Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Being closed down and with good reason!

Posted Mar 13, 2015
I figured ... it's on the ocean, how bad can it be??? The location is great, everything else is totally gross! Rusty, dilapidated, church in the lobby?? Our shower didn't work... it WAS pretty clean ans smelled like bleach but everything is so old, it just looks dirty and yuck! Quality of a $50 per night room. They said they would be refunding a portion of my money because of the non-working shower by check, let's see! Weird, they had already charged my card when I went to check out (most hotels review the charges with you 1st, right?) The very friendly and helpful man at the front desk said the hotel had been sold and would be closed down the following week ... he had no idea what the new owners were going to do with the property. My suggestion would be to invest a few million in a complete renovation or tear it down and start over again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What is can never be again!

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: It's on the beach. Linnen was clean, they were casual and friendly.
Cons: Well!!! mute point now, but the rooms could have been cleaned better. It is shabby, but shappy doesn't have to be badly kept.
Location: I wasn't looking for things to do other than do a LOT of walking on the beach, eating sea food and drinking a little good wine and meeting firends.
This is an old hotel but had what I was looking for.... I wanted to step out of my room and onto the beach. Towles and linnen were clean and the staff I encountered were very nice people. But we will not be able to come here again as the hotel is sold and will become very expensive condos (5Mil each). I would love to come here again..... But where to stay?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Splendid ocean front view

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: The price was very affordable.
Cons: Some minor upkeep, like fresh paint, would spruce the rooms. We wished we could open windows to listen to the surf.
Location: The beach is spectacular. The hotel cafe had good breakfast and service. The Patio Restaurant has great food and live entertainment.
Great ocean front location. The hotel is comfortable. The staff was accommodating in providing extra towels and pillows. The rooms are adequate, but nothing luxurious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakeland, FL

Beach hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2015
This is an older property so the wind & salt have weathered the outside. The bed & bedding were fine, there was a small older model frig, microwave, coffee maker. Carpet needs updated. Cigarette smell from outside enters thru the AC unit. Take febreeze & your own fluffy towels. Right on the beach so I'd go back in the summer. Not much to do in that area but shop, eat, & go to the beach. Drive to other points of interest. If you like Hamptons & Hiltons you won't like this, but if you want a less pricey on-the-beach property, this is good for a short stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

last minute getaway

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: location
Overall it was OK NEEDS UPDATING & BUILDING MAINTENANCE
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto canada

Marginal for the cost

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The front desk staff were very accommodating.
Cons: Maintenance & upkeep in all areas.
Location: Some shops within driving distance.
It would appear that bare minimum is the standard, pool not vacuumed during the week, normal maintenance lacking all areas deteriorating. Only advantage, lowest cost on the beach in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close to the beach

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: The proximity to the beach. Refrigerator in the room and nice comfy bed
Cons: The outside looked a little shabby and our door was hard to open and close. There were no extra locks on the door other than the key entry lock
Nice hotel. No frills like complimentary breakfast but beautiful view of the beach and nice pool area. Very nice staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from marthas. vineyard

Right on the ocean. Nice to hear the surf at night

Posted Feb 2, 2015
No mattress pads on the bed. Very basic no art work. Liked tile floors. Staff helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Praire, TX

The hotel is right on the beach

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Right on beach and inexpensive
Cons: Put tile in the bedroom area and maybe replace sleeper sofa
Location: Two parks within walking distance
The manager and staff very nice and helpful. The room, and linens were clean. The room was big with a small fridge, coffee make, and kitchen sink. The sleeper sofa was old and worn looking but I suspect that was due to the beach residue that patrons bring in with them. The carpet by the bed area looked old and worn (but did NOT smell musty) and I think if they would have continued with the tile to the bedroom area the room would not looked as worn and old. No stains in the sinks or tub so that was good, the tile around shower was clean. When we were there it was very quite and no issues with rowdy parties etc. The hotel is very close to two park areas. Off the beach we walked to both parks. The park areas are very nice. all in all the hotel even though the rooms looked old they were a good value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Needs a facelift

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Location on the ocean.
Cons: Everything, was never so disappointed in all my years of travelling!
The mattress had broken springs, the chord on the coffee maker didn't reach an outlet unless it was placed on the floor and it looked like the only thing that had been remodeled since it was built was the new tile floor.