Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

My stay at Best Western Plus Inn of Ventura

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Its central location.
Cons: The hot water systems needs to be improved. Wasting water when you let the water flow for a long time to get hot water.
Location: Location is very central. Not far to Santa Barbara and to Ventura downtown.
Hotel is centrally located and not far to Santa Barbara. Hot water took a long time to be warmed up. I hope the hotel will improve this. It does not make any sense to waste so much running water to get hot water! Hope there will be more food items added to the breakfast. Add bananas and apples to the fruit item. Hard boiled eggs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Campbell, CA

Place to stay while visiting.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Everything in this motel was clean & in its place -- no clutter. Room was laid out with just enough storage & furniture convenience for comfort.
Cons: Upgrade bed for comfort. Provide different pillow thickness for user selection.
We used this motel for place to stay while visiting our son, daughter-in-law & grandson. We enjoyed the motel breakfast & just drove from motel to our son's residence. Motel appeared to have been recently remodeled. Even the towels were new. Unfortunately, the bed was hard & the springs squeaked so badly that it was impossible to get in/out without wakening each other. The 4-pillows were identical but too thick to allow comfort -- caused neck & back pain. We stayed 3-nights over Christmas and managed to sleep no more than 4-hours per night. If you don't mind the above, you will enjoy you're stay. For us, we will not stay in Best Western in future -- it's time for us to pay for a better bed -- but I suspect that means twice the price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends. The room was clean and cozy and close to the beach. I felt safe being here with just my son and my elderly mother.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Monique B. Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you felt safe and comfortable at our property. We truly do our best to make sure we can assist with that feeling for our guests. We hope to welcome you back one day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollister ca

Nice place

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Nice place close to beaches and downtown. Clean rooms decent bed. Nothing fancy but a good place for a layover.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Monique B. - Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Hello David, We appreciate your review and are so grateful you had a nice stay. We hope to welcome you back some day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Clean room

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Check the wall paper in the bathrooms. Fix the ice machine.
Location: Easy walk to Ventura Pier, and fairgrounds. Also easy walk to downtown.
Very clean room - looked new except for the wall paper in the bathroom was peeling at the seams. There did appear to be some remodeling going on. Great location - easy walk to pier, restauarants and downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Monique B.- Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Nancy for your review, We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will stay with us again. We will look into these issues and have since replaced the ice machine! Thank you again for your review
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The O.C.

Reasonable value

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Cons: .Traffic at freeway interchange a mess.
Location: Many good restaurants in walking distance; nice old buildings and interesting shops. rather suspicious crowd near the pier at night. Never saw police.
Nice room for the money, convenient location. Blinking light in the bathroom at night annoying. Breakfast is the same old, same old. Very boring after a few days. Whole grain waffles would be nice. Staff was very helpful. When you ask for a wake-up call, they have to call you back to make sure it's working. What up wit dat?
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Monique B. Front Desk Mgr, Hotel Management
Hello Steve, Thank you for telling us about your recent stay. We enjoy hearing from our guests and love knowing how your stay went. We set up wake up calls from our switchboard/phone here at the front desk which sends you an automated call at the set time. The reason we give you a quick call moments after your wake up request, is to make sure that your ringer has not been turned down by a prior guest or accidentally during cleaning. We certainly would not want you to miss your wake up call. Thank you for inquiring Steve, and we look forward to welcoming you back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice but needs a thicker padding on mattress

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: It was clean, clean, clean.
Cons: The mattress... Plus it's squeaky.
Location: One street past the park across BW is, downtown. Nice shops & pubs. Next to City Hall is the Botanical Gardens. The beaches are close by.
The hotel has been remodeled and is clean. The TV remote even comes in a sleeve to ensure its cleanliness. I like that it didn't have a carpet, instead fake hard wood floor. The one thing BW can Improve on is to have thicker padding on thier firm mattresses. At home, I have a nice firm bed & love it. But the mattress felt like you were sleeping on the springs itself. I had to pull the comforter out & fold it in half to make shift it into a sleeping bag to have a hint of padding. I just recently traveled cross country and stayed in hotels all along the way & was pleasantly surprised with the comfort in each stay. The lodging here in Ventura was for a stay-cation. Everything was great...the breakfast was simple but good. However, Best Western please...put thicker padding on your mattress instead of whatever that sheet thin piece of material that's on there now. In the meantime, if you do decide to stay at BW ask for extra blankets to lay on top of to add a bit of comfort in having a decent night sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Monique B. Front Desk Mgr, Hotel Management
Thank you E! for your review, Its wonderful to hear you had a nice stay and we certainly hope you enjoyed the botanical gardens as well as the beach and main street. We did recently replace all of our mattresses, we are so sorry to hear that you did not find it comfortable. I do hope you expressed this to the front desk staff so that we could inspect the mattress. We truly appreciate your feedback and will be using it to provide a better experience for future guests. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, United States of America

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Nice comfortable stay. Renovated rooms felt clean and fresh. Very close to the beach.. 5 min walk. Breakfast was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fresno, ca

Clean hotel close to beach and downtown

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Hotel was very clean, had hardwood floors and smelled nice. Conveniently located a few blocks from downtown Main Street and a 5min walk to the beach/pier. Hotel bed was WAY too firm, my roommate and I left with aching backs. Walls to rooms are very thin and we could hear full conversations and television programming from next door. Breakfast had a nice spread and the pool was clean. No extra blankets or pillows, have to ask.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from burlington, ontario

Would not recommend

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Nothing really.....no restaurant on site.i have nothing else to say about this hotel.
Cons: The hotel was way overpriced for what you get. Nothing else to say.
Location: Beach close by. That's all we did. Was a stopover on the way to Venice beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Monique B.-Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Marlene, We love and appreciate hearing from all of our guests so thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We appreciate you business thank you for your feedback.