Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Earth

Large rooms and private

Posted Jun 15, 2017
It's old and a bit dark but the feeling of privacy is there to make it like a home for long stays. It's now closed and hopefully not permanently or for a remodel that will make the prices go up. The staff was always helpful. Hopefully the workers are paid for their time off from work considering it's not their fault they lost their jobs. But it's Mexico and labor has no protection there and that's why so many Mexicans make the journey north to the United States. Hopefully Trump is a 4 year blunder and everything he does is overturned.
4 out of 5
by Francisco

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel is old and the beds are hard and not comfortable. Very nice location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but not a good place to stay.

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is outdated, the mattress was as hard as wood, couldn't even sleep. I don't think I would stay agai.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Location, Location, Location

Posted Dec 2, 2016
On the Zocalo, in the heart of Veracruz's historical district.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Elvira, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comments, Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right in downtown in old Veracruz city

Posted Apr 28, 2016
The hotel needs a good updates, really old TV , old paint , old beds .... The noise was my fault Los Portales are right there and I forgot how the locals party lol
2 out of 5
by Monica C

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Pete, FL

Nice hotel in the heart of Veracruz

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: Hotel is a little outdated.
Location: The Bar Palacio, located outside the Hotel Colonial has great service and good food. You can enjoy live music every nigh.
I wanted to stay near the main square in Veracruz to enjoy the great nightlife in the port. I got a junior suite with a balcony looking into the square. Since we were on the fifth floor, noise was not an issue. We enjoyed our stay and will definitively stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Gregory from Morro bay

Location is great

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
Great location near the malecon and zocalo. Lots of activity. Very good restaurants nearby. The staff was very helpful. Very nice balcony on the upper floor with great views. Our room had an excellent view of the harbor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

My prepaid guarenteed room wasn't

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: It has a good location if they haven't sold your room out from under your prepaid reservation .
Cons: Management
I prepaid and reserved for late arrival 4 weeks in advance and when I arrived at 7:00 pm my room was rented to 3rd parties, They did put me in a 1 star 14 by 12 foot double in a less safe part of Veracruz . I will never darken their door again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Night Overcharged!

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels
The Hotel is old, the outside doesn't match the inside. It needs an emergency update! It's location is in low-med end neighborhood, although it's in the downtown. You have to call the operator to get a hair drier or an iron! If you make online reservations, you better bring your printed receipt or they won't honor your reservation code. I'm sure we were overcharged!!