Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lovely B & B

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Cooked to order breakfast, complimentary cocktail hour and bottled water
Cons: The parking, but it's understandable that that's probably not possible due to logistics.
Location: Steps from the beach and boardwalk and a very short drive to Atlantic City proper. You can even walk there along the boardwalk.
I had a wonderful experience at the Carisbrooke. I was looking for an alternative to the expensive hotel rooms in Atlantic City and am so glad I came across this lovely B & B. John was a lovely host. I truly enjoyed the wonderful, cooked to order breakfast each morning, as well as the fresh baked cookies at any time of day. On my last morning there were some fresh muffins that were delicious. I love that they offer a cocktail hour each evening. I wasn't able to attend during this stay, but the other guests really enjoyed it. Complimentary bottled water was a definite plus. My room, although small, was very comfortable. I would not recommend room #10 for 2 adults unless they were very budget minded, but it was fine for my granddaughter and me. From what I can see, the negative reviews of this place come from people who didn't read the policies on the inn's website. Mostly regarding parking or cancellation. It's unreasonable to expect this inn to behave as a big hotel because they're not. That's part of their charm. A small, hospitable inn. I plan to return with my husband an enjoy one of their lovely superior rooms. Just steps from the boardwalk and the beach, this place really is a hidden gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The room had lots of character. It was close to Atlantic city without being being right in it. It was quiet.
Cons: On street parking. I was lucky to get a spot right out front.
Location: Choose to beach, shopping and casinos.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by John - Owner, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We're happy you had a nice time. Thanks for pointing out the on street parking. This is the case with some of our rooms while others have free access to our parking lot. Most of the time on street parking can be found within 1 - 3 blocks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
We loved this Inn. The breakfast was amazing and our room was very comfy and nicely decorated. Our only disappointment was our ac did not work properly and it took a full day and multiple requests to get a window unit put in. Unfortunately being so hot put a damper on our stay the first night and the second our TV sound went out and there is no way to get a hold of anyone in the evening/night for assistance. We would recommend this as a nice place to stay but caution that the rooms are about 74 degrees (others told us their rooms were the same or hotter) and the staff is a little abrupt. The inn has a nice homey feel but the inn keeper and breakfast service were not very friendly. Both mornings at breakfast we our server never once smiled. Over all worth it if you are looking for a private homey feel close to the beach!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delran, NJ

Posted Sep 18, 2016
This a no frills place, but definitely clean, with kind and helpful staff, and a wonderful free breakfast provided each morning. Located only a few steps from the boardwalk -- which is mainly for bicycles and walkers at this location, Boardwalk sights and activities are located further down near the casinos but definitely walking distance -- and the beach is likewise less than a block away and the area is quiet and relaxing. We only stayed one night, but this is an affordable and nice way to stay down at the shore for a few days when all one really needs is a nice clean place to sleep, with a great breakfast, and other places nearby to decide on other meals without cooking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable hotel close to beach

Posted Sep 9, 2016
breakfast amazing polite efficient staff room cozy and beds very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A gem right outside of AC!

Posted Sep 7, 2016
This B&B was by far the best B&B I've ever stayed at! It was quaint and perfectly situated next to the boardwalk. The staff was extremely attentive and pleasant. I will definitely stay there on my next visit to AC!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stamford, CT

5 star bed & breakfast

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing i can think of
Location: On the same block as the beach. It's about 1.5 miles from the first casino, but totally worth staying here
This was a cozy, clean, bed and breakfast with delicious food, friendly staff, fresh baked cookies offered upon arrival, and close to the beach! Loved this place. Will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Piladelphia

Fun Get away

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Very pleasant Room was clean and comfortable. Location was quiet and out of the way. Breakfast was wonderful!t. Great little get away. Would recommend for a quiet weekend. Parking not the best
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC area

Charming B&B near beach

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Charming facility, nice staff, not too far from Atlantic City proper
Cons: Better explanation of heating/cooling in room would be nice, as would improved WiFi access. Bed was much softer than expected.
Location: Very near the boardwalk and beach, a few miles south of casinos and amusements
Our stay was brief—just one night—but planned that way. Carisbrooke Inn is a charming old home converted into a B&B. Its location a few miles south of the main boardwalk casino area means you will either need to drive into Atlantic City proper for the boardwalk experience or hoof it. If the weather is good and you are reasonably fit, walking is a good option. If weather is not so great, or you aren’t a fitness fanatic, prepare to spend some money to park in one of the many parking lots in Atlantic City; or walk to a Jitney pickup (they do not appear to go into Ventnor City, where the hotel is located). Inn staff were pleasant and professional in our brief interactions. The room we were in was on the small side, being on the top floor, and had a detached bathroom; this was not a serious problem, however, and overall the Inn was a good choice. The extremely soft mattress did make for a less than comfortable night’s rest, sadly, but every place has its mattress woes. If you want to stay somewhere close to Atlantic City without having to mortgage your home for a stay, you should consider Carisbrooke.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: the atmosphere, the location and the people
Whenever we want to go to Atlantic City, we stay at this B&B gem. We enjoy the Boardwalk, proximity to AC and the beach.