Ratings based on 1,334 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madill, Ok

Nice hotel close to the beach at reasonable rate!

Posted Oct 20, 2017
It was so much fun to be so close to the beach. The grounds were beautiful, and the room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So. Calif

Lovely Vintage Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: The vintage feel
Cons: Firmer mattresses
Location: Easy beach access
We loved our quaint, poolside room with a fireplace. Right off of the 101 Fwy, the traffic was not bothersome, rather serving as white noise. The king size mattress was a bit too soft, but that was a preference issue. There are lovely rose gardens and walking paths with interesting nooks and crannies. This historic hotel is a definite must see. My husband and I will return for a future visit!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Older hotel fighting an uphill battle...

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Free Wifi Free Parking Service Ocean View Close to beach
Cons: Restaurant pricing/options Elevator access Vending machines more accessible and not completely out of stock Noise from the freeway
Location: Short walk to the beach Reasonable walk to the pier
The Pierpont Inn is a hotel that has several things going for it, but takes a huge step backward in being right next to the freeway. Despite having free parking, complimentary Wifi, ocean views, and a short 10 min walk to the beach, it's very difficult to get a good night sleep due to the constant roar of traffic. I appreciate that they try to deal with this by offering earplugs, and you'll even find a little card in your room that explains how the hotel was built prior to the freeway (i.e. it's not their fault), but it's too big of an issue to overlook. Couple that with some small annoyances here and there, such as a severely overpriced onsite restaurant, no easy elevator access for top floors, and out-of-stock vending machines, and I can't make the recommendation to stay here... but it's a close call. To be fair, they have remodeled the rooms, and the bathrooms in particular are very comparable to significantly more expensive hotels. Again, I appreciate the effort, but it's just not quite enough.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duarte, California

Very friendly staff. Neighboring rooms too loud.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff and clean facilities, but our room was a disappointment. The rooms have doors that connect to your neighbor. Every single sound that your neighbor makes can be heard. If my neighbor farted, I could probably hear it. My neighbors came back at 2 am when my family was sleeping, and the neighbors could clearly be heard laughing, talking, and playing music. Very annoying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ventura

Exelent

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Nice place, quality services good foods, walk to the beach
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scv ca

Older style hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Nice Older style hotel. Walls and especially ceiling are thin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: - Renovated, large room - Overlooked the Pacific Ocean - Great restaurant - Convenient location
Cons: - Bathroom amenities were spare & cheap - More bottled water
Location: - Location is convenient to freeway, Ventura & Ojai
This was my second stay at this hotel, based on a prior positive experience. This stay was also very positive. Stayed in a recently-renovated room with a view of the ocean. Although the 101 freeway is close, noise in the room was acceptable. The room was quite large. The onsite restaurant was very good...much better than most hotels' in-house restaurant. All the above with a fair price resulted in a very good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st louis

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Mr Cheese the cat was the best! My stay was really great. The view was absolutely beautiful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley

Lovely historic hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Charming old hotel may have seen better days but is comfortable and cozy. The thick walls kept the room quiet even though 101 is right outside. The gardens are worth exploring too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from simi valley

Not worth the price

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Definetly not worth the $200 + I paid to stay. No hot tub, no continental breakfast. Austen's restaurant way over priced. The BEST part of the stay was the young man Stefan who checked us in. Nice & friendly young man who was very pleasant to talk to