Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Difficult to find, but worth it

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Roma are scattered into separate building in the San Marco area so difficult to find the hotel lobby. Once found the issues were over. The rooms were great and it felt like we had our own apartment in Venice. Location off of San Marco square is wonderful. I would highly recommend it and will be back personally.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancs. England

Great location

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Tea making facilities
Location: Close to st marks square and closer to shops and restaurants. St Marks Doges palace and the Correr museum all in the square.
Having read the reviews I wondered what to expect. I was not disappointed. We had to ask directions forthe check in hotel but there are plenty of people around so not a problem. The room was clean and spacious with a kitchenette. Ours contained a microwave kettle and fridge with minibar but nothing else! I took cups, spoon, tea bags etc. Breakfast was very good. Varied and plentiful. Best of all was the location being close to st marks square and lots of restaurants.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Venice

No heat No hot water. Little concern or help.

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Name on sign and door is "Hotel San Marco" This information may save you an hour because they gave directions three times during our hour + search, but never told us that there the sign on the door is that os San Marco. We had no heat and no hot water. At first the response was that we had to wait for repair. Eventually, we were provided a toom in which we could shower In the confusion, my niece left a bracelet in the room I called 6 hours ago and again an hour ago. Desk clerks unwilling to help because they are "alone". I am told to call tomorrow. I will change vacation plans to arrive in person. Hopefully I will not be required to man the front desk for a clerk who is alone.
5 out of 5
by Sean

Great for a large family

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic for a family of five.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly Recommend!

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: San Marco Piazza, Rialto Bridge
The hotel staff was wonderful. We were unexpectedly upgraded to a suite for two couples. It was spacious, peaceful, and beautiful. It was a little confusing to get from our suite to the breakfast and lobby, but that is probably just how it is in Venice. The breakfast was excellent, great coffee machine. Our only complaint was that there was no hot water for the last 24 hours. We didn't report it because we thought it would get better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
we reserved for a room turned out to be a bed and breakfast , they gave us a room in a different location from the lobby , tv didn't work, we checked out early morning the receptionist was extremely rude said the bell boy will be at work at 8 am, we had luggage we were lost in the small streets of Venice we could have been robbed 2 girls in venice at 6:30 in the morning we had a plane to catch , told the receptionist to meet us at the top of the street so we know where the lobby is , she refused she said I'm alone , gave us wrong directions, when we found the lobby after asking the police turned out she was not alone but lazy and rude and had no compassion for us 2 girls not speaking Italian, horrible experience never again.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel close to all the action

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Size of the room - second room was great. Good view over the canal
Cons: Air conditioning didn't work so room was hot and stuffy. Asked to fix it twice. Directions to find the hotel could have been better
Great position walking distance to most tourist sights
2 out of 5
by Anne from Vancouver, Canada

Sorry! We Ran Out of Pillows!

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Terrible service. Given a room with one bathroom when we had paid for two (traveling with 2 teens and 2 young adults, plus us made 6. So had to switch rooms (took about an hour). New room also had to have the washroom unlocked (another call to front desk). Not as great as it meant 4 of us in one room (with an unmade sofa bed). Called later to get sofa bed made up. Didn't Happen. Called at 10:30PM and had to call 2 more times until bedding was dropped outside door 1 hr later. Went to make bed myself and realized there were no pillows left. Just sheets. Called again to front desk and they said, "we're sorry. We are out of pillows. Goodbye!" So went to bed with flight neck pillow. Fast asleep when buzzer rings an hour later with a pillow case arrived at door made of two foam pieces. Ridiculously terrible service and I would never stay here again or suggest this hotel to anyone. Also bad was that they only had one room key for outer street door so all 6 of us had to go in/out every time together. What a pain! Only plus was good central location and spacious apartment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great room and location but not value for money

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Location and quality of the room.
Cons: Breakfast facilities. Guidance on where to check in. Being upfront on the fact that you will not actually have a room in the clock tower.
The location and the room were great but the appartments are part of an arrangement with a hotel and a restaurant so dont expect to get a room actually in the clock tower. Our room was in an alley way with a poor view. Finding the check in was very difficult and took 30 minutes at the end of a long journey. Breakfast was in the restaurant which was about a 200 metre walk on the public road from the room. Breakfast arrangement were choatic so finding a table at peak times was difficult and food was not good value considering the cost of the accommodation. Room and location great though you do pay a premium.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tommys opinion

Posted Aug 7, 2016
While not a five-star hotel very clean breakfast was very nice and free layout of hotel a little confusing but so was all of Venice for a mid priced hotel it was very nice my only complaint mattress is not like America but it wasn't terrible