Ratings based on 800 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to both Ventura and Santa Barbara

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: location for our visit since we were seeing people in two cities
Only problem was housekeeping didn't clean coffee pot; no washcloths.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic, comfortable motel close to beach

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Wonderful staff; comfortable rooms/bed; good restaurant; pool and hot tub.
Cons: Some items need replacing: carpeting, lamps, small table.
Very clean room/bathroom; bed was extremely comfortable. In-room coffee, fridge, and microwave and included breakfast served in lobby. Restaurant as well, with very good food. Hot tub and pool were great, and beach close by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Definitely Economy motel

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness of the room.
Cons: See my comments above.
Location: It is well situated to the beach and downtown area.
I was originally staying for 3 days, but had to cut it down to two days. The room itself was clean; rug was really stained. Front desk personnel very helpful. The general configuration of guests were more on the lower spectrum and a little questionable. As the motel is about 200 feet from the train tracks, you obviously hear the train several times a day/night. With that also brings some nefarious characters that hang out near the train tracks. So, this was OK for a "one-off" time for me, but would probably find something more appealing in the area for my next trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

Not sure how this hotel has such a high review!!

Posted May 8, 2017
Lady at front desk durring check in did not seem interested in checking us in! Got the room and it smelled of cigarette smoke so bad they had opened the window to try and air it out. The beds were old and rough, the room was seperated by a 6 foot wall ao the air conditioning cooled the bathroom and sink room. Base board heating was odd in a hotel! All out door hallways but I expect that in an older hotel. Then there was "the free Breakfast!" A toaster and some oj and milk, not exactly what I call breakfast! Sad part is that there is a restaurant on property! The price was not bad for the stay but sp nd the extra 20$ a night and stay at the hampton inn!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too close to train tracks, rug cleanliness an issu

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Close to beach
Cons: Need to remodel and upgrade sound proofing.
Location: CA beach and Channel Island National Park.
Too noisy, you can hear the TV from the next room not to mention the train that came by several times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ML, CA

Great location.

Posted May 3, 2017
Everything in the room worked. I've stayed in the harbor pay twice the price more than once, and had things not working. Not that I spend a lot of time in the room. But when you're paying for it, you want the TV, the refrigerator, the air conditioning all to work. So far so good, keep up the good work .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Close to downtown Ventura and beaches.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Cheaper than most and close to beaches.
Cons: Refreshed rooms, cleaner carpets. Happier staff to greet when checking in.
Location: Close to downtown area with beaches close by.
Very noisy. I could hear people all around me until very late. Super thin walls and the train was right next to hotel. It went by many times. Check in lady did not seem happy and computer system was very slow.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las cruces nm

basic

Posted May 1, 2017
Although this hotel is in a good location I must say the hotel it's self needs some updating. Our room was not bad except for the old smoke smell and extreme chemical smell from cleaners trying to cover the smoke. The hot tub was also quite filthy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 min walk to the beach.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Very nice place and close to the beach. The staff is very friendly. To go to the beach from, one has to go through the rear side of the hotel. The rear side looks a bit suspicious but is generally safe during the daytime.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
The area was nice, great that my dog could come. The room was not the cleanest, very dirty carpets, questionable bed sheets and trash under the beds...