Ratings based on 1,220 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dc

Please don't smoke in room

Posted Apr 23, 2017
I love this hotel. Right across the higway is the beach. A great view for sunrise to sunset. It's a nice town. Close to the shoreline of Malibu and Santa Monica. The rooms were comfty and didn't smell like smoke. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. I'll be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Spacious rooms with ocean view

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: View, location, local eats and amenities, easy access to harbor and freeway. Friendly staff, comfortable and clean rooms, good wifi connection.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We went to the Channel Islands Visitor Center and took a trip to Santa Cruz Island. We ate at a local spot, played on the beach, and watched surfers.
Don't let negative reviews scare you off from this great spot! We read both good and bad reviews and we took a chance anyway, and I'm so glad we did. There is no way you can get an ocean view of any kind with this quality of service at this price. We reserved a standard room but since it was mid-week with so-so weather, it was not busy and we were offered an upgrade. We ended up with room 302, a suite that fit our family of 5 much more comfortably with a sofa pull-out in an adjoining room with its own TV. We had a microwave and mini fridge, ample furniture, storage, closet, and bathroom space. Both rooms are bigger than an average hotel, had a wonderful view of the manicured grounds, and the ocean right across the road (just ignore the 101). Yes, this hotel is old, but historic is a more accurate term. Yes, the 101 freeway distracts from the experience, but the hotel was there before the 101, and they can hardly be blamed for that. The grounds are truly beautiful, the pool was warm and super clean, our kids had a blast in it. The restaurant (Austen's) had an inviting menu, but a bit too pricy with kids in tow that have not developed good taste yet! Would definitely go there if it were just the two of us though, it has great reviews and smells so good walking by! There is renovation work going on, but it had no impact on our stay, we only saw some workers and supplies in a small area of the parking lot. If you're a hotel snob, then go ahead and pay more elsewhere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Beautiful view

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Beautiful craftsman room 103. This room is 100% craftsman added onto original hotel in 1954. This room has fantastic views of the ocean. Freeway can be loud at times but hotel does have earplugs that are provided for the light sleeper. Short walk to the beach. The pier is a 5 minute walk away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: The people
Cons: Interior of rooms, patio glass needed cleaning, stairwells and second floor walkways
Traveling for business, brief overnight stay. Beautiful view of water
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from High Desert

Save 75 and drive down the street to motel 6 Yike!

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: I liked the bartender.Oh ya that's right.She had to do room service also,and probably you had her after work doing housekeeping for one low price.
Cons: If your going to have the owners daughter controlling the hotel,just saying,at least get her some industry hospitality training
the view I was promised were power lines,and service street traffic noise.A non smoking facility with no receptacle ,so cig butts were in the foliage around the entrance.The grounds weren't kept.No vending machines.In fact the bar had no soda.Disabled,unable to receive a ground floor room anywhere in this vast complex.The luggage carts are disgusting.This place had one person,to run the bar,room service,whatever..I had to have a person come to the room because the heater didn't work.Once I was assured it worked I watched how the temperature went down throughout the night.My wife covered me with there filmy blanket,because I looked cold sleeping.I had set the thermostat to 74,when I woke the room was 67.This guy had to get behind the refrigerator to turn that up ,it never got cold I told him it looked like the thing was broken ,because the coil was frozen and the temperature was perhaps 55.I tried to use a usb port from the back of the tv,that didn't work.I'm under the table plugging in devices,because there's no set networking location,so I have things plugged in all over the room,sitting on the floors,etc.The hair blower cord is so short I had to stand directly over the toilet paper holder,just below you know what.For this to be right by me,this place would have to give a free room,the best view and dinner,otherwise I have no use at this price to revisit.These people know that there hotel has some issues and made no attempt to offer anything to compensate for the shortcoming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

All staff are wonderful, very accommodating

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Dorothy B. Hotel manager help me out with my last minute work related issue to comply the requirements before I can comeback to work. She downloaded the form for me to take it to live scan fingerprint. She gave me add and direction where to go bcoz i don't know the place. Joshua, front desk staff is amazing, He welcomed us with a great smile, very professional, compassionate, and let us checked in - in advance. Over all experience is awesome. Very clean room and nice environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Comfortable stay. Beds are great! Only negative comment is that there are no elevators however staff will help with luggage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riverside. ca

classic hotel, close to beach

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The staff is very friendly and we had a magnificent view of the ocean from multiple windows in our room.
Location: We like to bicycle and the bike trail along the coast can be accessed right next to the hotel.
We have stayed here a number of times and love its charm. If you are looking for a fancy, fluffy hotel, this may not be the place for you. We love it because it has perfect access to the beach and it is comforting in an old fashioned sort of way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Historic Hotel on the Ocean

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Proximity to beach, restaurants, etc., character of the hotel (Craftsman style).
Cons: Maybe upgrade to double-pane windows in the bedroom of room 103 so you don't hear the 101 traffic noise as much. A/C unit squeaks.
Location: Walk to the beach/pier, drive to Harbor Village for dinner and an ice cream cone at the Coastal Cone, visit Mission San Buenaventura and walk downtown
We checked in on Super Bowl Sunday, so since the hotel wasn't busy, the nice clerk at the front desk, Dorothy, upgraded us to a beautiful Craftsman 2-room suite (#103) with a fireplace and ocean view! It felt like a little apartment. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel itself was across the street from Buenaventura Beach. (If you don't want to walk from the hotel, there is a free little parking lot under the freeway just down the street on Sanjon where you have quicker access to the beach). It's also close to restaurants, downtown, Harbor Village, etc. It's an historic property, built in 1910, so there were a few minor maintenance issues, but over all in great condition - plus they were remodeling some rooms while we were there. Our only complaint would be that it's right on the 101 freeway, so you do hear the constant freeway noise. But I noticed there were earplugs available in the bedroom. We had a wonderful time and would definitely come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick overnight stay in Ventura

Posted Feb 4, 2017
The hotel room was updated, clean and spacious. We had a corner room which was nice because we had minimal shared walls. However, there are old pipes in the walls because the hotel is 100 years old and when water was running next door there was a high pitched squeal from the pipes the whole time. That was unfortunate and would have to be addressed on our next visit.