Ratings based on 416 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salinas, CA

Nice views even nicer staff

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The hotel itself was average but the views and proximity to the beach are nice. The staff more than made up for the average conditions of the hotel. The beds were actually really comfortable and the breakfast options were good. My only complaint is that they advertise the pool but the pool is actually at the hotel next door. Easy to get to, especially for us as we were next to the connecting bridge, but still shouldn't use the pool as their profile pic. Pools are important when we look for hotels and the pics were misleading. All in all would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Banner Elk, NC

Nice hotel right on the Ventura Harbor

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Location, spacious room, helpful and friendly staff
Cons: Staff should let guests know about the pool and spa that are available at the hotel next door
Location: Beautiful beaches, charming downtown. Less than 15 miles to the tourist town of Ojai, hiking in the Los Padres National Forest.
This hotel is a good choice for those who want a beachside location. It's right on the Ventura Harbor, with the beach, restaurants and shops a short walk away. Instead of birds chirping, we were awakened in the morning by seals barking on the docks! The room was clean and spacious, with a small balcony overlooking the harbor. The staff was extremely accommodating. There's a free breakfast each morning that includes sausage or bacon and pancakes in addition to the typical continental breakfast choices. The hotel provides access to a nice pool and spa in the hotel next door which you access through a connecting walkway. It's a bit of a walk so not as convenient as if the facilities were located on the Holiday Inn property itself; but it's not a big issue. I do wish the staff had told us about the pool and spa because we were not aware of their existence until we thought to ask the second day of our stay. Overall I would recommend this hotel if you're staying in Ventura.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice, clean and quite. Very friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Apple Valley

Great spot for watching the boats.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The staff is very attentive and helpful. We don't care for the parking charge.
Cons: Fresh biscuits (Used to have 'em.)
Location: Plenty of people watching, boat watching and an occasional seal can be heard "barking'>
We love staying here. Lots of shops and restaurants to check out. Brophy Brothers on the waterfront has excellent food and service. Be prepared to wait for a table...but the wait is worth it. Watch the birds and the boats from your table. The waterfront is just outside our room and we spend enjoyable time watching all the activity. The free breakfast buffet is still good...not as good as it used to be, but a pretty good variety of things to chow-down on. The fresh-made do it yourself pancake machine is very popular. Fresh fruits, breads and rolls, egg dishes and cold and hot cereals and several kinds of juice are offered
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield

Overpriced

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Lukewarm welcome that changed when I indicated we were Holiday Inn Rewards members. Our room was not ready at check-in time, the hotel gouges customers $10 a night to park (no, this wasn't waived because we were rewards members, as we read in another review), and if you are unlucky enough to get a room on the right side of the hotel, you get to smell raw sewage from somewhere (you'd think they would make a serious effort to resolve that, even if it isn't their fault). On the upside, the overpriced room was large, comfortable, and clean. The view of the harbored boats is nice, and apparently the source of another $75 a night being charged. The breakfast was adequate and on a par with other chains who offer this type of thing (so you pick up another $20 to $25 by not having to go to a restaurant....still leaves $45 to $50 too much, and the $10 to park (did I mention gouging? Or did I forget to say there's no security where you park, and a phony gate arm that raises and lowers when you come and go, but you park in a lot that has no separation from the public road...?). Overall, We'd look elsewhere to the many hotels in the area before returning to this one. It isn't worth the price.
3 out of 5
by Ashli

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Bob

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
We went onto the boat to Channel Islands and this hotel served as a perfect place as it was just two minutes from Island Packers. The worst part is they charge $10 a night to park in the hotel parking lot!! WTH? The hotel is old and could use some attention. They offer free washer and dryer, but you have to go to another hotel! LOL Breakfast was decent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just for the night.

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Loved the new bed! And the jacuzzi tub.
5 out of 5
by AFIFI

Good Stay

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
it was very good
4 out of 5
by Juan

Great area! Great weather!

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel within walking distance of Ventura Harbor Village. Close to beaches and downtown. The front desk Silvia in particular was very friendly and cordial.