Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma WA

A true classic

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: This hotel is in old town Santa Paula, what a neat little place to walk around and explore
My hubby and I loved all of the antique furniture and how they have brought all of the beauty back to this historic hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
There is a step up to enter the bathroom .when you get up in the night to go without light you dont remember its make you trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pleasanton

Beautiful building but dirty hotel.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Dirty rooms. Housekeeping did not show up. Lots of dust. No amenities. Lobby furniture needs cleaning. Get rid of blankets in the lobby or clean them. Poor lighting.Terrible breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Hotel with character

Posted Apr 25, 2017
We stayed one night but wished it could have been longer. The room was lovely and the grounds were beautiful with flowers decorating windows, doorways etc. Dinner in the dining room was very enjoyable with the piano music in the background. And the complimentary breakfast was a plus indeed! Would highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lake Elizabeth, CA

Love the Old

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The craftsman setting was especially appealing, as it is our daughter's favorite style.
Cons: The free wifi did not work most of the time! The mirrors were so high only my tall husband could see well. There were little maintenance jobs needed
Location: We ventured out to Santa Barbara for a concert. We went to Ventura for fish dinners.
This is a gem of a hotel. However, the room across from us on the first night had two women who talked until past three a.m. thus making for a bad nights sleep. We were prepared to change rooms when we learned they had left the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SEDONA AZ

Nice, clean, lighting really good, but mirror fo

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Comfy and close to everything and parking was really good.
Cons: MIRRORS
Had to get on chair to get high enough to use mirror for make up. And no full length mirror. Other than that it was a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murrieta, CA

Not your average lodgings...

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Architecture, decor of the lobby, helpful desk staff.
Cons: Invest in comfortable mattresses!
Location: 20 minutes or so to Ventura beaches; unfortunately, I was there on business so I wasn't able to check out any local attractions.
Cute place! Built in the early 1900's, and still has the feel of the era. My room (301) was on the 3rd floor (beware, there isn't an elevator), and was compact but comfortable. Very dark hallway, but added to the vintage feel. Because of the older architecture (I'm guessing), there is a 3 or 4 inch rise from the bedroom to the bath; a definite toe-breaker if you don't exercise caution stepping up. Decor is a mix of older, not antique, furniture and modern; not in a distasteful way, however. My window was an older sash style, and allowed plenty of light, but sealed shut. The air conditioning is central, however, and more than adequate for my March stay. Plenty of hot water and water pressure, which is high on my list of necessities. King bed, but the typical rock-hard mattress that most hotel chains tend to use, unfortunately. However, the linens were soft and fresh, including the towels, which is definitely an improvement over most motels. There is an on-site restaurant (Italian), which was convenient; I wish I could rave about the food, but I can't. Seemed a bit pricey for the quality and taste. Overall, though, I enjoyed my visit; and if I ever find myself needing to stay in the Ventura area again, I'd certainly consider staying there again. Additional note: Room 307 is reputedly haunted; I'll ask to book that one next time. My stay was definitely not affected by the supernatural...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so haunted but old

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
I had dog hair all over the floor in my room. I mentioned it to the front desk clerk and he said he would have it cleaned the following morning. When i returned to my room it was sill all there. I understand letting dogs stay in the hotel but thats when you clean extra harder. Overall staff was amazing. It was worth the 8 days.
5 out of 5
by Gwen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels