Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salinas, CA

Nice views even nicer staff

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The hotel itself was average but the views and proximity to the beach are nice. The staff more than made up for the average conditions of the hotel. The beds were actually really comfortable and the breakfast options were good. My only complaint is that they advertise the pool but the pool is actually at the hotel next door. Easy to get to, especially for us as we were next to the connecting bridge, but still shouldn't use the pool as their profile pic. Pools are important when we look for hotels and the pics were misleading. All in all would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Banner Elk, NC

Nice hotel right on the Ventura Harbor

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Location, spacious room, helpful and friendly staff
Cons: Staff should let guests know about the pool and spa that are available at the hotel next door
Location: Beautiful beaches, charming downtown. Less than 15 miles to the tourist town of Ojai, hiking in the Los Padres National Forest.
This hotel is a good choice for those who want a beachside location. It's right on the Ventura Harbor, with the beach, restaurants and shops a short walk away. Instead of birds chirping, we were awakened in the morning by seals barking on the docks! The room was clean and spacious, with a small balcony overlooking the harbor. The staff was extremely accommodating. There's a free breakfast each morning that includes sausage or bacon and pancakes in addition to the typical continental breakfast choices. The hotel provides access to a nice pool and spa in the hotel next door which you access through a connecting walkway. It's a bit of a walk so not as convenient as if the facilities were located on the Holiday Inn property itself; but it's not a big issue. I do wish the staff had told us about the pool and spa because we were not aware of their existence until we thought to ask the second day of our stay. Overall I would recommend this hotel if you're staying in Ventura.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice, clean and quite. Very friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Apple Valley

Great spot for watching the boats.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The staff is very attentive and helpful. We don't care for the parking charge.
Cons: Fresh biscuits (Used to have 'em.)
Location: Plenty of people watching, boat watching and an occasional seal can be heard "barking'>
We love staying here. Lots of shops and restaurants to check out. Brophy Brothers on the waterfront has excellent food and service. Be prepared to wait for a table...but the wait is worth it. Watch the birds and the boats from your table. The waterfront is just outside our room and we spend enjoyable time watching all the activity. The free breakfast buffet is still good...not as good as it used to be, but a pretty good variety of things to chow-down on. The fresh-made do it yourself pancake machine is very popular. Fresh fruits, breads and rolls, egg dishes and cold and hot cereals and several kinds of juice are offered
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield

Overpriced

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Lukewarm welcome that changed when I indicated we were Holiday Inn Rewards members. Our room was not ready at check-in time, the hotel gouges customers $10 a night to park (no, this wasn't waived because we were rewards members, as we read in another review), and if you are unlucky enough to get a room on the right side of the hotel, you get to smell raw sewage from somewhere (you'd think they would make a serious effort to resolve that, even if it isn't their fault). On the upside, the overpriced room was large, comfortable, and clean. The view of the harbored boats is nice, and apparently the source of another $75 a night being charged. The breakfast was adequate and on a par with other chains who offer this type of thing (so you pick up another $20 to $25 by not having to go to a restaurant....still leaves $45 to $50 too much, and the $10 to park (did I mention gouging? Or did I forget to say there's no security where you park, and a phony gate arm that raises and lowers when you come and go, but you park in a lot that has no separation from the public road...?). Overall, We'd look elsewhere to the many hotels in the area before returning to this one. It isn't worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Good night's stay

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Check-in was great with friendly staff. The room was quite big with 2 beds and even a balcony overlooking the marina! Beds were comfortable, bathroom facilities all worked well and the sink was outside the bathroom which I prefer for multiple people in one room. They had a great, tasty complimentary Continental breakfast with lots of options. The WiFi here was the biggest issue. It was weak and very slow, sometimes unusable. They said they are replacing their whole system very soon though. The air conditioning was very loud here although it worked fine. A number of the plugs didn't work either, specifically some by the bed which was very annoying for charging devices overnight. The location was pretty quiet and in an extremely nice area on the water by a huge marina. There's not really anything to eat or do right close by but it was a beautiful 20-25 minutes or so walk (5 minutes drive or less) to a couple options. I'd definitely recommend Social Tap. Overall, it was a nice stay and I'd definitely return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
The guests above us were heavy-footed and the amount of noise coming through our ceiling at 5am was very disturbing. Bed was comfortable but the room was in need of updating. Front desk staff members were pleasant.
5 out of 5
by Lupe

Great hotel for the location.

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel staff was friendly and accommodation were adequate. The rooms were adjacent although the front desk did not know that they were as she apologized for not having them together (booked two rooms for family). The staff employee that was great and seemed to be on top of her game was Maria or Michelle (can't remember....but pretty sure her name was Maria). She remembered our family over the phone when we called for information about adjoining rooms. I think she was the one who helped our rooms be adjacent since the older lady that checked us in in the evening didn't know about the hotel layout and said "sorry, not adjoining" however the rooms actually were. Thanks Maria. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast lady made sure the area was cleaned up quickly from other guests as they finished their breakfast. Very attentive to the flow of the breakfast room. The pool is not on site, you have to walk across the street to the pool and use the Sheraton (Four Points). Although an inconvenience, going to the pool is worth it. Large pool. It was heated and the clover shape allows for good swimming for everyone, beginners to experts. Suggestions : take outer garments or drive next door to visit the pool. Cold walk back if you don't.
5 out of 5
by Janet

Lovely stay

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great trip. The hotel is very nice, clean, friendly staff and a very nice location. We had a view of the marina and could walk to Harbor village. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels