Ratings based on 1,316 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fountain Valley, CA

Never again!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, new decor of rooms and lobby.
Cons: fix issue with hot water, fix the bathroom's ventilation fans to help eliminate bathroom odors
Hotel rooms and lobby are nicely updated, except the bathroom area. I failed to notice when I booked the hotel on Expedia that dogs were allowed, so be careful where you walk. Not all dog owners are responsible. There was dog mess in the parking stalls. The room smelled as soon as I opened the door and the bathroom smelled too (dampness of shower curtain perhaps). Every time I showered, it took a while for the water to warm up. In fact, we had to change rooms because the first room did NOT have hot water at all. Do not get a room in the back of the hotel. We made another room move when hotel guests were smoking marijuana outside our room. Hotel employees were very understanding when we requested room changes BOTH times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to provide us your feedback. We appreciate all feedback as it will help us to improve our operation. We take all our guest comments, concerns and suggestions seriously and we will look in to the issues you mentioned and correct any deficiencies we find. We are glad to hear that staff was friendly and helpful and you liked the new decor of the rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz

Great Travel connection site in Ventura/Oxnard.

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Updated room Comfortable bed Great connections for devices
Cons: Poor access to upper floors View of cement walls, consider planters in hallway to improve appearance?
Location: Channel Islands National Park Point Mugu Oxnard Shopping/movies/restaurants
The hotel is updated, all was clean and functioned well in the room. The hotel is from the 80's and has only one elevator. Had a room with a view of a wall but it was fine for a one night stay. It is a great place to be near Channel Island park and get on PCH. Also not far from shopping areas in Oxnard by highway 101. Friendly staff, typical generous breakfast. Has a pool. Liked our stay😀
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our renovated rooms, friendly service and the breakfast. Thank you for your suggestions and we will do our best to make those changes. Hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

This place really needs to be upgraded

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Don't stay here if you have no car. Rooms old and dated, plumbing didn't work despite requested repairs. Mold in bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kelly, Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. We will look in to the issues you mentioned and correct any deficiencies we find. We did a complete renovation of our rooms last year and most of our guests enjoy the updated rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and near Freeway

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Nice location. Good value.
Cons: No
Location: Harbour
Outside is not reflective of the inside. Old building renovated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paso robles, ca

La Quinta?

Posted Jul 27, 2016
I have always thought of La Quinta chain as being an excellent mid price alternative. This hotel was good enough. Room was clean and comfortable but the outside is in desperate need of maintenance. Litter on the floors, trash overflowing, hot tub green, gum on the floors, etc. La Quinta needs to do a quality check of this hotel and bring it up to standards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gallup, NM

It gets the job done

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Me and my family recently stayed here and the hotel was adequate. Our first night was a challenge as the hotel was booked to capacity and our room AC was not working properly so switching rooms was not possible. The second night was much better as we were moved to a room with working AC. The breakfast was very basic, coffee, juice, cold cereals, waffles, toast, bagels, yogurt and fruit. While it seems all the hotels in the Ventura/Oxnard are pricey this one was about middle of the road. My hats off to the very accommodating staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Okay hotel needs updating

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Staff was very friendly, helpful. Building is outdated, needs maintenance. Rooms were okay for a one nights sleep. Clean and comfortable. Lighting in bathroom is horrible Wal Mart lighting. Things such as lighting can be improved for guest comfort. Didn't stay for the free breakfast but did see it when checking out and it looked good for a free breakfast, lots of choices. Hotel is just okay. Not worth what we paid.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room smelled

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: staff was nice.
Our room had a strong smell of cigarette smoke and my brothers room was the same.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that staff was nice and helpful. I am sorry to hear that room had a smell of smoke. I have shared your comments with the housekeeping staff and we will make sure the room is treated if there is an unpleasant smell.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Restroom smell to strong pi

Posted Jul 15, 2016
A neighbor has a dog and barking so much that woke me up early.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 3 star hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Expedia rated this as 3.5 which I thought was worth the price, now it's telling me 2.5, and my maps program rated it a 2 which I didn't discover until I was on the way. So I feel it was overpriced in the end. The room was clean but the outside was very dirty and the layout of the room inconvenient. Different lightbulbs kept going out while we were there and needed replacing--not a big deal but sort of annoying. I liked the location next to freeways and very close to the beach. Continental breakfast had a wide variety of options. Was understaffed and understocked at busy times at the front desk, breakfast and pool (towels).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by LQ0655GM, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We appreciate all feedback as it will help us to improve our operation. Expedia guest rating for the hotel is based on guest experience which is 3.5 as majority of our guest had a positive experience at the hotel. The Star rating of 2.5 is based on different amenities a hotel provides. These two ratings may not be the same as guest may rate a hotel with the overall experience they have vs. number of amenities a hotel has. I have shared your comments with the staff and once again thanks for providing us with your feedback.