Ratings based on 630 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from death valley

Great location and super close to the beach

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Had a very nice stay at the hotel. Super quiet at night. Hotel was super clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Expedia "Mystery Hotel" Review

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: location, staff, cleanliness
Location: beach, restaurants
We live in Santa Clarita and had to be in Santa Barbara early Sat. morning so decided to stay the night before in Ventura where the hotel prices are reasonable. Did Expedia's mystery hotel deal, and Crowne Plaza it was! Showed up at 8pm on a Fri and staff was BEYOND nice. The location is great...you are literally right on the beach and can walk to restaurants etc. Our room was on the 2nd floor, right off the elevator, small, and overlooked a roof. However, you could still see the ocean if you looked to the right and IT WAS CLEAN. Nom (the closest restaurant) was closed by the time we settled in, so we ordered room service (open until 11pm) and it was great. For the price we paid with the mystery deal (50% less than their going rate), it was well worth it. If I had paid the full rate, I probably would have been a bit disappointed. Then again, I'm sure we would have also gotten one of their better rooms. All in all, I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks

The location is great, hotel ok.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: newer everything in rooms
After you park at the hotel, you don't really need to drive again. You can ride bikes on the bike path, and store your bike with the bell man. The pool is small, but cool that you are right next to the walk/bike path and beach, and you can walk into town with lots of restaurants and a couple of bars. The rooms feel dated, worn, towels are few, and one bar of soap for sink and shower, which is small and old. The view is good, but the balconies are really small and when window is open very loud highway and train noises. Our room faced south, my friends say they always ask for north facing room. Staff is very nice, your paying for location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Ideal location near the beach.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
The hotel is a bit shabby but good enough for a family vacation with kids near the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Great Views!! Awesome Fire Pit!!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Convenient Location, Great Staff, Ocean View Rooms, Close to everything!!
Cons: Prices on Alcoholic beverages
Location: Antique Shopping, Thrift Store Shopping, Plenty of restaurants to enjoy some adult beverages, Weather was amazing!
The Crowne Plaza was perfect for our time in Ventura! The views from the hotel were beautiful and the hotel staff were very courteous and helpful. Take about 20 steps from the front entrance and your on the beach! The only thing is that i wish the alcoholic drinks were a bit cheaper, but then again the beautiful view makes up for the price!! Great place to stay and I will only book at The Crowne Plaza for future stays!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

This hotel has the best staff I've ever encoutered

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Location is a big factor. But the the staff is top notch. From the bell boys, to the house keeping, to upper management, and even the maintainance
Cons: I can not think of anything.
Location: We did not rent a car, and that was a good decision.Downtown ventura is very close.to eat,movies and shopping. There is a free trolley to the harbor
From the first contact to last the entire staff was polite, accommodating, and helpful. The hotel was clean, the rooms were very clean. The bed was so comfortable, it was better then home. I have read the other reviews of people complaining about train noise. I think some people just need to complain all the time. In 6 days I noticed the train 3 times. So I slept with the balcony door closed and they are new and very sound proof. Not a problem. The roome were remodeled fairly recently and are nice. I would love to come back to this wonderful hotel, it was the best vacation Ive ever had. I would highly recommend it to all my friends and have.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Close to the beach. Unfortunately the freeway is closer so you cannot hear the ocean. Still I enjoyed it and, for the price, it is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Everything was perfect!!!

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: NOPE
Location: WALK, EAT, RELAX
A much needed getaway---expectations and then some---excellent. I am going back in August!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Surprisingly disappointing

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: The view and responsive staff.
Cons: See above.
Location: Great location!
During our nine-day stay, the hotel lacked in numerous ways. For example: 1) Cups used on Day 1 were never taken for 6 days. Day 6, I left the now 4 dirty cups on the floor to be taken. They were taken, but not replaced for 2 days (until Day 8 when we got new cups). 2) Towels were few and sparse, not the same as originally in room on Day 1. 3) My guest and I both got colds on Day 1. On Day 3 our tissue box was empty. We never received more tissues. 4) Hair dryer in our bathroom was inoperable. 5) Overall, housekeeping did very little; obvious garbage never picked up. 6) Was told parking during my stay w/b free, but was charged; disputed and was credited. 7) 11th floor room was very noisy from above for 2 nights. Hall carpet was filthy with a disturbing smell. 8) Sat with food from breakfast buffet, yet no drinks or silverware provided for minutes after. Overall restaurant service fair. 9) Wake-up call to make airport on time was never received. To their credit, the staff at the hotel were polite and accommodating when addressed (hair dryer, room rate, and parking). But for $200/night, guests should not have to deal with this number of inadequacies. With two children now living in CA, I will be visiting from NY often and while your location was ideal, I am unsure if I will revisit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place!

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Dog friendly!
Enjoyed our stay! With friends, family and poochers!