Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by rhonda

Best bed and breakfast

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Beach and boardwalk right down the street. Breakfast was good you have the choice between 4 choices. Happy hour cheese and wine I think it was 5-6. Bathroom small.bed queen size but adequate we stayed in room 6 so budget friendly this is our 2nd stay and we definitely will be back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lovely B & B

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Cooked to order breakfast, complimentary cocktail hour and bottled water
Cons: The parking, but it's understandable that that's probably not possible due to logistics.
Location: Steps from the beach and boardwalk and a very short drive to Atlantic City proper. You can even walk there along the boardwalk.
I had a wonderful experience at the Carisbrooke. I was looking for an alternative to the expensive hotel rooms in Atlantic City and am so glad I came across this lovely B & B. John was a lovely host. I truly enjoyed the wonderful, cooked to order breakfast each morning, as well as the fresh baked cookies at any time of day. On my last morning there were some fresh muffins that were delicious. I love that they offer a cocktail hour each evening. I wasn't able to attend during this stay, but the other guests really enjoyed it. Complimentary bottled water was a definite plus. My room, although small, was very comfortable. I would not recommend room #10 for 2 adults unless they were very budget minded, but it was fine for my granddaughter and me. From what I can see, the negative reviews of this place come from people who didn't read the policies on the inn's website. Mostly regarding parking or cancellation. It's unreasonable to expect this inn to behave as a big hotel because they're not. That's part of their charm. A small, hospitable inn. I plan to return with my husband an enjoy one of their lovely superior rooms. Just steps from the boardwalk and the beach, this place really is a hidden gem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
We loved our stay here and will definitely be back. Breakfast on Sunday was delicious and the overall service was great. The Inn was conveniently located to the boardwalk and beach as well as the Atlantic City casinos.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The room had lots of character. It was close to Atlantic city without being being right in it. It was quiet.
Cons: On street parking. I was lucky to get a spot right out front.
Location: Choose to beach, shopping and casinos.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by John - Owner, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We're happy you had a nice time. Thanks for pointing out the on street parking. This is the case with some of our rooms while others have free access to our parking lot. Most of the time on street parking can be found within 1 - 3 blocks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cute little place with character

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
place was nice and has some history as I found out - rooms come with individual interior, very pretty breakfast was very tasty owner/staff was very kind just a few steps from the beach/boardwalk away - awesome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
We loved this Inn. The breakfast was amazing and our room was very comfy and nicely decorated. Our only disappointment was our ac did not work properly and it took a full day and multiple requests to get a window unit put in. Unfortunately being so hot put a damper on our stay the first night and the second our TV sound went out and there is no way to get a hold of anyone in the evening/night for assistance. We would recommend this as a nice place to stay but caution that the rooms are about 74 degrees (others told us their rooms were the same or hotter) and the staff is a little abrupt. The inn has a nice homey feel but the inn keeper and breakfast service were not very friendly. Both mornings at breakfast we our server never once smiled. Over all worth it if you are looking for a private homey feel close to the beach!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delran, NJ

Posted Sep 18, 2016
This a no frills place, but definitely clean, with kind and helpful staff, and a wonderful free breakfast provided each morning. Located only a few steps from the boardwalk -- which is mainly for bicycles and walkers at this location, Boardwalk sights and activities are located further down near the casinos but definitely walking distance -- and the beach is likewise less than a block away and the area is quiet and relaxing. We only stayed one night, but this is an affordable and nice way to stay down at the shore for a few days when all one really needs is a nice clean place to sleep, with a great breakfast, and other places nearby to decide on other meals without cooking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing stay

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing great responsive hard working staff beautiful furnishings great breakfast beautiful views of the ocean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable hotel close to beach

Posted Sep 9, 2016
breakfast amazing polite efficient staff room cozy and beds very comfortable