Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy location

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
It was too noisy. Right next to several bars. And directly across from the stock room for a McDonalds that started operations at 3.30am. We got very little sleep Door was glass with a piece of plastic in the middle section for a little blocked light
4 out of 5
by Derek from Stockholm

Worth extra to be in the center with family.

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
Two night stay and everything was fine, as other comments reception is at another hotel. Hotel Ariel Silva, half way between Train Station and apartment. Staff there spoke English and were very helpful. Apartment is behind Macdonalds and the Conad supermarket is 2 minutes walk. Nice to fix breakfast and dinner and have a short pause between sightseeing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Samuel, Hotel Management
THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR EVERITHING AND SEE YOU NEXT TIME
3 out of 5
by Michael from Pinetoplakeside

Family Apartment

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
Finding the hotel to check in then finding to room was quit a chore. I had to find an Italian to talk to the hotel clerk and find out where the hotel entrance was located. Room itself was fine, right behind a McDonnald's, very small shower.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not easily accessible.

Posted May 14, 2015
Not furnished well. No WiFi. No proper arrangments. No proper assistance. Overall an okay stay! Also, quite a bit away from the main train station. Reaching with luggage could be cumbersome!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Not a penthouse, room opening to gutters

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Clean bedding and central location close to Grand Canal
Cons: Remove or fix the washing machine, put a kettle in the room and above all else describe as it is. ensure servicing completed each day.
Location: Irish bar and several restaurants near by so don't expect a quiet night till the early hours. Central and close to Grand Canal water bus stop
Really not good! Whether a penthouse exists, I am not sure but the room we were allocated opened onto the gutters of the Venice streets. With a frosted glass door (no curtain) and only glass patio doors/shutter between 'our' apartment and the next door one. Washing machine had several buttons missing and did not look safe to use and would be better removed and the hob had a dial missing so only one hob was usable. No kettle and thus a saucepan was the only way to heat water for tea. Very noisy from the next door apartment when people were in there and some noise from outside. We had booked a penthouse and by no stretch of the imagination could this be described that way. Very disappointed that the vetting of properties cannot be relied on to ensure that descriptions are accurate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

a bit too low budget

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: very convenient in the Cannaregio area. Clean bathroom. Cheap.
Cons: TV does not work. Aircon does not work. Provide a bottle opener!
Location: Great shopping street right next to the apartment. lots of local back street bacari to enjoy cicchetti. The ghetto area and the Cannaregio canal.
Convenient in the Cannaregio. As long as you plan in advance and read the paperwork finding the hotel Ariel to pick up the keys and then finding the apartment is not onerous. Hint - the apartment is the first street left after Macdonalds. However the TV didn't work and aircon didn't work. It was very hot in April and the mozzies were already active. Dead easy to get to the Ca D'Oro Vaporetto stop. The kitchen was very basic. No microwave and NO bottle opener!! If there had been a private bathroom I'd have given it 5 starts for value for money. The bathroom was immaculately clean and there was no problem sharing, we just hadn't expected it. I'd book again, but make sure I had a one of the private bathroom apartments.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Poor

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
Never again. The worst accomodation experience we have ever had with terrible service that was both inefficient and unprofessional.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst accomodation experience ever

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
If there was a minus rating I could use to describe this place and the experience I would. Be warned. Do not ever book here. I know that I should not have been expecting the Ritz for what I paid but the experience was aweful. My booking was situated in Calle Zotte which was more central, close to the Rialto etc. When i arrived at the address of my booking, there was no reception and the door was locked. After lugging my baggage for a while and ringing all the apartments, I eventually found out that the reception was near the train station which I had already passed and had to go all the way back. No instructions were sent by Hotel.com explaining this. Once i got to hotel ariel where the reception was, they said they had overbooked my accomodation so basically what i paid for in terms of location and what i got was not the same. I was forced to stay in a very scummy location deep in Cannaregio with no alternative. The receptionist was very unhelpful. Unfortunately this experience resulted in a very negative impression of Venice and i could not wait to leave.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UAE

not too bad.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: checkin at same or nearby place. toilet cleaness
Location: walk, visit places
Location is ok, near to a main street, restaurants, supermarkets. cost/benefit is acceptable. having the check-in at a different place, 10-15 min walk from actual hotel and carrying your luggage and tired children, is simply a nightmare. (if you don't have a phone and GPS, you are easily in trouble). toilets are not so clean (probably for most of 0-2 stars hotels in here).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels