Ratings based on 2,519 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

$150 a night, and a hole in the carpet?

Posted May 21, 2017
We did book last minute. But the last thing I expected when we paid over $150 for the night....was a hole in the carpet about 2" round. Really was disappointed with this
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Close to Freeway

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Cleanliness
If you don't mind a freeway and a railway 50 yards from your window, this is the place for you. Cleanliness was also an issue as there were clipped toenails on the carpet when I got in.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping manager to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. Hotel is walking distance to tge beach and the downtown shops, restaurants, city landmarks. Wonderful breakfast with freshly cut fruit (must have missed it!) and beautiful view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Nice place with lots of options

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Nice place with breakfast, large room, clean, easy walking distance to several restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy hotel just at the freeway

Posted Apr 24, 2017
They have a "no- cancellation " policy! Recently under reconstruction, bad heavy smell everywhere, bed sheets looked like somebody just slept on them and it is practically attached to the 101 freeway what makes it extremely noisy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

older facility, appears to be getting a facelift

Posted Mar 23, 2017
the staff was friendly and professional, the breakfast cook less so. the room was large and clean, but the bathroom looked old and had water damage on the wall. I got the impression that the neighborhood might be a little rough because of the locked entry doors in the morning and the need for a breakfast ticket.
3 out of 5
by sercy

Good local restaurants.

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Under remodeling so thus the overall rating.
4 out of 5
by jamie

Location makes up for train!

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
I was there on business. It was an easy place to get to and it is centrally located to the places I needed to be. The only thing I didn't like was the 3:30 am train... But I was expecting it, as I could see the trestles outside my window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Spacious clean rooms.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Enjoyed a weekend getaway at this hotel. Walking distance to the main street full of shops and some great nightlife with live music at several venues. Rooms were spacious and quiet. Enjoyed the complimentary light happy hour/snacks of chips, nuts, etc. to hold is over until dinner. Pleasant complimentary breakfast too!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Satisfied!

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Good service is as important for your business as the need to offer a product that should meet the customer's needs.Customer service is easy to do,inexpensive and generate an immediate positive image of the business.The very 1st step and the most basic thing is a simple smile and say hello! The assigned male server in the breakfast area didn't even have a ready smile for everyone,that he answered my question rudely.Fine,if he can't grant my request.But please,please answer back nicely.You ruined my day badly.You know who you are.This is our 3rd time staying in this hotel.I don't think there would be another 4th time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receiving our best service. We will bring this matter to the staff's attention to assure that situations like this do not happen in the future. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.