Ratings based on 2,537 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena

Suited me perfectly

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: price and location
Location: Easy walk to the beach and downtown.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms and facilities were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ample and well served. Short walk to beach, pier, downtown, theatre and restaurants. Some traffic/train noise on ocean facing rooms but city facing rooms were quiet and had small balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

New owners still doing change overs

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Very nice room, had a fireplace and a pleasant view out of the veranda window. Great complimentary breakfast, bacon eggs, sausage, hashbrowns, biscuits, gravy, cereal, pastries muffins, really a great breakfast selection. New owners will probably be making some moderate improvements on elevator carpet, etc. For the most part, very pleasant experience, would recommend to anyone. Location is near ocean beach and also not far from the downtown area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis

Nice hidden hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Fireplace in rooms was lovely. Also, just a short walk to the peer with underground parking.
Cons: Improvements were being made during our stay via construction.
Location: Beach nearby, also walking distance to middle of town.
This hotel would have gotten 5 stars but it was under construction and changed names in the middle of our stay. It was a short walk from the beach. I really enjoyed the fireplace in the rooms and the hot tub outside during the cool nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We thank you for your time, and hope you get the chance to stay with us again once we complete our renovations so we may get the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2017
Nice place, close to the main drag, and the beach. The only complaint I have is that when they ask "ocean view" or "mountain view" they don't mention that between your room and the ocean is view the 101 freeway and the train tracks (pool is on that side of the place too). Still, a place I would recommend. Nice bfast, and a happy hour with free drinks and snacks (we missed it, but it's nice that they have it). More personal than the Crown Plaza, which would be the obvious choice for out of towners I think.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

$150 a night, and a hole in the carpet?

Posted May 21, 2017
We did book last minute. But the last thing I expected when we paid over $150 for the night....was a hole in the carpet about 2" round. Really was disappointed with this
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Close to Freeway

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Cleanliness
If you don't mind a freeway and a railway 50 yards from your window, this is the place for you. Cleanliness was also an issue as there were clipped toenails on the carpet when I got in.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping manager to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. Hotel is walking distance to tge beach and the downtown shops, restaurants, city landmarks. Wonderful breakfast with freshly cut fruit (must have missed it!) and beautiful view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Nice place with lots of options

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Nice place with breakfast, large room, clean, easy walking distance to several restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy hotel just at the freeway

Posted Apr 24, 2017
They have a "no- cancellation " policy! Recently under reconstruction, bad heavy smell everywhere, bed sheets looked like somebody just slept on them and it is practically attached to the 101 freeway what makes it extremely noisy.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Good desk clerk