Ratings based on 2,473 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Spacious clean rooms.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Enjoyed a weekend getaway at this hotel. Walking distance to the main street full of shops and some great nightlife with live music at several venues. Rooms were spacious and quiet. Enjoyed the complimentary light happy hour/snacks of chips, nuts, etc. to hold is over until dinner. Pleasant complimentary breakfast too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs work. Noisy on highway side.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Location and access to attractions. Price is reasonable.
Cons: Better noise insulation on the US 101 highway side.
Location: Take the boat out to Channel Islands National Park for whales & dolphins on the way and hiking on the island.
The first night we had a room on the US 101 side of the hotel. The room was noisy from highway noise and Amtrak trains all night. Single pane windows and noise through the HVAC unit made it hard to sleep. The last three nights we moved to a room on the side away from the highway and train tracks and it was much more pleasant. The breakfast is excellent. The location and access to the beach, Port Hueneme, Channel Islands National Park, and other attractions is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, Ca

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Always a pleasure for us in our favorite getaway town. Used to stay at the hotel across the tracks til we found this place. Better price, consistent in all categories, would never go back to other place(s).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Great older hotel by the beach

Posted Jan 31, 2017
This hotel is great for little getaways. My husband and I enjoyed the oversized room and we felt comfortable. The room was clean, spacious, and quiet. We rarely heard others. We could hear the freeway a little bit but it didn't bother us. The hotel is sort of hidden from the street and it gets a little confusing because the entrance to the freeway is right next to it. There is plenty of parking as well. We definitely would come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a confortable hotel with a good price

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Closely located to 101. I was able to see the ocean from my window (even though through 101). Happy Hour was surprise with this price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Value
Cons: Noise level
The room was extremely clean and spacious; bed quite comfortable; everything operated as it should; front desk staff efficient and friendly; wifi excellent; and buffet breakfast offered a good range of choices served at proper temperature; plenty of free parking; within walking distance of beach area and restaurants. Only drawback might be location. Ventura has a large population of homeless who congregate in the downtown area - maybe in an area which is within a one mile radius of the hotel. The second aspect of location is the proximity to the freeway and a railroad trestle. The west side of the property has a partially obstructed ocean view but, unfortunately, fronts on the freeway and trestle. I would suggesting requesting a room on the east side of the property; maybe not as scenic but somewhat quieter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Ok hotel easy walk to downtown

Posted Jan 12, 2017
We were just going through Ventura for one night. We ended up with a room on the 1st floor right across from the laundry so it was noisy early in the morning. There must have been deliveries made too as there were a bunch of boxes sitting right outside our room in the morning which would explain some of the racket heard The room itself was ok. Bathroom was well worn! Beds were comfy tho & it served its purpose! We walked the few blocks downtown for a smoothie before heading out!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura

Relaxing

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Close to food places
Cons: needs to be upgraded
Location: walking to a lot of eating places
ok place to stay one or two nights if your traveling through town nothing spectacular at all
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Staff was very difficult to work with and not very accomodating. They tried to give me a double queen even though i booked a extra large room king. Then acted as if he didnt know. Then as i was chexking out they said i might be charged 250 because the room smelled like smoke and that did not sit well with as i didnt smoke a piece of anything in the room. But other then the horrible staff trying to steal my money the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, good hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: convenient location, clean rooms, good breakfast.
Cons: Beds were too hard for our tastes.
Stayed there over Christmas while visiting family.