Ratings based on 614 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Value
Cons: Noise level
The room was extremely clean and spacious; bed quite comfortable; everything operated as it should; front desk staff efficient and friendly; wifi excellent; and buffet breakfast offered a good range of choices served at proper temperature; plenty of free parking; within walking distance of beach area and restaurants. Only drawback might be location. Ventura has a large population of homeless who congregate in the downtown area - maybe in an area which is within a one mile radius of the hotel. The second aspect of location is the proximity to the freeway and a railroad trestle. The west side of the property has a partially obstructed ocean view but, unfortunately, fronts on the freeway and trestle. I would suggesting requesting a room on the east side of the property; maybe not as scenic but somewhat quieter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Ok hotel easy walk to downtown

Posted Jan 12, 2017
We were just going through Ventura for one night. We ended up with a room on the 1st floor right across from the laundry so it was noisy early in the morning. There must have been deliveries made too as there were a bunch of boxes sitting right outside our room in the morning which would explain some of the racket heard The room itself was ok. Bathroom was well worn! Beds were comfy tho & it served its purpose! We walked the few blocks downtown for a smoothie before heading out!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura

Relaxing

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Close to food places
Cons: needs to be upgraded
Location: walking to a lot of eating places
ok place to stay one or two nights if your traveling through town nothing spectacular at all
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Staff was very difficult to work with and not very accomodating. They tried to give me a double queen even though i booked a extra large room king. Then acted as if he didnt know. Then as i was chexking out they said i might be charged 250 because the room smelled like smoke and that did not sit well with as i didnt smoke a piece of anything in the room. But other then the horrible staff trying to steal my money the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, good hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: convenient location, clean rooms, good breakfast.
Cons: Beds were too hard for our tastes.
Stayed there over Christmas while visiting family.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, California

mediocre sleeping accommodations

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Easy access for a fast night sleep
Cons: cleaning
Location: Did not stay long enough to contribute.. Looks like older people like it....
As you enter the hallway and your room the intense smell of cleaning products overwhealms you. We slept well and resume our trip early in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo

Always a pleasure to stay here

Posted Dec 27, 2016
We almost always choose Country Inn & Suites when visiting Ventura and recommend it to friends and family when they are visiting.They really do a great job. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and they have the best sound proofing I have ever encountered. This last stay the crying baby next room was just barely audible, allowing us a good night sleep and the ability to smile sympathetically at the poor parents the next day ; - ). The breakfast choices are great. Even their fresh fruit was ripe. I really can't say enough about this hotel. And the price can't be beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Great Hotel For Overnight Stay

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: The staff are friendly and the breakfast is nice.
Location: The location was off the highway and there are close by restaurants.
We were treated to a beautiful and quiet room for overnight sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Older Hotel Close To The Ocean

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Location, Location, Location!
Cons: Upgrades, You can tell its a bit dated.
Location: Beach, Bike Path, Downtown shops, Restaurants and Bars all in waking distance.
I just needed a room for one night. For what I paid I was Happy with my room. The Hotel is old but maintained decent enough I was content. It's close to Ventura Pier, Downtown Main Street so you can walk to everything, Nice Views of the Ocean and Railroad Bridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swift Current, SK

Nice hotel, central location to beach, historic

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Great continental breakfast; helpful staff; no view; underground parking great.