Ratings based on 1,085 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It sounded as though our room was on the railroad

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Clean
Location: We enjoyed our time out of the hotel very much and liked walking to restaurants and shops but we could have stayed somewhere else and had the same ame
It sounded as though our room was on the railroad tracks all night. Plus, we had requested ocean view and the slice of water that we saw over the restaurants was not exactly what we had in mind. Also waiting for the elevators was excessive as one was not working and staff kept saying that a new system was being installed in the future. It might have been a good idea to do that before the summer crowds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena

Hotel near the beach

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The location is close to downtown Ventura and right on the beach.
Cons: Either train the staff or get a new reservation system.
Location: The restaurants on the main street of old town Ventura are really good.
After the very long line to check in, we finally got to the desk. The staff could not find my Expedia reservation. I had all the documentation. After about 15 minutes he finally found it. The location of the hotel makes all the hassle almost worth the wait.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Awesome experience and friendly staff! Will definitely come back again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Close to beAch

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: ElevaTors. Bell service
Location: Good dining. NeaR by y
Need working elevators! Had to wait too long for bell service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Layton, Utah

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Room was everything we expected! Clean, nice, with a great view to the beach! Loved everything about our quick trip to Ventura, and definitely will come back and stay at Crowne Plaza!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LHC

Crown Plaza

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beach / Excellent Food right outside hotel
Clean on the beach - Excellent recommend to everyone - Pricing not bad
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Good vacation

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Nice personal, fresh ocean air, nice restaurant with very good meal. Clean room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phx Az

Close top beach & main roads

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Clean room with ocean view including the pier as promised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L.A.

great hotel by the beach and downtown

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Change restaurant
Location: Beautiful views and great restaurants within walking distance.
We had a great stay at this hotel. The location was awesome as it is by the beach and the downtown area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Harmony, Utah

Overpriced & Penalized for 3rd Party Reservation

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Close to Ventura pier, shopping and restaurants
Cons: The elevators could be fixed and a 6 foot wide staircase should be installed for safety.
Location: Lovely location, shopping, eating, fun in the sun and ocean are all near by.
We were unable to get 2 beds instead of 1 because we made the reservation for the hotel through Expedia instead of calling them directly. I was promised 2 beds the second night but that never happened. Two of the three elevators were broken so crowds gathered in the hall waiting for the one. We were on the 3rd floor so we took the stairs most often. The access to the stairs is not well marked, you have to go outside to get to it and they are dirty, cement, narrow stairs. There would not be room to evacuate the building in case of an emergency using these stairs. The advertisement for the room said "Room with a view." We had a view of the rooftop air conditioners and yes some ocean if you craned your neck.