Ratings based on 1,003 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Amazing Stay

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The renovation is beautiful, the staff was very friendly, and the rooms are excellent! I definitely recommend this place, as a matter of fact we are getting married here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick Getaway

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: The Seafood place on the pier was really good.
My wife and I wanted a quick weekend getaway at the beach. I originally booked another hotel overlooking a marina. My wife wanted the beach so, to the beach we went! The Crowne Plaza was actually a little cheaper than our first hotel and, that was a plus. Upon arrival, check in was smooth and the staff was friendly. Our room was on the 10th floor and had a great view of the beach from the balcony. The room was newly remodeled and was beautiful. The colors were bright and had a beach feel. The bed was amazing. Hotel pillows always leave a little to be desired but, these were big and fluffy while still being firm. The restaurant was very good and the bar staff were really great. There is some construction going on in the lower floors but you barely notice they are there. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz

Newly remodeled room.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Restaurants, beach and pier are close by.
The staff was great , the location and view were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beach Getaway

Posted Jan 6, 2017
The hotel is on the beach with a great restaurant called Aloha next to it. Even though the hotel is currently under renovation, it didn't bother my boyfriend and I. The hotel accommodated my boyfriend and I very well during the renovation and we appreciated it. The entire staff was extremely polite. The hotel is extremely clean. We had a great Ocean view. We were very happy with our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Try another location

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Check in staff very efficient.
Cons: Condition of the room was not even to Motel 6 standard.
Location: On the water.
Hotel under renovation and in bad condition. Room was just horrible and not to the standards of the price they are charging. Room should have been half price of the 190.00 per nite due to old run down condition. Would not stay here again for any reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Relaxing

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: Location is great with promenade walkway along the ocean, the pier, and some lovely restaurants.
The room was clean. The only drawback was the continuous hammering and construction noise above my room during the day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont stay at this hotel until renovations are done

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was horrible. Why? Because the hotel was under-going major renovations. I didn't find this out until the next morning when I was awoken. Not cool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxnard

A locals' point of view on the Crowne Plaza

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The view; hotel staff; location; Aqua Bar.
Cons: Elevators, construction, carpets need cleaning, heavy traffic in the lobby due to events (auditions for a commercial), breakfast buffet not great @NOM
Location: Location is perfect for walking around downtown for shopping, eating, drinking. Beach access is easy, pier has great restaurants.
We are locals and spent the night here so we could enjoy a pub crawl of Downtown Ventura. The staff was very helpful during check in and during our stay. We left a credit card in the Aqua Bar by accident. Staff made sure to make it available for pick up at the front desk. They secured it so none of our friends could close out our tab. One of the reasons I didn't give this hotel a 5-star rating is there is clearly construction going on and if we had paid money to stay for any length of time we would have regretted it with all the banging and hammering. Also, the elevator system is horrible and takes forever for it to arrive as it seems the system allows elevators to move up when the down button is pressed. It took 5 tries to get to the lobby when we were headed down and went back up when another person hit the button above us. I felt like I was in a high rise in Chicago. We were only on the 4th floor. Which is another problem: our room location. Our room opened up to the elevators. Groups of people would stand outside our room talking and making all kinds of noise and, since the elevators seemed like they were part of Willy Wonka's Chocolate Factory, it made for a loud location. I thought Violet got swept up the tube at one point. We only stayed one night so we didn't complain and get our room moved; however, there was a man in the elevator with us (we had plenty of time to talk) that had requested to stay another night. They told him ok only to get kicked out that morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Monte, United States of America

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Ocean view , walk distance to beach and pier, sidewalk very clean also Restuarant just right at the hotel very convenient but there is not much activities for kids, hope there is a jacuzzi so guess can enjoy more
Cons: No free wifi, $12 charge for parking, very noise because the hotel just next to the freeway also railroad