Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Coast, California

Old fashioned charm

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: The staff were ultra helpful. Because of traffic conditions we were 2.5 hours late arriving, almost at midnight. A member of staff waited for us.
Location: Quaint little town. We were there for a specific event and were pleasantly surprised by the good restaurants and amenities.
A very pleasant atmosphere. A little won around the edges but over all a good experience.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long Beach, Ca

Historic elegant hotel loaded with charm

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Picturesque elegant hotel loaded with charm in the heart of Old Town Santa Paula. 17 miles by scenic drive to Ojai via bicycle , motorcycle or car. Great restaurants within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2015 by Kenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Good nights sleep

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: To me the hotel was somewhat creepy; however, I felt comfortable there and had a good nights sleep. The staff seemed friendly.
Cons: I would have liked to have been able to take a warm shower. There was an Ironing board but no iron in my room. I had to get one from the front desk.
Location: Not much to do in Santa Paula at night. Probably best you don't explore the town at night anyways.
I drove down to Santa Paula for a funeral and needed a place to stay for the night. I drove by this place a few times when I was visiting my family in that past and decided to book a room for this trip. This is probably the most interesting hotel I have ever stayed at. It was like I took a trip back in time to an age before modern comforts. I say that because I had no hot water! Other than that, I had an average experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2015 by Kenny, Hotel Management
We apologize for the lack of hot water. We unfortunately had an issue with our water heater but fortunately, now, everything is brand new and up and running. Please don't hesitate to try us again and try one of our rooms with a jetted tub!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beach City, CA

Overrated disappointment

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: The bathroom, Enzo's Italian Restaurant-the food was incredibly delicious.
Cons: Air conditioning inadequate, problems with the smoke alarms, etc. They can't really control the paranormal activity, I wish we had know in advance.
Location: Breakfast at the Rabalais Bistro was AMAZING-the best part of our trip. Very small main street surrounded by farmland, oil museum, not much to do.
Hoping for a quiet birthday getaway, my husband & I booked a 2 night stay at the Inn. The reviews I had read were very good & we were really excited to travel someplace different. From the moment we checked in, the Inn had a very eerie feeling-it was dark & the decor seemed terribly dated. Our room was average, but I have to admit that the remodeled bath was a nice surprise. Our meal at Enzo's, located inside the Inn, was amazing. The problems began with our cell phones not working, with the air conditioning taking 2 hours to cool our room to the point that we finally stopped sweating, being woken up at 3:30 am by the smoke detector in our room & at the Inn going off, hearing the night staff talking outside our room about the smoke alarm, our car alarm then going off repeatedly, smelling smoke in the hallway but being told it was a false alarm, & finally the smoke alarm going off in the ladies room across the hall for hours. We checked out after only one night. We were unaware of the Inn's reputation for paranormal activity until after we'd left. If you want this type of experience, this is your place. If you're looking for a quaint, relaxing trip to a bygone era-avoid this Inn completely. Very, very, disappointing!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2015 by Kenny, Hotel Management
So very sorry about your experience! We try to keep a handle on the ghosts but sometimes they act on their own. Please don't hesitate to try us again, we'll make sure you get a quiet experience.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location of historic Santa Paula

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: More atmosphere than many American hotels. Has some movie history behind it.
Location: Rabalais Bistro on the main street is excellent.
There was reception on both nights I stayed so a tad noisy and busy, but I still got a good night's sleep. Music stopped at 22:00.
3 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

Okay but needs some TLC

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
This could be a very nice historic inn with a little TLC. We stayed in room 203 and, though it was adequate, it could use some updating. The bathroom fixtures were very outdated, the shower pan was pretty well stained and there was a mold/mildew stain about 4" in length in the ceiling area. There is a pool behind the hotel with limited hours which can be used by guests but it appears to belong to a private residence. Our room faced the pool and there was a lot of noise from the pool well into the night (almost midnight). The inn appears to be popular with the locals as an event venue. There are not a lot of choices for hotels in the Santa Paula area unless you are willing to go further out to Ventura, Oxnard, Camarillo. This was okay for a quick 2 night trip.
3 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by Janice

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
Needs a facelift
5 out of 5
for Couples
by Steven from Redondo Beach

Fine old hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
Fine old restored hotel near the old railroad station. An encounter with the past.
3 out of 5
for Couples
by Mark from Oakland

Cool old hotel, very good Italian food, thin walls

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here on a road trip from San Diego to Oakland, and picked it due to the cools picture on the website and the decent price, a lot cheaper than even Motel 6 a few miles west in Ventura. We had dinner at Enzo's in the hotel, and the drinks were interesting and tasty, the pizza good, and the lasagna with bolognese sauce was outstanding. Th lobby is beautiful, very nice Craftsman style wood paneling and light fixtures. We found out as we were driving north that it was reputed to be haunted, and in fact had been on several TV shows about paranormal activity. We neither saw nor heard any ghosts, but were kept awake by the snoring of a guy in the next room. Come to think of it, we didn't ask if there was a guest there... The bed was OK, the bathroom function, albeit a tired old shower set at a height good for someone about 5 feet tall. But hey, it is an old historic hotel in an out of the way town that was part of California's early oil boom - in fact the California (formerly Union Oil) Oil Museum is there in Santa Paula, and worth a visit. Stay for the experience, history, bolognese sauce and value, not for the lush W Hotel experience!
3 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by Bailey from San Diego

Easy going, quaint stay

Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
The workers at the front desk check-in were very accommodating upon first entering. The hotel itself seems like it has a theme to it (rustic in style with vintage posters and dim lighting). Parking was easy, as was getting a room. The beds were fairly basic and the room also had its own bathroom and its own closet. Pretty big room and the only problem we had was getting the TV to work (which was easily fixed when we inquired for help).