Ratings based on 343 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Hotel with character

Posted Apr 25, 2017
We stayed one night but wished it could have been longer. The room was lovely and the grounds were beautiful with flowers decorating windows, doorways etc. Dinner in the dining room was very enjoyable with the piano music in the background. And the complimentary breakfast was a plus indeed! Would highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lake Elizabeth, CA

Love the Old

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The craftsman setting was especially appealing, as it is our daughter's favorite style.
Cons: The free wifi did not work most of the time! The mirrors were so high only my tall husband could see well. There were little maintenance jobs needed
Location: We ventured out to Santa Barbara for a concert. We went to Ventura for fish dinners.
This is a gem of a hotel. However, the room across from us on the first night had two women who talked until past three a.m. thus making for a bad nights sleep. We were prepared to change rooms when we learned they had left the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SEDONA AZ

Nice, clean, lighting really good, but mirror fo

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Comfy and close to everything and parking was really good.
Cons: MIRRORS
Had to get on chair to get high enough to use mirror for make up. And no full length mirror. Other than that it was a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murrieta, CA

Not your average lodgings...

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Architecture, decor of the lobby, helpful desk staff.
Cons: Invest in comfortable mattresses!
Location: 20 minutes or so to Ventura beaches; unfortunately, I was there on business so I wasn't able to check out any local attractions.
Cute place! Built in the early 1900's, and still has the feel of the era. My room (301) was on the 3rd floor (beware, there isn't an elevator), and was compact but comfortable. Very dark hallway, but added to the vintage feel. Because of the older architecture (I'm guessing), there is a 3 or 4 inch rise from the bedroom to the bath; a definite toe-breaker if you don't exercise caution stepping up. Decor is a mix of older, not antique, furniture and modern; not in a distasteful way, however. My window was an older sash style, and allowed plenty of light, but sealed shut. The air conditioning is central, however, and more than adequate for my March stay. Plenty of hot water and water pressure, which is high on my list of necessities. King bed, but the typical rock-hard mattress that most hotel chains tend to use, unfortunately. However, the linens were soft and fresh, including the towels, which is definitely an improvement over most motels. There is an on-site restaurant (Italian), which was convenient; I wish I could rave about the food, but I can't. Seemed a bit pricey for the quality and taste. Overall, though, I enjoyed my visit; and if I ever find myself needing to stay in the Ventura area again, I'd certainly consider staying there again. Additional note: Room 307 is reputedly haunted; I'll ask to book that one next time. My stay was definitely not affected by the supernatural...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Nice but very old hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017
The room is not clean, especialy the restroom. The rest room door cannot lock. Microwave is out of order. The worst thing is only breakfast in weekend, while unclear state in the Expedia website.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Old and tired.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location.
Location: Close to downtown Restaurants. Garmans and Roblais were great.
Staff was great. Enzo's dinner was very good. Needs to be rehabbed desperately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Antique Hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Rooms are very clean, with a lot of hardwood woodwork and antique doors, very cool!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Kenneth, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind review! Further, if you'd like to review us on yelp or tripadvisor we would be greatly appreciative!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be aware of weddings! Also, smells bad...

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The hotel is not that big. But there was a wedding occupying the entire LOBBY the whole night. Mind you, the reception was not held in any room, just right in the middle of the lobby, spread out in front of the door and stairs and check-in counter. The parking was completely full, leaving me to circle around the block to find a suitable spot. I talked to other guests the next morning and they told me that the hotel was a popular wedding reception site. The reception was loud and went on till 11:30. I couldn't even go in and out of the hotel freely without walking past the dance floor. Awkward! I get that the hotel is cute, but it is not worth it. The room also smelled really bad - like mold and some kind of disinfectant. Yuck. I will never stay here ever again.
3 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel located next to old town Santa Paula

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful.
Cons: My room had more electric appliances than outlets, which is to be expected in an older hotel. It would be nice to have a few more electric plugs.
Location: Nice old town right around the corner. It is central to the area, so you can go to the beach or mountains very easily.
This is a nice classic hotel, built in the early 1900's. The rooms are nice, but obviously built a long time ago, but everything works and the place is nice and clean. The hotel has really nice interior decorations and you do feel you've gone back in time to the 1900's.