Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz

Newly remodeled room.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Restaurants, beach and pier are close by.
The staff was great , the location and view were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beach Getaway

Posted Jan 6, 2017
The hotel is on the beach with a great restaurant called Aloha next to it. Even though the hotel is currently under renovation, it didn't bother my boyfriend and I. The hotel accommodated my boyfriend and I very well during the renovation and we appreciated it. The entire staff was extremely polite. The hotel is extremely clean. We had a great Ocean view. We were very happy with our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Try another location

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Check in staff very efficient.
Cons: Condition of the room was not even to Motel 6 standard.
Location: On the water.
Hotel under renovation and in bad condition. Room was just horrible and not to the standards of the price they are charging. Room should have been half price of the 190.00 per nite due to old run down condition. Would not stay here again for any reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Relaxing

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: Location is great with promenade walkway along the ocean, the pier, and some lovely restaurants.
The room was clean. The only drawback was the continuous hammering and construction noise above my room during the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxnard

A locals' point of view on the Crowne Plaza

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The view; hotel staff; location; Aqua Bar.
Cons: Elevators, construction, carpets need cleaning, heavy traffic in the lobby due to events (auditions for a commercial), breakfast buffet not great @NOM
Location: Location is perfect for walking around downtown for shopping, eating, drinking. Beach access is easy, pier has great restaurants.
We are locals and spent the night here so we could enjoy a pub crawl of Downtown Ventura. The staff was very helpful during check in and during our stay. We left a credit card in the Aqua Bar by accident. Staff made sure to make it available for pick up at the front desk. They secured it so none of our friends could close out our tab. One of the reasons I didn't give this hotel a 5-star rating is there is clearly construction going on and if we had paid money to stay for any length of time we would have regretted it with all the banging and hammering. Also, the elevator system is horrible and takes forever for it to arrive as it seems the system allows elevators to move up when the down button is pressed. It took 5 tries to get to the lobby when we were headed down and went back up when another person hit the button above us. I felt like I was in a high rise in Chicago. We were only on the 4th floor. Which is another problem: our room location. Our room opened up to the elevators. Groups of people would stand outside our room talking and making all kinds of noise and, since the elevators seemed like they were part of Willy Wonka's Chocolate Factory, it made for a loud location. I thought Violet got swept up the tube at one point. We only stayed one night so we didn't complain and get our room moved; however, there was a man in the elevator with us (we had plenty of time to talk) that had requested to stay another night. They told him ok only to get kicked out that morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Monte, United States of America

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Ocean view , walk distance to beach and pier, sidewalk very clean also Restuarant just right at the hotel very convenient but there is not much activities for kids, hope there is a jacuzzi so guess can enjoy more
Cons: No free wifi, $12 charge for parking, very noise because the hotel just next to the freeway also railroad
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

On the Beach

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: The room was great with a beautiful view. Easy access to the beach. The restaurants. Staff was very friendly.
Cons: I don'the like to pay extra for parking and wi-fi.
Location: The pier. The Mission. Lots of restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

location, location

Posted Oct 18, 2016
perfect spot, great location, the patio with the fire fit makes for a perfect evening having a few drinks listening to the waves crash and having a great time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: It is a short walk to a lot of restaurants and coffee houses. Also close to the Ventura Fair Grounds.
For the amount I was asked to pay and with a no cancellation policy, the parking situation and fee, paying for wifi, I felt I was being ripped off. It is an old building with a need for refurbishment. The bathroom is tiny an ill equipped. For $250 a night, I expected a whole lot more than I was given. The room was a good size, except for the bathroom, which will definitely give you the understanding of the old term 'water closet'. A small sink, a toilet and a tub and barely enough room to turn around. No room for cosmetics, as the sink is a pedestal with no rim to speak of. At 80 to 100 bucks, it would be satisfactory and could be recommended as a decent value, but at the rates they charge it is anything but.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not acceptable

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: a lot.
Location: close to beach/restaurants
we checked in about 4pm, went to eat. didnt get to our room until 6pm. they gave me a handicap room with one double bed. i called the front desk to get a new room, they said there were none left. they should have told me it was a handicap room form the start. a double bed is not acceptable. im not 12 yrs old. front desk did nothing to accomadate