Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southaven, MS

THIS PLACE IS GREAT!

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Pros: The rooms are huge, some with jacuzzi's and full kitchens, lots of windows for very nice sunset views
Cons: The weekly rates are a little high
Location: Its very close to the beach, and stores, restaurants, the freeway. Lots of nice little shops nearby
i travel to Ventura once a month for work,and i stay here EVERY time! the staff is great! the rooms are amazing! Full kitchens, and baths. I stay in a different room each time, and each one is uniquely different but always immaculate, and the MOST comfortable memory foam mattress on the bed makes for a very restful sleep. It is quiet and close to the beach and shopping, retaurants. Its a great place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

I LOVE THIS PLACE!

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Super friendly staff! Rooms are amazing! BEST hotel in the area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the nicest ones for the price!

Posted Jun 30, 2015
I stayed here for three days and it was great. The fact they have a full kitchen was really helpful, and everything works: the fridge, freezer, oven, microwave, etc. There is a huge tv with cable and their wifi is pretty quick. It's by the beach and the mall too. Highly recommended. The only con would be that their AC wasn't too strong. You can feel it throughout the room only after it's on for four or five hours. Book it here !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas.nv

Big mistake.

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Terrible pillows,uncomfortable beds.people making noise all night long.management no kelp at allwould never stay there again.it's a shame because it's a good location.haave never been to ventura but now i Know why.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vero Beach, FL

Good place to stay for the Clif Bar Marathon!

Posted May 29, 2015
So, on a normal day, I can't say I would recommend this motel over other hotels. Here are the pros: clean, lots of space, kitchen area with full fridge, nice TV, there is a woman at the front office who is very friendly, it is super close to the CLIF Bar Mountains to Beach race location. Here are the cons: very outdated, room smelled like smoke when not aired, there is a man at the front office who is not the most friendly, motel is not really in a great location if you don't have a car. When I say outdated, I mean, it definitely needs an overhaul. I pulled back the comforter on the bed and immediately saw two holes from cigarette burns on the underside of the comforter, but they obviously just used it anyway. It's a fine place for necessity but I wouldn't choose it over a nicer hotel for the price of one was coming for a longer vacation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A functional sleep.

Posted May 25, 2015
I only stayed here as there was a local marathon. Room clean enough. Although covered the pillow with my hoodie. Carpet ripped. Kitchenette cupboards damaged. Drawer missing. And I think I could see an orange needle tip in the sink drain!!. You get what you pay for. A bit scary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield,CA

Amazing for it's price.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: How quiet it was at night. Some bigger hotels are loud outside at night.
Cons: Maybe some new blankets. Ours had burn marks on them.
Location: Just a short drive to the beach, downtown, and to the freeway. Was within walking distance to a few good local favorite restaurants.
My boyfriend and I were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to stay in Ventura. We picked the Viking Motel because we are college students and can't afford much. What a surprise this little gem turned out to be. It was quiet, clean, and had plenty of amenities. The bonus was the full kitchen the room included.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Fair value in Ventura

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Reasonably priced, new large TV, bed was decent.
Cons: Entire facility needs upgrade, tired.
Location: Ventura Beach and Premium Outlets
Much of motel needs upgrade, but new, large TV screen and a/c works well. Large room with working kitchen, large refrig., stove. Decently priced for the area. Food market nearby. Ventura Beach was great! Near the Premium Outlets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little place

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Cool, big room with full kitchen. Everything just needs to be updated. Also cleaned better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange, CA

A Sweet Neat Economical Stay

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: good prices, nice couple running the place, cleanliness, nice decor, quiet, cute kitchen and nice jacuzzi.
Cons: not needed
Location: good shopping and restaurants ...beautiful pacific ocean. convenient to the 101 freeway
The Viking Motel is nice and clean/ heating was good, cute little kitchen, nice clean tub in bath...beds were comfortable and the jacuzzi in the room was delightful for my husband and I.