Ratings based on 701 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Walking distance from hotel to the Ventura pier and to the beach
Cons: You will feel comfortable. Next to the hotel is a restaurant serving a good breakfast.
Location: Easy access to the fwy to Santa Barbara or Los Angeles
The room was very clean and definitely will stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Don't stay here!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Close to the pier and shops.
Cons: Everything!
Location: Really sketchy neighborhood but nice walk to the pier.
When I went to check in the lady with blonde hair was rude. She was fixing her computer but never said hi or acknowledged me when I walked in till minutes later. The people staying in the room next to us were fighting and smoking marjijuana outside and they even fought in the morning. There is NO security at this motel. I woke up the neighbors fighting and minutes later a lady was walking the parking lot wrapped in a blanket screaming at another guy. Staff never came out and NO security. Kids in the pool were scared of this crazy lady! Also the beds were so uncomfortable! This place does not have a continental breakfast. All it was was poptarts, weak coffee, granola bars and stale packaged Danishes. The only thing good about this place is the location. Nice walk to the pier and shops.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Maronee Baker, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting me know about your stay with us. I will address the issue that you brought up about the clerk at check in. Best regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Prior Lake, MN

On the beach near great food

Posted Oct 11, 2016
First time in Ventura, our stay was awesome! The hotel was perfect for what we needed. Only there to sleep, spend most of our time outside sightseeing and on the beach! The walls are thin so if you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs. Didn't matter to us as we were up at dawn to catch the sunrise a short walk to the pier. Room was very small like a studio apt (I liked it) and there was a mini fridge, huge plus! The shower is a bit small, if you are 6 foot tall it is awkward as it is short, we were on the ground floor room. A really fun little town, locals are very nice and talkative. Very laid back and enjoyable atmosphere (don't be in a hurry, you will wait a lot) There is a resturant connected to the hotel and it's perfect for breakfast, good coffee and eggs. Very friendly staff. There is a little taco stand called mackenzies that is amazing as well as a window service Mexican place called Corrales both excellent. The pier is right behind the hotel, just walk across the short pedestrian bridge over the freeway. Many great little bars and resturants (Ventiki) a short walk up toward the downtown area. The cross park is a great morning hike a 5 min drive from hotel to see the whole city and ocean mountain views. I recommend this hotel, loved it! The beach we thought was the best - Buenaventura. I would most definitely come back, I didn't want to leave!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ca

It Will Do

Posted Oct 11, 2016
As a stop over spot in Ventura, the Vagabond will do. Its inexpensive relative to others in the area, close to the freeway and has its own restaurant on premises. Not a long term hotel, but it will do for a rest stop.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Nice and close to the fairgrounds.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Booking was easy. Easy access from street. Room was clean and quiet. Pay per view tv would have been nice. Hot free breakfast would have been nicer. Parking was kind of sketchy in back of hotel. Other than that, very pleased with stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 Gehminuten zum Strand / Für eine Nacht OK

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Nähe zum Strand (5 Minuten zu Fuss), Sauberkeit, Pool
Cons: Frühstück war eher ein Snack, fehlender Frühstücksraum, direkte Umgebung eher uninteressant
Location: Strandnähe
Haben für eine Nacht gebucht, nach einem langen Fahrtag. Kamen kurz vor Sonnenuntergang an und konnten nach einem kurzen Fussweg einen tollen Sonnenuntergang am Strand geniessen. Das Zimmer war ok. Es war sauber und hatte alles was wir brauchten (Kühlschrank, Fön, Klimaanlage). Bad hatte ein Fenster. Der Pool war sauber und gepflegt. Das Frühstück entsprach eher einem Snack. Es gab nur abgepackte Croissants (bzw. andere süße Teilchen) und Toasties mit Marmelade. Dazu noch Müsliriegel und Oatmeal mit Wasser. Das ganze neben der Rezeption ohne Sitzmöglichkeiten. Das Frühstück musste dann ins Zimmer getragen werden. Um einigermaßen satt zu werden mussten wir den Weg 3 mal gehen. Im Hotel nächtigen scheinbar häufiger einheimische Arbeiter, wodurch es Abends vielleicht ein bisschen lauter werden könnte, da sich diese im Innenhof unterhielten und auch scheinbar Gäste empfangen. Dadurch fühlten wir uns aber nicht gestört. Am nächsten Morgen kam uns im Innenhof auf dem Weg zum "Frühstück" eine offensichtlich unter Drogen stehende Frau entgegen, was uns etwas unangenehm war. Für eine Nacht ist das Hotel okay. Die Fußnähe zum schönen Strand war für uns der größte Pluspunkt. Auf dem Pier gabs eine kleine Surferbar, in der man wunderbar mexikanisch mit Blick aufs Meer essen konnte.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016
the hotel was clean, close to downtown restaurants,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Clean, spacious rooms, friendly staff, and close to train station, downtown, and shoreline
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Helpful staff, great location, spacious tidy rooms
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Nice hotel close to the beach I stay here every tw

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Nice hotel close to the beach I stay here every two weeks to visit family and for business I recommend