Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riverside. ca

classic hotel, close to beach

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The staff is very friendly and we had a magnificent view of the ocean from multiple windows in our room.
Location: We like to bicycle and the bike trail along the coast can be accessed right next to the hotel.
We have stayed here a number of times and love its charm. If you are looking for a fancy, fluffy hotel, this may not be the place for you. We love it because it has perfect access to the beach and it is comforting in an old fashioned sort of way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Historic Hotel on the Ocean

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Proximity to beach, restaurants, etc., character of the hotel (Craftsman style).
Cons: Maybe upgrade to double-pane windows in the bedroom of room 103 so you don't hear the 101 traffic noise as much. A/C unit squeaks.
Location: Walk to the beach/pier, drive to Harbor Village for dinner and an ice cream cone at the Coastal Cone, visit Mission San Buenaventura and walk downtown
We checked in on Super Bowl Sunday, so since the hotel wasn't busy, the nice clerk at the front desk, Dorothy, upgraded us to a beautiful Craftsman 2-room suite (#103) with a fireplace and ocean view! It felt like a little apartment. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel itself was across the street from Buenaventura Beach. (If you don't want to walk from the hotel, there is a free little parking lot under the freeway just down the street on Sanjon where you have quicker access to the beach). It's also close to restaurants, downtown, Harbor Village, etc. It's an historic property, built in 1910, so there were a few minor maintenance issues, but over all in great condition - plus they were remodeling some rooms while we were there. Our only complaint would be that it's right on the 101 freeway, so you do hear the constant freeway noise. But I noticed there were earplugs available in the bedroom. We had a wonderful time and would definitely come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick overnight stay in Ventura

Posted Feb 4, 2017
The hotel room was updated, clean and spacious. We had a corner room which was nice because we had minimal shared walls. However, there are old pipes in the walls because the hotel is 100 years old and when water was running next door there was a high pitched squeal from the pipes the whole time. That was unfortunate and would have to be addressed on our next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Needs renovation!

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pictures in the website don't match current conditions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great hotel, Excellent food

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We always enjoy our stay at The Pierpont Inn. In the past, we have gone off site to one of the many local restaurants to eat. Never again! We enjoyed dinner at Austen's and the food, service and view is excellent. Can't wait to get back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not too far away from LA

Posted Jan 27, 2017
It was a last minute trip to get away from everything and everyone bit yet close enough to come back home to LA to have dinner with the family. The place is awesome very, very close to the beach and close to a lot of restaurants in downtown Ventura. Staff was great, Dorothy who helped is check in was amazing, once she heard it was my woman's birthday she was nice enough to offer a complimentary upgrade with a beach view. They even had free chocolate chip cookies at registration (fat man problems). Overall wish we had more time to spend at the hotel, but now we know of a little hidden gem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B.C. canada

Too close to the highway,very noisy

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Breakfasts were nice in the dining room and the staff was very pleasant
Location: You can walk to the beach
We had asked for a quiet room when we booked but we didn't know it was so close to a highway
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel w/some upgrades.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The hotel is nice with a few upgrades. The staff was outstanding. They are in the process of a full remodel it sounded like. The only drawback was the noise from the freeway but I pretended it was the crashing waves of the ocean which is close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quartz Hill, Ca.

Beautiful location

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Welcoming check in, great room with a view, room very comfortable. The restaurant on site was pricey for dinner, I had the filet mignon at $32.00, but it was worth every penny. It cut like butter, done exactly to my specifications. Seasonal vegetables were great, and I had the best chocolate Milton lava cake ever- it has been naked in a water bath. Breakfast was less expensive, but great. Don't miss the roses!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice Hotel Close to the Beach

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: - Room - Restraurant & dining - Grounds - Staff - Location
Cons: A minor point but the room would be large enough to accommodate a chair and ottoman in the corner so that two people could sit in the room.
Location: Great location, very close to the beach, town of Ventura & freeways to Santa Barbara, Los Angeles & Ojai.
Although the original hotel was built some time ago, the room had been renovated. Although spare, the room was large and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. On-site dining was superior to hotels if equal classification and on par with full service hotels in major cities. Food was very good and prices were reasonable. Best of all, we have a panoramic view of ocean. All of the staff were pleasant, helpful & welcoming.