Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The staff there were very helpful! The view we had from our room was beautiful. Can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Great location on Venice beach and close to Santa Monica Pier. Perfect for a weekend getaway to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely cozy hotel on the water

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Hotel staff went above and beyond for us. Arrived 3 hours before check in and they still had a room ready for us. Also let us keep our baggage there after check out since our plane left at night. Unbelievably nice staff, awesome room, excellent location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel staff was nice but that's about it

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Orbitz
There were dried specks of blood on the white curtains and on the white blanket. Also the sun rise was on the side of the building where my window was and the curtains helped to magnify the sun they did not help to block it out whatsoever. Also do not show up at night as a woman alone. You have to park buildings away from the hotel and then walk alone in the dark, carrying all your belongings past homeless people and people screaming absurdities. The locals play loud music and cruse at one another about 330am and once more at 700am. The hotel makes you pay $25 for a parking pass well the parking is public parking and it is only $10. Don't pay the hotel extra money for public parking that they do not own.
3 out of 5
by Linda

Does NOT have parking, even though it is tagged

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Extremely difficult to find (thanks to the gent at the desk tho, for helping us out), no lighting in living room area in room 14, and even though I reserved 2 rooms and had email proof, I was told I only rented 1, but "luckily" another was available. No, the luck was on YOUR side. GET IT RIGHT! Its bad enough that you have to drag your belongings 2 blocks after you waited in a public lot for a parking spot to open up, then to get this at check-in? Very stressful!!
4 out of 5
by Bruce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwick UK

Exactly that, great location, nice staff .

Posted Jan 21, 2017
This is a great location, and good value. Friendly professional staff, easy parking, (free) in a near by car park. Great breakfast at 50% in next door cafe. Try and get the cottage straight space and a yard to chill in. The surroundings a Venice beach, cosmopolitan and edgy, if you don't like that stay somewhere else.
3 out of 5
by Bernice

Could be good with some care and attention.

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
When I first arrived I was pleased with the room - roomy, comfortable looking. That was before I discovered the bathroom hand basin was filthy, the dishwasher had unwashed plate/cutlery from previous visitor, the television was not connected and the "free wifi" was so unreliable I had to go to a local cafe for reasonable access. All that before the bathroom plumbing started overflowing for no apparent reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the view from my room, room 11 and 12.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Downstairs restaurant gives half off for breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Don't be fooled by the false advertising of "ocean view" rooms. We were placed in a room without any view except the half-way house, directly across, for recently released prisoners... no joke. The hotel said this was the room we booked but we confirmed otherwise with Hotels.com. They moved us to another room the next two nights with a beach view but it was much smaller and the windows were screwed shut! Each day, we received filthy towels and sheets with multi-colored stains. The rooms were in poor condition and they were really dirty and not properly cleaned the next day. The building is also old and any movement in the stairway, hallway or other rooms was incredibly loud. The last time I had this kind of hotel experience was many years ago in a hostel which cost $30/night. I highly recommend to stay somewhere else.