Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
They weren't ready for us at check in. Our room was being used for storage of libby items. Staff acted like we were putting them out. Once we got checked in everything was fine. Nice location and clean room. No lie in the shower to lace our soap and shower items but in the floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No. 1 if it comes to price vs. location

Posted May 20, 2017
One can hardly stay any closer to the beach than in this hotel! Very quite too, the only thing one hears during the night is the ocean. The rooms may be a bit dated, but they are clean and comfortable. The owner and staff are very friendly and dedicated.
3 out of 5
by Rose

It must have been charming in 1998

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
I'm a single woman of color I ride a Harley, safety, and kindness are important things when I book a place. These are my thoughts. I wanted an uninterrupted view of the ocean at, Inn on the Beach, that's what I got. However, I didn’t feel safe on the second floor. The sliding glass door didn't lock, anyone could climb onto the balcony. The screen door was on its last legs and no deadbolt on the main door, a chair had to do. My feet never touched the dark aged carpet. The 18th-century style furniture took up most of the space in the small room. The flowery wallpaper shrank the room further. The information book with its wet pages and worn binder said the inn was last remodeled in 1998. The bed was made, the sink washed and the towels clean, but not dusted. I tried not to look too closely at the stained box that the mattress sat upon because then I'd fixate about bed bugs. My sleep was interrupted with thoughts of being bitten, but I wasn't. No air conditioner or microwave. A suspicion looking camera on top of the t.v. (for the remote) I moved it, put it back in the morning. The toilet kept emptying and filling up so I had to turn the water supply off to get some peace, turned it back on in the morning. The staff; female and male, were friendly towards me. I would only return if pressed. The local area was quaint, a great fish 'n' chip shop, a nice microbrewery that treated a single woman of color with respect and a great Thai restaurant, all were in the $$ price mark.
4 out of 5
by Todd

Mixed decor, shared patio, ocean view blurry

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Had everything needed, the glass toward the ocean was very difficult to see through, patio shared with every other room on the ground floor. Location and price were good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inn on the Beach was good for us.

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
Our room as good although I had to fix the toilet since the previous guest had clogged up the toilet but apparently the cleaning staff didn't notice. The shower only had one door on it as well. Overall I am pleased with the hotel. It needs updating but the location and the restaurants around it are great and it is right on the beach. Parking is free as well. Enjoy, you can't go wrong with it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SFO

Spectacular view

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Spectacular & amazing beach view. Shabby chic victotian interior design.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice view of the ocean!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Very nice location all the little restaurants were within walking distance.
Cons: Carpets in the stair well need cleaning.
Location: The ocean is nearby and many little restaurants.
Very nice inn, location is perfect and our room had a very nice view of the ocean. Just make sure you stay in the 2nd or 3rd floor. Wish I could have stayed another night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great place to view the sunset.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Very friendly
Cons: Parking
Location: We have dinner and walk in downtown.
That is right on the beach with a great view. We go once a year on a mini vacation to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Will be back

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: I liked how my gf and I fot late checkout at 12pm. There are jets in the bathtub so it's like a jaccuzi. Slept with the door open to hear the ocean.
Cons: More choices for complimentary breakfast please.
Location: As soon as we checked in at 2:30 because they let us have early check in, we walked along the beach to Ventura pier not that far away.
Awesome service. First time traveler to Inn on the Beach and will definately be back. Complimentary breakfast open until 10:30am which is nice, however not many items to choose from. Loved everything else about my stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Camp at the campground next door instead

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Very run down, only two places to eat within walking that are not very good. The view and proximity to beach are good but you can get same at neighboring campground for a lot less