Ratings based on 534 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel has shown it's way

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Very dated, needs major updates. Phone in room didn't work, desk clerk seemed unconcerned
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Anon

Spectacular water view

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Deep cleaning
Location: So many choices....
This inn is a surprise. Literally roadside to highway, I had concern about noise. However, all I could hear and see were beautiful green waves curling and crashing on the rocks just yards from my room. A mesmerizing location. An honest value with breakfast outside or inside self-serve more than Continental because there were hard boiled eggs available and fruit...not just carbs...tho lots of cake etc choices too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mammoth Lakes

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: The location was right on the beach and it was awesome listening to the waves crashing all night.
Location: We only used the hotel as a night stop as we had to leave the next morning.
We arrived around 6:30 pm and the gentleman at the front desk was very kind and helpful. He called the restaurant below for us to make a reservation. The entire staff was pleasant and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wow... what a location!

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Do not pass on a chance to stay here... the hotel is clean, the restaurant was amazing, but above all the proximity to the ocean and the nearby beaches were absolutely stunning. Falling asleep to the sound of ocean waves equals the best sleep we will ever have.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Camarillo, CA

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: The view and sunset were beautiful.
Cons: The Manager should tell you about your room's differences. Improvements needed on dining room staff...basics of attentiveness and courtesies.
We were celebrating our 31st anniversary. It was a very hot day and there was no air conditioning. It was difficult to figure out the shower pull and sink HOT & COLD were opposite. We had high expectations from the comments we read about the Shoals Restaurant. We were highly disappointed. We saw our waiter once during the whole meal. It was when he delivered the meal and asked if everything was okay, then we didn't see him again until about 15 minutes after we finished eating and was sitting there...no refills on water or wine. The food was okay. I had the mushroom risotto w/vegetables & grilled shrimp. It started out good, but the marinated artichoke hearts was too strong to be one of the vegetables in the entree. The marinade took away from the taste of the risotto. My husband had the salmon and it was too salty and also w/the marinated artichoke hearts. I guess a good meal depends on the chef working that night. The whole experience just didn't have a good feeling. We decided to pack up and leave that same night...so much for a nice anniversary getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
It was very nice, just needed a coffee pot in the room. It was clean and peaceful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

View View View

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Sitting outside
Cons: Condition needs TLC
Location: Right on the ocean, we had been traveling for a long time so did not leave hotel. Just stayed one night
Sat outside the morning we were leaving a pod of dolphins came by and played in front of the hotel for about 30 minutes. The food was very good worth the money. Rooms and outside of building need sprucing up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oceanside CA

Room with a View!

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: I loved the setting and the food.
Cons: Have coffee service available in the rooms. Serve breakfast earlier then 7:30AM.
Great location, right on the beach. The setting, the view and the food all were fantastic. I'm an early riser and would have liked coffee service available in the room. Had to drive to Carpenteria to get coffee at 6:30 as breakfast doesn't start until 7:30.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Great beach cliff side views. Right on the water. Motel is run down but clean. Staff were friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Charming step back in time

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Charm of plants, furniature, layout in front entrance to see the ocean as you walk in is an instant smile, joy and relaxation.
Location: Perfect!
Within minutes total relaxation with others doing the same. Felt like home with sprinkles of charm and elegance throughout. Location was spectacular with only the ocean and dolphins to see... what a blessing!