Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel has historic charm but falls short

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Relic from yesteryear
Thin and worn out towels and sheets, dirty sheets, sticky tile floors, old bathrooms, no insulation between walls, bugs, smells like old people, overall gross hotel experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Great vintage hotel with lots of character & charm

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Beautiful Tudor/Craftsmen style hotel. Very friendly. Gorgeous interior. So much character, charm and history. Yay, it's haunted too. A personal plus was that the shower head in our shower was well over six feet high. I'm tall and I didn't have to do the limbo to take a shower. That's rare and appreciated. Dog friendly. We brought our Golden Retriever and he was completely fawned over by staff and guests. There is a resident dog named Otis who my son liked very much. Otis even let my son sit in his personal chair. Awesome restaurant as well. We had a great time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice vibe

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Feeling of warmth.
Cons: Better mattresses--really--better mattresses!
There was a nice vibe. Seriously, there was a nice atmosphere. Peaceful. Old.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from So. Dakota


Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: Being it's in a was small town the location was perfect.
The staff was Great an went above what was expected of him. We got the two bedroom with the only one with a door to the outside. It was fantastic !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beyond quaint to shabby.

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Windows filthy, bathroom fan deafeningly loud, 3rd rate pillows, towels, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a comfy stay

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed for 1 evening on our way up north and we did not have a very comfortable stay. The bed did not have good back support and we kept rolling into the midline of the bed. Also, we could hear everything going on on the floor so we kept getting woken up by our neighbors. The acoustics are terrible - you can hear conversations taking place in adjacent rooms and people shuffling around. The hotel seems very cute from the outside but is in need of a remodel on the inside.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unexpected charmer!

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
The Glenn Tavern Inn is a charming 1911 Craftsman Lodge.It could use some love,and knowledgeable restoration,but the overall appearance and atmosphere is wonderful. The desk staff are incredibly friendly, and helpful.The garden grounds are lovely,the lobby is well preserved, and a joy to enter. You can play Clue in front of the fireplace. It would appear that there have been some recent attempts at updating the hotel rooms,but they are clean if not period accurate. The bedding and mattresses could use some improvement.The Wi-Fi isn't great,so if you need it,plan accordingly.It is quiet though. Even with guests and train train tracks close by, the rooms and hotel are quiet.All five of us slept soundly(two full beds and a single roll-away).It is Pet friendly, as are many of the local businesses.The hotel has an attached Italian restaurant,but offers dinner service only. No fear though, within walking distance, are many cafes, bakeries, pubs, and restaurants.Please check out Rabalais' Bistro and Bakery,family friendly,generous portions,and cost us around $70(tax+tip) for a family of five. Just a gorgeous little historic area. My family would definitely like to visit again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Don't expect to be pampered.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Pricing was not bad but you do get what you pay for in this instance.
Cons: The mattress was rock hard. The shower is made for smurfs and not anyone of normal height. Broken pain of glass in window.
Location: It is in the middle of Santa Paula which is nice.
The hotel is quaint but just not that comfortable. Its old and historically cool in a lot of ways but its just a place to crash for one night as the rooms aren't made for long stays..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ojai, California

Historic old hotel in small town

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Staff, room comfort, location Near downtown area for several good restaurants, Oil History Museum, Museum of Agriculture, Santa Paula Art Museum.
Cons: Larger lavatory area - small shelf above sink did not accommodate many items.
Location: Just across from the old historic Railway Station and the Museum of Agriculture. We also visited the Art Museum for a Gail Pidduck exhibition.
We stayed here 32 years ago the day we married.Back then they had claw foot tubs. The hotel has been re-modeled several times since then but retains its great old-fashioned charm with lovely staircase to upper floors (no elevator), large lobby with comfy chairs, fireplace, game table, and books. The in-house restaurant has a good menu, but we opted for Mupu Grill in town a few blocks away and had an excellent (5 stars plus) meal. Next morning we found a local breakfast place (Vinces Coffee Shop) filled with locals and a menu featuring Mexican dishes. My husband loved his chorizo and eggs with beans and a side of white corn tortillas. His orange juice came in a 10oz glass, not freshly squeezed but delicious and served by the nicest lady in Ventura County. The hotel is a landmark place, charming and old. They even claim one room is haunted. Not in the best condition but lovely and quiet. The staff is totally helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Early western stagecoach stop

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: It's originality, attention to its origins and movie posters in the halls.
Cons: Be aware there are No elevators.
Lovely older style hotel, within walking distance to town and restaurants. Located across from old railroad station, now a vistors center. We were told by long time local citizens that it might be haunted, has a nice ltalian restaurant on the premises with early birds specials.