, Tatjana Meyer, Hotel Manager