Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hannah from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK

Clean, friendly and in an excellent location

Posted Jun 12, 2012
Pros: The staff were brilliant - so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Location: Ideal loctaion - on a quiet street next to the Castelvecchio Museum but only a few minutes walk from the tourist attractions, shops and restaruants
We were pleasantly surprised to find that we had a large room with en suite, sitting room and kitchenette. Very comfortable and clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - really went out of their way to ensure we got the most out of our stay in Verona. Excellent location - a few minutes walk from The Arena and shops but on a quiet street with a stunning view of the Castelvecchio museum opposite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home away from home

Posted Jun 9, 2012
Pros: Good Location. Quiet. Clean. Felt Italian.
Cons: Lack of internet and English TV in room
Location: Near to centre without the commotion of centre. Good bus connections.
The hotel fulfilled all our expectations. I rated the staff 4 only because it seems the best place to inform the hotel owners that because the reception area (and consequently the computer) is open only a few hours on most days of the week the service of the hotel is lessened. We had to stand in the entrance hallway for wifi. When we were on day trips we missed a chance to use internet time. The reception staff was very willing to assist although the English of some was limited. We personally don't expect the whole world to speak English, but this is important point for some travellers to know in advance. We weren't looking for a luxury hotel. We wanted a clean convenient spot for a week in Verona. We are pensioners, prefer a chance to shop locally and eat in the apt once a day. Enjoyed the breakfast voucher - service in local cafe/bar for coffee and pastry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

A very good base

Posted Jul 30, 2011
This hotel is next door to Castelvecchio and very close to the amphitheatre and town centre. There are only minor gripes - the reception people are not always there, not even when they are meant to be. However they are very friendly and helpful. The decor is a bit dated but all very clean and confortable. The wifi service is very limited (or rather becomes costly after 15 minutes) but reception printed off my flight boarding passes which they didn't need to do. All in all, we'd be happy to go there again (in fact wouldn't really consider going elsewhere).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by fergus from scotland

A perfect base for the city centre.

Posted Jul 5, 2011
Our room was comfortable with old fashioned hand painted furniture, and a small shower room. The shower room is small but perfectly fine with new fittings. It was great having a small fridge in the room. The room was cleaned thoroughly every day, and we got clean towels every day. Beds v comfy. Air conditioning was excellent and very quiet. The 2 young women running the place were extremely helpful and were happy to chat. There was no problem leaving our stuff in the hotel until we got our train later in the afternoon. The location is great for taking the water buses on the Grand Canal, and you can walk to all the major sights in 15min. There is a lovely square just at the end of the little street where you can sit out. The only problem with the hotel is that there is no-where to sit out, but this is true of most hotels. It is nice sitting in the squares but of course you have to buy a drink to do this. There are very few squares with benches for the public to use, and the ones there are, are well used. We tended to drink too much at night because we had to sit at cafes to stay outside. (We're too old to be hanging round steps). The cost is very reasonable for the location, and you really are in the centre of things. If you're on the go all day and only need a base to drop in through the day and sleep at night, this is perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL, USA

Great Hotel Experience

Posted Jul 21, 2010
When we booked our hotel online, we did not know what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised by everything about La Residenza Verona House. The service was very responsive, answering our questions about Verona sights and booking us travel when we needed it. The room was clean and spacious, with a nice kitchenette, which was fully stocked with everything we needed to make a nice dinner for ourselves. The hotel is in a good location, across the street from Castelvecchio and within close walking distance of both downtown Verona(~5 min. walk) and the train station(~15 min walk). Overall, we would definitely recommend the hotel to others and plan to stay there whenever we return to Verona.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2009
Good hotel with very helpful staff. We had kitchen/dining area in our room which was useful. Eating breakfast at an adjacent cafe added to the experience. Would defintely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Salford Quays

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 16, 2009
Great location for exploring Verona and only 5 minutes walk to the Arena. Friendly staff. Room was comfortable, with a shower and kitchenette. Voucher for breakfast which gives you a coffee and a croissant in a local cafe- you pay for anything else but it all worked very well and you could sit outside and view the Castelvecchio Museum just over the road. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

No complaints

Posted Sep 9, 2008
Great location just a stone's throw from the river and the castle and a short walk to the arena. Breakfast (of coffee and a pastry) is provided by means of a voucher which is presented at a local cafe; an arrangement that we liked but others may not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bucks

Will definitely return

Posted Aug 7, 2008
This is a good budget hotel even though its exterior is a little unprepossessing. A short walk to the Arena and in a quiet area opposite Castelveccio. The staff are extremely pleasant and accommodating. Although bathrooms and bedrooms are showing signs of age it is extremely clean and comfortable. The airconditioning in our room stuggled with the high temperatures of late July/August would be my only criticism of the accommodation. Not an upmarket place but perfect for a short visit to see the opera. Lots of decent restaurants in the area. A coffee and a croissant is all you get at breakfast as part of the package but that was quite sufficient and seems to be the normal breakfast enjoyed by the Veronese
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel in a fantastic location!

Posted Jun 11, 2008
This is a great hotel in a fantastic location. The hotel is very well manintained and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The Arena and Piazza Bra are only a 5 minute walk as are most of the shops and restaurnts etc. If I am ever in Verona again I will most definitely be staying at La Residenza Verona House.