Ratings based on 1,201 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from High Desert

Save 75 and drive down the street to motel 6 Yike!

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: I liked the bartender.Oh ya that's right.She had to do room service also,and probably you had her after work doing housekeeping for one low price.
Cons: If your going to have the owners daughter controlling the hotel,just saying,at least get her some industry hospitality training
the view I was promised were power lines,and service street traffic noise.A non smoking facility with no receptacle ,so cig butts were in the foliage around the entrance.The grounds weren't kept.No vending machines.In fact the bar had no soda.Disabled,unable to receive a ground floor room anywhere in this vast complex.The luggage carts are disgusting.This place had one person,to run the bar,room service,whatever..I had to have a person come to the room because the heater didn't work.Once I was assured it worked I watched how the temperature went down throughout the night.My wife covered me with there filmy blanket,because I looked cold sleeping.I had set the thermostat to 74,when I woke the room was 67.This guy had to get behind the refrigerator to turn that up ,it never got cold I told him it looked like the thing was broken ,because the coil was frozen and the temperature was perhaps 55.I tried to use a usb port from the back of the tv,that didn't work.I'm under the table plugging in devices,because there's no set networking location,so I have things plugged in all over the room,sitting on the floors,etc.The hair blower cord is so short I had to stand directly over the toilet paper holder,just below you know what.For this to be right by me,this place would have to give a free room,the best view and dinner,otherwise I have no use at this price to revisit.These people know that there hotel has some issues and made no attempt to offer anything to compensate for the shortcoming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

All staff are wonderful, very accommodating

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Dorothy B. Hotel manager help me out with my last minute work related issue to comply the requirements before I can comeback to work. She downloaded the form for me to take it to live scan fingerprint. She gave me add and direction where to go bcoz i don't know the place. Joshua, front desk staff is amazing, He welcomed us with a great smile, very professional, compassionate, and let us checked in - in advance. Over all experience is awesome. Very clean room and nice environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Comfortable stay. Beds are great! Only negative comment is that there are no elevators however staff will help with luggage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riverside. ca

classic hotel, close to beach

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The staff is very friendly and we had a magnificent view of the ocean from multiple windows in our room.
Location: We like to bicycle and the bike trail along the coast can be accessed right next to the hotel.
We have stayed here a number of times and love its charm. If you are looking for a fancy, fluffy hotel, this may not be the place for you. We love it because it has perfect access to the beach and it is comforting in an old fashioned sort of way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Historic Hotel on the Ocean

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Proximity to beach, restaurants, etc., character of the hotel (Craftsman style).
Cons: Maybe upgrade to double-pane windows in the bedroom of room 103 so you don't hear the 101 traffic noise as much. A/C unit squeaks.
Location: Walk to the beach/pier, drive to Harbor Village for dinner and an ice cream cone at the Coastal Cone, visit Mission San Buenaventura and walk downtown
We checked in on Super Bowl Sunday, so since the hotel wasn't busy, the nice clerk at the front desk, Dorothy, upgraded us to a beautiful Craftsman 2-room suite (#103) with a fireplace and ocean view! It felt like a little apartment. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel itself was across the street from Buenaventura Beach. (If you don't want to walk from the hotel, there is a free little parking lot under the freeway just down the street on Sanjon where you have quicker access to the beach). It's also close to restaurants, downtown, Harbor Village, etc. It's an historic property, built in 1910, so there were a few minor maintenance issues, but over all in great condition - plus they were remodeling some rooms while we were there. Our only complaint would be that it's right on the 101 freeway, so you do hear the constant freeway noise. But I noticed there were earplugs available in the bedroom. We had a wonderful time and would definitely come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick overnight stay in Ventura

Posted Feb 4, 2017
The hotel room was updated, clean and spacious. We had a corner room which was nice because we had minimal shared walls. However, there are old pipes in the walls because the hotel is 100 years old and when water was running next door there was a high pitched squeal from the pipes the whole time. That was unfortunate and would have to be addressed on our next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Needs renovation!

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pictures in the website don't match current conditions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great hotel, Excellent food

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We always enjoy our stay at The Pierpont Inn. In the past, we have gone off site to one of the many local restaurants to eat. Never again! We enjoyed dinner at Austen's and the food, service and view is excellent. Can't wait to get back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not too far away from LA

Posted Jan 27, 2017
It was a last minute trip to get away from everything and everyone bit yet close enough to come back home to LA to have dinner with the family. The place is awesome very, very close to the beach and close to a lot of restaurants in downtown Ventura. Staff was great, Dorothy who helped is check in was amazing, once she heard it was my woman's birthday she was nice enough to offer a complimentary upgrade with a beach view. They even had free chocolate chip cookies at registration (fat man problems). Overall wish we had more time to spend at the hotel, but now we know of a little hidden gem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B.C. canada

Too close to the highway,very noisy

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Breakfasts were nice in the dining room and the staff was very pleasant
Location: You can walk to the beach
We had asked for a quiet room when we booked but we didn't know it was so close to a highway