Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely disappointing - a mis-sold product .

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
The general amenities of the hotel were unavailable due to renovations. There was no restaurant, no communal areas in which to sit and no full time reception facilities. We travelled on the 23rd Nov. and were not informed before we travelled of the state of the hotel - when we returned on the 30th there was an email dated the 23rd telling of the limitations. If it hadn't been for our taxi driver from Malpensa airport we would have arrived in pouring rain and the hotel closed up - he 'phoned a contact number on our behalf to gain us access to our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Affordable location for exploring Lake Maggiore

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Excellent breakfast and friendly staff
Location: The Borromean Islands and Villa Taranto are must see local sights. The Lago Maggiore Express is great way to see the lake and mountains in the region.
Hotel Pesce D'Oro is located right on the shoreline of Lake Maggiore with superb views of the lake and mountains. It is easily accessible by bus from Milan Malpensa airport and about 1km from the ferry wharf at Pallanza. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, providing helpful advice and information on how to explore the regions many attractions. There are several restaurants and bars close by in Suna and many others a short walk away in Pallanza. Pesce D'Oro has its own excellent restaurant as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: It's position opposite the lake and nearby good bar and restaurants. Lovely air-conditioning bedroom with large sunny balcony.
Cons: Lack of parking. Can be noisy at night from ajoining bars/restaurants.
Location: Lovely attractive position opposite the lake.
Spent a very enjoyable three nights at hotel, friendly staff, very attractive location in beautiful area, lots to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from preston

Great position

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: See above
Good area for walking, seeing gardens and painting with beautiful views. Hotel staff were very friendly with excellent food
3 out of 5
by Behn from Lausanne

Nice small hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Rooms and bathrooms would need to be refreshed. Very small bathroom. Parking at night along the lake is a problem. Nice terrace with view on the lake for breakfast and dinner.
4 out of 5
by Sean

Greatllittle place with good breakfast.

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great value stay, right on the lake. Great selection at breakfast and helpful staff. Only downside is it can be a pain to park when busy but that can be said for most of Verbania.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
it's in a beautiful area, but sound proofing of the room was bad
5 out of 5
by Godelieve from Buccleuch, S Africa

Lago Maggiore marathon accommodation

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
Enjoyed staying in Pesce D'Oro. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. View from hotel on the lake was beautiful.
5 out of 5
by valerina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice, comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Location: The town is quite small. For a bigger, livelier town we would recommend Stressa (about 16kms to the south). Villa Balbianello is a must.
My wife and I stayed 3 nights B & B in the annexe block which is about 50 metres behind the main hotel. This was a bonus as the main hotel building is on the main coast road and is affected by traffic noise, particularly when it is hot and want to have the windows open at night. The annexe block room was very quiet, very spacious with a double and a single bed and a pleasant bathroom. The staff were all particularly friendly and helpful. Breakfast could be taken indoors or on the front terrace. It was buffet style with a perfectly acceptable selection of cold food and they kept the tables well stocked. We also ate dinner at the hotel on all 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed each meal. We considered this hotel to be good value for money and would happily recommend it.