Ratings based on 508 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scranton, PA

Hotel and Casomp Buffet

Posted Apr 18, 2018
The staff at every location were excellent and efficient. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The buffet at the casino had many choices and very good food.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2018
Sent us to a dirty room Resturaunts are what they were made out to be
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Only Hotel in Town

Posted Apr 10, 2018
Pros: Location to family and casino
Cons: Rooms need deep cleaning and staff needs training on hospitality standards.
Location: Casino
This is the first time I have ever done a review, and I never complain about anything. We have been going to Vernon Downs Casino for years, however this was the first time we stayed at the hotel on property. Whereas the casino and food has always been great, the hotel...not so much. The room was very dated, the carpet were not vacuumed for god knows how long, there was dried food and stains on carpet between beds. The headboards were just filthy. We went out and got cleaner to clean the basics including the mini fridge that was covered inside with melted ice cream. Coffee post had moldy dried grinds still in it. Pretty bad! The maid was very nice, but not overworked by any means. The beds were not made professionally, sheets not tucked in, everything wrinkled as if just came out of dryer, This is the only hotel in town and they are way overpriced for the what you get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Unadilla,NY

Very nice hotel Big rooms.

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Desk personnel were efficient and knowledgable. Check in and out was a breeze. No complaints at all. Staff goes betond to assist guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expected more

Posted Mar 3, 2018
Pros: Staff very friendly.... And when it's open.... The Casino!!!!!!!
Cons: Cleaner rooms
Location: Great rest. down the street on Hwy5, towards Utica, called the Black Stallion.
We have stayed here before..... But this was the worse. The room was not very clean, Sticky end table, Ice bucket cover was also sticky. floor could have been vacuumed better. We go for the casino experience. And due to a snow storm they closed it. Almost lost my mind.......Was not happy, had to spend the afternoon in our room. They finally opened Mr. G's (Bar and Rest.) at 4pm. till 8pm. At least we had some good food and some wine.... Over all a bad weekend.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Nice view comfortable bed shower was kinda slow but overall wasn't to.bad
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fulton, NY

One stop getaway

Posted Feb 12, 2018
We had a Valentine's Day getaway at Vernon Downs. We are not casino people per se, but had some fun there. Meals were reasonable. The rooms are large, well appointed and clean. Staff is world class. We stayed for two nights and felt secure and welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brockport NY

Excellent...very friendly staff, good food!

Posted Jan 22, 2018
It was very pleasant, great service. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2018 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2017 on Hotels