Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique motel

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: The view of the ocean
Cons: The floor boards were worn out. Need replacing. They had been updating the rooms. They just need to replace the floors and carpet.
We had never stayed here before. It has a wonderful view over the ocean. The restaurant in the motel was excellent. The breakfast was also very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Dan, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Cliff House Inn. We take your feedback seriously and will followup. Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay Dan Reservations Cliff House Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Was great but no air conditioning of fan , even though we were on the beach it was still warm in room .. other than that it was a nice stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Dan, Hotel Management
Hi, Sorry it was warm for you. We have fans at the front desk and could have provided one to you upon request. Usually if you open the windows you get a nice cross ventilation breeze, but sorry it was uncomfortable for you. Thanks for your comments Dan Reservations Cliff House Inn
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Fabulous location right on the beach

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Great restaurant and location. The windows need updating as they are cracked and don't lock close
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Dan, Hotel Management
Thanks for your rating and your comments Diane. glad you enjoyed your stay. We will attend to the windows and thank you for your feedback. Best wishes, Dan Reservations Cliff House Inn
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view than things go down hill

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: felt safe from high surf
Cons: level and rebuild, change meal menus, more flexible hours.
Location: need more time to think on this one
my room, poor view due to palm trees, sea birds nesting in palm trees fought for hours each night, had to keep room window closed, others said the same, missed ocean breeze, needed fan, dinner menu was pricy and the only carry out if you wanted to take it back to your room. Beach access is technical especially for older people . Seagulls will feed off your place when unattended while dinning outside. Access to and from hotel from highway is a awkward. I found dinning to the northern areas more suitable. Stair case is the only access to and from rooms on second for third floors, caution for those needing hip replacement.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I really wanted to give a better review

Posted Jul 11, 2017
I really liked how the property was on the water's edge and all the rooms face the ocean. That in itself makes it a very relaxing property. All the hotel staff were very pleasant and welcoming. However, the building structure has seen better days. The walkway/balcony and floors slope unevenly. Ridiculous old light bulbs were inserted where can light bulbs should be. Old tiny fiberglass shower, plunger left next to toilet (indicating plumbing problems???) window screen was too small, and scalding hot water out of the cold water sink faucet. Curtains were old and had holes, mini blinds broken. No air conditioning or ceiling fans so the room's back windows facing the highway had to be left open for a breeze. Highway noise and car lights along with the heat caused a miserable nights sleep. Free breakfast is Continental.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Needs a clean up.

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: The view and nearby ocean
Cons: Way over charged. Old carpet garbage lying about Sure would be nice if they put in a hot tub in place of the garbage.
First road access is closed so I have to travel about a mile out of my way. Old discarded furniture is sitting on the southern wall. Inside where there used to be banana trees is again, garbage. Many rooms without room service despite a restaurant on site. You can't beat the view and employees are very nice and helpfull. Wish the creamy beige walls didn't have old dark blue carpet. Could use an upgrade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Peaceful

Posted May 21, 2017
It is a 30 million dollar view, you are right on the Pacific Ocean without the huge price tag. They also have a great breakfast in the morning and great lunch, dinner restaurant. The ocean air and waves crashing on the rocks is very calming. A must for couples or a solo mimi vacation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Stay

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful scenery, comfortable beds, you could hear the the waves at night from your room.
5 out of 5
by edward

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Amazing views but isolated.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Amazing views.
Cons: In serious need of upgrade.
Location: Nothing to do but sit at the pool deck and look at the views. If weather was not great, there'd be nothing to do.
This was our first night of a 10 day road trip and was a nice drive from LAX. The view is stunning, right on the ocean as advertised, but you have to drive 10 minutes to get to anything. The restaurant on site was not to our taste, so back in the car for more driving. The motel needs a serious upgrade but the bed was clean and comfortable.