Ratings based on 1,232 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

unprofessional

Posted Jul 18, 2017
We arrived late night and been told that the hotel is overbooked.. we called the hotel 3 times to confirm our late arrival though...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Great location but really house keeping understaff

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: location, pool
Cons: cleanliness and presentation
Location: Dinning, fishing, kayaking, musseum
perfect weather during July 4 holiday. Pool was great but little crowded with kids but fun. Check in clerk give good direction to where to park underground but didn't mention the $22 day parking fee. To get to building 8, you have to pass where they keep all dirty bed sheets and towel , what was a horrible sight and disappointed feeling. When get to my room, there was a pile of pizza box and trash right in front of our room, another disappointment. Try to call front desk and house keeping and phone dails individual number like it was dailing old analog rotary number in the still either silence or a busy line. Have to personally go and find the cleaning lady close by for extra towels. The only helpful was the happy hour that somewhat alleviated some incurring stress. Next day after a good breakfast, left for 1 day of exploring local fun things to do only to come back to the same unturned room. Again have to go to front desk since the phone doesn't work. Stay in line for 15min joust to talk to the front lady who "promised" to notify the cleaning crew but has spent no time to ensure it will happen. After 30min wait with no house cleaning crew decide to leave for dinner. Did mention to the bar tender our frustration and thanks god he talked to his supervisor and the man send one of his man to go find the cleaning ladies. At least we come back to a clean room with fresh towels so the kids can shower. We paid so much for miniscule services.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LosAngeles

Don't be fooled by the picture.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Spent the 4th of July there. The hotel is way over rated. The pool is smaller than what is pictured. Rooms are way dirty. You can even feel the dirty carpet with your feet. Staff were very Rude and unpleasant. You have a request, they give you a look that you are not lucky enough to be granted. Only the valet guys are welcoming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family fun with pool and beach

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Pool and beach, breakfast
Cons: Room ventilation
The pool and beach are the reasons to come to this hotel. Our kids just loved all the different pools and water features. The free breakfast is pretty good. My main complaint is that we reserved a King Suite and expected to use the sofa bed for our kids. The Sofa bed is pretty lousy - with a spring mattress that feels circa 1983. The room smelled mildewy, I think because it had very poor ventilation and the natural humidity of Oxnard has taken its toll. The carpet felt moist the entire time. My room was also very dark. There was dripping water from the cieling in my bedroom from the upstairs room. They remodeled the hotel fairly recently, but it is really just a pretty layer to cover up an older beach hotel that is showing its age. The staff was very friendly and overall, we had a great time - it was just expensive for the issues that we had with the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Going Downhill

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Everything but the location.
Location: Steps from the beach. That's a good thing because the pool is average.
I've been going to this place for years, and wow has it gone downhill. Where to start... Check in: Came at 4PM (the "official" check in time). Waited 30 minutes in line to be told that my room would not be ready for another 20 minutes and they would text me. 6:30 rolls around and still no text. Go to the front desk and and after (once again) waiting 30 minutes, finally get my key. Another couple had been there since 11AM and still didn't have their key. Way understaffed...at any given moment, there were 1-3 employees checking people in. Did I mention this was during the 4th of July weekend with the hotel fully booked? Housekeeping: apparently, they no longer clean your room daily. That's news to me. So I called and asked for towels and an extra blanket at 2PM. 9PM and still no towels and blanket so I visit the front desk a third time. 10:30PM rolls around and they finally deliver the towels, no blanket. I give up and place a few towels on my daughter to keep her warm. Bar: don't order the Pina Colada. Enough said. It's like a glorified Slurpee. Pool: Ran out of towels. From like 3PM to 7PM there were no towels at the pool. To be "fair", they did comp me $75 to their overpriced restaurant and the 2 glorified Slurpees...and parking, which is overpriced to begin with. Unfortunately, this is one of the nicest properties in Oxnard, so there's not much of a choice to go elsewhere, but be warned if you go during busy times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Terrible Experience

Posted Jul 2, 2017
I had to wait over 4 hours for my king suite which I reserved 4 weeks prior. The front desk kept telling me they wanted my suite perfect. The shower didnt work, the toilet overflowed, my view was the elevator, the bathrooms were dirty. I will definitely not recommend this hotel, for $300 per night, I was beyond disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from northern California

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Good location near beach and park walkways...resort atmosphere
Cons: Breakfast food service and more variety of restaurant fare.
Location: Nearby marinas and restaurants provide wide variety of culinary options...
Overall positive but limited activities for adults/couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

One of the best hotels poorly managed

Posted Jul 1, 2017
I love this hotel and this is the third year we are going back there for summer vacation. The hotel itself is excellent it has everything I need for perfect vacation, but the stuff and management is the worst. We got there at 2pm but the room wasn't ready until 7pm. Every hour they would say wait another 25 min and so on. And the worst part is I wasn't the only one to wait but a lot of other people too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Spaciousness of the room, daily breakfast, nice pool and spa in common area, easy access to the beach and other restaurants close by.
Cons: Cleanliness of the room
Easy check in and out. Nice breakfast each day. Pool and spa area very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Jun 27, 2017
I stay here often when I need to get away peoples into Cousy's are nice and they walk to the beach, also enjoyed the restaurant very much