Ratings based on 1,304 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st louis

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Mr Cheese the cat was the best! My stay was really great. The view was absolutely beautiful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley

Lovely historic hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Charming old hotel may have seen better days but is comfortable and cozy. The thick walls kept the room quiet even though 101 is right outside. The gardens are worth exploring too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from simi valley

Not worth the price

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Definetly not worth the $200 + I paid to stay. No hot tub, no continental breakfast. Austen's restaurant way over priced. The BEST part of the stay was the young man Stefan who checked us in. Nice & friendly young man who was very pleasant to talk to
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Culver City, CA

Outstanding Pet Friendly Historic Hotel w/ Views

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Highly recommended. This is a remarkable historic property and we loved all of the vintage elements it offered. The hotel staff were very friendly especially Steph who took his time to explain the property and followed up with us after check in to make sure everything was perfect. The hotel is dog friendly and our standard king room with the tempur-pedic bed on the ground floor level was perfect since the sliding glass doors opened up to the pool area. Views around the property were fantastic. Lots of green. Very early 20th century rambling design nestled up on a hill. If you love historical nuances, you will love this hotel. Ate dinner sitting outside at the restaurant with our dog and it was lovely. Open parking without a charge. Short drive to the dog beach behind the fairgrounds. Will definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson AZ

Close to beach

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Only stayed one night. Asked for a quiet room which they did. Bedroom area was nice but bathroom door was falling off hinge (we reported it to front office) and bathroom could use an update but was otherwise fine. Beach is walking distance although we met family at a different beach...so I can't comment on the beach nearby. Looked nice. I'd stay there again for the rate we got. If it were much more expensive...maybe not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

It is near to the beach, restaurant very good.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
We enjoyed to stay here, nice place to take some pictures.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
The hotel is remodeling, the registration office is located in a small room but the staff was really nice and had a good welcome. The room was quite, comfortable beds, clean, nice, the bathroom has also a good size and good amenities. Beautiful garden. Really good place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Love the ocean view the fireplace in the room glad they rearranged the room to get a better view of the fireplace, the refrigerator wasnt cold enough though but over all I love coming here this is our second time here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from beaumont, ca.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds and the restruant was very good
Nice hotel but the freeway noise was constant, anywhere on the property you could hear that roar of trucks and cars. Can't move the hotel or the freeway so be aware
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, not a chain hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Location was within walking distance to the beach. Very nice restaurant and the room decor was very nice.
Cons: Quality of tissue, better insulated windows to block out traffic noise, more wall outlets close to tables or desk.
I loved my room, I had great views of the ocean and it was furnished very nicely. My only complaint would be about the noise from the traffic, however the hotel did provide ear plugs which I used on my second night there.