Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Antique Hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Rooms are very clean, with a lot of hardwood woodwork and antique doors, very cool!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Kenneth, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind review! Further, if you'd like to review us on yelp or tripadvisor we would be greatly appreciative!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be aware of weddings! Also, smells bad...

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The hotel is not that big. But there was a wedding occupying the entire LOBBY the whole night. Mind you, the reception was not held in any room, just right in the middle of the lobby, spread out in front of the door and stairs and check-in counter. The parking was completely full, leaving me to circle around the block to find a suitable spot. I talked to other guests the next morning and they told me that the hotel was a popular wedding reception site. The reception was loud and went on till 11:30. I couldn't even go in and out of the hotel freely without walking past the dance floor. Awkward! I get that the hotel is cute, but it is not worth it. The room also smelled really bad - like mold and some kind of disinfectant. Yuck. I will never stay here ever again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Vintage hotel close to Ojai

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: The hotel definitely had a vintage charm about it that you don't usually see in most hotels. Had a historic feel to it.
Cons: One possible improvement would be to somehow install small refrigerators into the rooms, as perishables could not be stored anywhere.
Location: Nothing really to do in Santa Paula, but Ojai is 16 miles away and it's definitely a pleasant place to escape t
The hotel was comfortable and an experience in and of itself due to its vintage feel. The rooms had central heating, which was very important as it was freezing when we stayed there. The rooms aren't too sound-proof so you can readily hear televisions and neighbors talking while walking the halls or sometimes in your own room. Overall the experience was unique. The room we stayed in was cozy and quaint. The only major complaint is that there were two bizarre incidents while we stayed there. One involved the police and an arrest of restaurant guests, and another was a fight between two apparently drunken individuals in the back parking lot of the establishment. The hotel's personnel were very professional in handling these incidences, but they definitely cast a somewhat uncomfortable/unsafe shadow over our stay there. We chose to avoid leaving the hotel after dark for these reasons, as the area around it didn't seem safe afterwards. We stayed there as we wanted to explore nearby Ojai for the weekend and were unable to find adequate rooms in Ojai.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel has historic charm but falls short

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Relic from yesteryear
Thin and worn out towels and sheets, dirty sheets, sticky tile floors, old bathrooms, no insulation between walls, bugs, smells like old people, overall gross hotel experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great vintage hotel with lots of character & charm

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Beautiful Tudor/Craftsmen style hotel. Very friendly. Gorgeous interior. So much character, charm and history. Yay, it's haunted too. A personal plus was that the shower head in our shower was well over six feet high. I'm tall and I didn't have to do the limbo to take a shower. That's rare and appreciated. Dog friendly. We brought our Golden Retriever and he was completely fawned over by staff and guests. There is a resident dog named Otis who my son liked very much. Otis even let my son sit in his personal chair. Awesome restaurant as well. We had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice vibe

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Feeling of warmth.
Cons: Better mattresses--really--better mattresses!
There was a nice vibe. Seriously, there was a nice atmosphere. Peaceful. Old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So. Dakota

Great

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: Being it's in a was small town the location was perfect.
The staff was Great an went above what was expected of him. We got the two bedroom with the only one with a door to the outside. It was fantastic !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Don't expect to be pampered.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Pricing was not bad but you do get what you pay for in this instance.
Cons: The mattress was rock hard. The shower is made for smurfs and not anyone of normal height. Broken pain of glass in window.
Location: It is in the middle of Santa Paula which is nice.
The hotel is quaint but just not that comfortable. Its old and historically cool in a lot of ways but its just a place to crash for one night as the rooms aren't made for long stays..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ojai, California

Historic old hotel in small town

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Staff, room comfort, location Near downtown area for several good restaurants, Oil History Museum, Museum of Agriculture, Santa Paula Art Museum.
Cons: Larger lavatory area - small shelf above sink did not accommodate many items.
Location: Just across from the old historic Railway Station and the Museum of Agriculture. We also visited the Art Museum for a Gail Pidduck exhibition.
We stayed here 32 years ago the day we married.Back then they had claw foot tubs. The hotel has been re-modeled several times since then but retains its great old-fashioned charm with lovely staircase to upper floors (no elevator), large lobby with comfy chairs, fireplace, game table, and books. The in-house restaurant has a good menu, but we opted for Mupu Grill in town a few blocks away and had an excellent (5 stars plus) meal. Next morning we found a local breakfast place (Vinces Coffee Shop) filled with locals and a menu featuring Mexican dishes. My husband loved his chorizo and eggs with beans and a side of white corn tortillas. His orange juice came in a 10oz glass, not freshly squeezed but delicious and served by the nicest lady in Ventura County. The hotel is a landmark place, charming and old. They even claim one room is haunted. Not in the best condition but lovely and quiet. The staff is totally helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Posted Jun 10, 2016
This hotel offers charm and takes you back in time to a golden era. It was built in 1910. I was told that you can hear some sounds at night and possibly see a ghost, but I didn't experience anything like that.