Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Don't expect to be pampered.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Pricing was not bad but you do get what you pay for in this instance.
Cons: The mattress was rock hard. The shower is made for smurfs and not anyone of normal height. Broken pain of glass in window.
Location: It is in the middle of Santa Paula which is nice.
The hotel is quaint but just not that comfortable. Its old and historically cool in a lot of ways but its just a place to crash for one night as the rooms aren't made for long stays..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ojai, California

Historic old hotel in small town

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Staff, room comfort, location Near downtown area for several good restaurants, Oil History Museum, Museum of Agriculture, Santa Paula Art Museum.
Cons: Larger lavatory area - small shelf above sink did not accommodate many items.
Location: Just across from the old historic Railway Station and the Museum of Agriculture. We also visited the Art Museum for a Gail Pidduck exhibition.
We stayed here 32 years ago the day we married.Back then they had claw foot tubs. The hotel has been re-modeled several times since then but retains its great old-fashioned charm with lovely staircase to upper floors (no elevator), large lobby with comfy chairs, fireplace, game table, and books. The in-house restaurant has a good menu, but we opted for Mupu Grill in town a few blocks away and had an excellent (5 stars plus) meal. Next morning we found a local breakfast place (Vinces Coffee Shop) filled with locals and a menu featuring Mexican dishes. My husband loved his chorizo and eggs with beans and a side of white corn tortillas. His orange juice came in a 10oz glass, not freshly squeezed but delicious and served by the nicest lady in Ventura County. The hotel is a landmark place, charming and old. They even claim one room is haunted. Not in the best condition but lovely and quiet. The staff is totally helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Posted Jun 10, 2016
This hotel offers charm and takes you back in time to a golden era. It was built in 1910. I was told that you can hear some sounds at night and possibly see a ghost, but I didn't experience anything like that.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix az

Softest bed sheets

Posted May 19, 2016
This is my 2nd time staying here and just like the last time - excellent room for an excellent price. The night clerk is the best.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phx, AZ

soft sheets

Posted May 1, 2016
This is a cozy Inn that is reasonably priced, especially for CA. The sheets are quality high thread count. I have not seen that is any other hotel/motel/ Inn at this price. I also really liked that after I turned off the lights to go to sleep the room was extremely dark which makes for a nicer sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Party hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Nothing nothing nothing.... Bad idea on my part.
Cons: Communicate to those staying that there is going to be a party so they can prepare ahead of time for drunks and loud music.
Location: You can catch a train to get the hell out of town cause this place sucks.
This is a weekend party hotel. Loud music and people! Drunks roaming around in the hallways and trying to open doors. All kinds of chaos and noise. I do not recommend this hotel. The hotel needs to warn customers when they will be throwing a party and only rent rooms to those guests. I will never go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's not historic, it's just old and dirty

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Place could use an overhaul. It's dirty (but the lights are low so you can't see it as well). It's not an historic house, it's just old, shabby and not well cleaned. They play constant music of old tunes or piano tunes... yes, ALL NIGHT that you can hear in your room and will keep you awake. There is no carpeting (but it's fake wood floors, not real ones) so you hear every footstep above. It took them 20 minutes to print my room receipt, there's no elevator and they required entire stay payment upon check in. Unheard of. Never again.
4 out of 5
by Julie from UK

A slice of history in Santa Paula

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, interesting hotel! Great food.
3 out of 5
by Suzanne from Atlanta, GA

Amenities lacking but Interesting Historic Hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the Glen Tavern Inn, to be honest, because there aren't any motel chains close by, but it did have good reviews. Pros: Friendly staff, clean room, and the history/period of the hotel is interesting. Cons: Hotel is dark, although I get the parlor/brothel decor. There are no coffee makers in the rooms, coffee was not made until 8am, and I'm an early riser. I'm not sure I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice period hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Nice hotel different atmosphere from shoebox hotels. Comfortable and quiet. Had trouble with tv at 1st, locked out of room on 4th night, late checkout was only 11:30 a.m.