Ratings based on 1,341 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Escondido

Trending Down Hill

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Not much this time.
Cons: Management and staff really need to do a better job at least seeing that everything in the room works, pick up the trash, etc.
Location: Well there is a lot to do nearby, from the historic adobe to the events at the fairground. and Mission San Buenaventura and the museum.
This was my third stay here. Gave it okay ratings before but the renovations still haven't been started. This time there was no heat in the jacuzzi, I had to wait at an empty front desk for a while because they were apparently short handed. The trash was overflowing when I arrived and still hadn't been emptied the following day when I left. I am almost deathly allergic to cats and there was a cat in one of the rooms. Next door was a dog that was left behind when the people went out for all evening and it whined and howled the whole 2 1/2 hours they were gone. The room was clean, but the coffee maker was missing a critical part and several of the plugs didn't work. There was trash around the grounds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south lake tahoe, ca

Average

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Average room, bathroom was a bit dirty, but it was quiet!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sancho, Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. I am extremely sorry to hear that there was a cleanliness issue with the bathroom. I have shared your comments with the housekeeping staff and we will look in to this issue. Thank you for letting us know
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
een goed hotel voor de prijs en ligt vlakbij la en het strand
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016
?????????? it was nice ?????????????????????????? it was nice ??????????????????
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Unclean~ no rest

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Room 109 had poor A/C Was stinky when we first entered ~ marijuana The bathtub was horrific Very bad experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rinna, Thank you for giving us your feedback. I am extremely sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. I have shared your comments with the staff and we will fix any deficiencies we find. Thanks again for your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The rooms smell of smoke

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Distance to Ventura harbor and Bed/pillow confort
Cons: Please keep smoking/non-smoking rooms separate!!! the rooms smell terrible! The breakfast room location, it is too small and gets crowded
Location: Ventura harbor to Channel Island
This is my first time stay in La Quinta hotel chain, and not happy with it. When we arrived for checkin, they dint even ask for smoking/non-smoking preference and gave us a room. The room smelled terrible! we couldnt breath even for a second, had to wait outside! The strongest smell of smoke! We called the front desk and they changed our room, the new room had smoke smell too!!! but 90% reduced from the previous one! We were too tired to change room again, so kept the door open for a while for the smell to subside. No body lotion, the soap wasn't that good either. When they cleaned the room they dint keep a spare toilet roll, had to run down to get one! The only good part was the bed and pillow comfort. The room was clean. Breakfast was the usual, not too bad, but super crowded. The space in breakfast room is not sufficient for so many people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. I am extremely sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. We want to provide our guest with home away from home experience and we do our best to achieve that goal. I understand your frustration with room smells like smoke. We have very limited amount of smoking rooms. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are not in the same area. However, we will look in to this issue and double check our non-smoking rooms. I have shared your comments with the staff and we will correct any issues we find. Thanks again for your time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Bra info om at vi kunne avbestille videre avtalte netter, uten å betale for mer
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. It seems like you cancelled the reservation. Let us know if there are any issues and we will make sure to correct them.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fountain Valley, CA

Never again!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, new decor of rooms and lobby.
Cons: fix issue with hot water, fix the bathroom's ventilation fans to help eliminate bathroom odors
Hotel rooms and lobby are nicely updated, except the bathroom area. I failed to notice when I booked the hotel on Expedia that dogs were allowed, so be careful where you walk. Not all dog owners are responsible. There was dog mess in the parking stalls. The room smelled as soon as I opened the door and the bathroom smelled too (dampness of shower curtain perhaps). Every time I showered, it took a while for the water to warm up. In fact, we had to change rooms because the first room did NOT have hot water at all. Do not get a room in the back of the hotel. We made another room move when hotel guests were smoking marijuana outside our room. Hotel employees were very understanding when we requested room changes BOTH times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to provide us your feedback. We appreciate all feedback as it will help us to improve our operation. We take all our guest comments, concerns and suggestions seriously and we will look in to the issues you mentioned and correct any deficiencies we find. We are glad to hear that staff was friendly and helpful and you liked the new decor of the rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz

Great Travel connection site in Ventura/Oxnard.

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Updated room Comfortable bed Great connections for devices
Cons: Poor access to upper floors View of cement walls, consider planters in hallway to improve appearance?
Location: Channel Islands National Park Point Mugu Oxnard Shopping/movies/restaurants
The hotel is updated, all was clean and functioned well in the room. The hotel is from the 80's and has only one elevator. Had a room with a view of a wall but it was fine for a one night stay. It is a great place to be near Channel Island park and get on PCH. Also not far from shopping areas in Oxnard by highway 101. Friendly staff, typical generous breakfast. Has a pool. Liked our stay😀
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our renovated rooms, friendly service and the breakfast. Thank you for your suggestions and we will do our best to make those changes. Hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

This place really needs to be upgraded

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Don't stay here if you have no car. Rooms old and dated, plumbing didn't work despite requested repairs. Mold in bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kelly, Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. We will look in to the issues you mentioned and correct any deficiencies we find. We did a complete renovation of our rooms last year and most of our guests enjoy the updated rooms.