Ratings based on 858 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean, close to beach

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Close to pier, great beach walk, Main Street shops & restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ventura california

5 Day Stay

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Sad I wasn't able to use jacuzzi or pool jacuzzi was had board over I spent over $500 for 5days and I didn't get 1 night free?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA, USA

Excellent Location

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: I would definitely stay here again though I would check to see if the hot-tub was working.
Location: Cool local restaurants; lots of thrift stores; beach/pier close by; foothills with hiking trails; wine-tasting rooms next town over.
Pros: Within walking distance of the beach and downtown; The room was either new or newly refurbished-attractive interior decorating, comfortable amount of space; lot's of windows; wall-mounted adjustable TV; super quiet newer-model furnace with wall mounted thermostat AND remote control; good amount of bathroom counter space; shower head high enough for me (at 6'2"); plenty of conveniently located outlets; comfortable bed; large mini-fridge (though no freezer compartment); above standard free breakfast; the whole place felt clean and well maintained; Ample parking; park across the street Cons: the hot-tub was boarded up (which was frustrating because it was one of the reasons we booked this hotel); our room was only a few feet from the train tracks (which passed by frequently) and just beyond that was the freeway so our room was very loud when the window was open (with window closed the din of the train/freeway was low enough not to be disturbing); there was plenty of hot water but it took awhile to get running; key card reader was finicky. Employees: Friendly and helpful; one morning we arrived for breakfast just as they were cleaning up-employee let us grab some leftovers from the back-we were grateful. Some renovations were taking place-they did a good job of keeping the noisy parts of the work confined to right in the middle of the day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Very Clean, I was so surprised Very Clean.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: My room was so clean you can tell the maids do a good job it really was very clean. I have my bleach wipes on hand but did not feel the need to use em
Cons: clerk at front desk needs to cheer up, she was really depressed:( Manager forgot to tell the maid to clean my room.
Location: cute little town close to beach close to business in Los Angeles
Check in lady did not smile, she really did not want to be there. She was very depressed i felt bad for her. The hotel room was VERY CLEAN. I was surprised just how clean and fresh it was. I have stayed in Luxury Resorts in Vegas that are not as clean as this little sleepy town hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Monique - Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Its really great to hear that yo found your room to be comfortable and clean. We do have to admit that we have an amazing housekeeping team, so thank you for noticing. i am sorry to hear about your experience with the front desk staff, and I assure you this has been addressed. We thank you for all your feedback, we do value it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ventura Seashore Half Marathon

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to Main Street and pier.
We always stay at Best Western when we come for the Ventura runs. They give us later checkouts and easy to walk to from the finish line. Also easy to walk to all the sites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Monique B. - Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your loyalty, We hope that you had a great time at the marathon and we look forward to your return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from coronado, ca.

much better than expected

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: had all amenities of a much more expensive hotel. i.e. microwave, refrigerator, internet, dressing & makeup table for wife. clean & comfortable.
Cons: na
Location: na as passing threw; arrived late
room was very clean & well appointed with all amenities. more than expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Monique B. - Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Gordon, We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and were pleasantly surprised with your room. We do get a lot of positive feedback regarding the vanity area before the restroom. We appreciate you and your business. We hope to welcome you back one day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Strong smell of cleaning product in room when you first enter but you get used to it pretty quickly. No elevator so you have to lug your luggage up a flight of stairs. Handy location for beach and town and decent enough breakfast.
5 out of 5
by SUBHENDU

Wonderful stay at Ventura

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
This was a wonderful 3 day stay at Ventura. 3-4 miles from the Ventura harbor where the boats for Channel Island start. Very close to the city hall, Serra Cross Point, and good restaurants. The service was good, and the breakfast was really nice. Rooms are comfortable, and good Wi-Fi connections as well..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

My stay at Best Western Plus Inn of Ventura

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Its central location.
Cons: The hot water systems needs to be improved. Wasting water when you let the water flow for a long time to get hot water.
Location: Location is very central. Not far to Santa Barbara and to Ventura downtown.
Hotel is centrally located and not far to Santa Barbara. Hot water took a long time to be warmed up. I hope the hotel will improve this. It does not make any sense to waste so much running water to get hot water! Hope there will be more food items added to the breakfast. Add bananas and apples to the fruit item. Hard boiled eggs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Monique B. - Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, As we have all experienced at one time or another things stop working and things need to be replaced. We immediately corrected the issue with the water heater and we are truly sorry about the hot water taking extended time to get warm. We do have bananas and apples, so I am uncertain if maybe they needing replenishing or may have been out of sight. We appreciate all feedback and we certainly appreciate you and thank you for sharing your stay experience with us!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Campbell, CA

Place to stay while visiting.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Everything in this motel was clean & in its place -- no clutter. Room was laid out with just enough storage & furniture convenience for comfort.
Cons: Upgrade bed for comfort. Provide different pillow thickness for user selection.
We used this motel for place to stay while visiting our son, daughter-in-law & grandson. We enjoyed the motel breakfast & just drove from motel to our son's residence. Motel appeared to have been recently remodeled. Even the towels were new. Unfortunately, the bed was hard & the springs squeaked so badly that it was impossible to get in/out without wakening each other. The 4-pillows were identical but too thick to allow comfort -- caused neck & back pain. We stayed 3-nights over Christmas and managed to sleep no more than 4-hours per night. If you don't mind the above, you will enjoy you're stay. For us, we will not stay in Best Western in future -- it's time for us to pay for a better bed -- but I suspect that means twice the price!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Monique B. - Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Thelma, We did just remodel our rooms and will continue with the rest of the property in 2017. We are so sorry about your mattress and hope that you mentioned this to the staff so that we can replace it immediately. We sure hope that next time you are in Ventura you allow us to welcome you back!