Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newtown, PA

Centrally located and lovely hotel!

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Location, charming
Location: One street from The Arena, walking distance to markets, Romeo & Juliet's site, Duomo.
Stayed here three nights in Verona, and it was very comfortable. Clean and spacious. We requested a triple room so that we would have more space, even though we were two. However, I might want to point out that the "third" sleeping bed was a chair that folded out. More like a cot. At least this was the case in our room. This would be find for a young child. Bathroom was very nice. Bed was typical of Italy's 3 and 4 star hotel beds. Wifi was just ok, it and out and a little slow. Breakfast was good, eggs, rolls, toast, sausages, fruit, cereal, pastry, etc. The location was excellent and they recommended a restaurant a block away, apparently it is the restaurant they recommend, because they had a stack of cards to give out. And we went there three times. La Vecia Mescola. It was EXCELLENT. We later looked online and they were listed as #4 out of 600+ restaurants in Verona. There is also a restaurant directly across the street and we ate there twice and it was also good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, Florida

Great hotel near to the Arenah

Posted Sep 17, 2015
One of the best hotels we ever stayed in. Room furnishings elegant. Staff attentive, helpful and and friendly at all levels -- desk, dining room, chambermaid. Room tidied frequently. Unbelievably conveniently located. Piazza, Arena, top restaurants, super market only a step away. Taxis available within minutes. Only negative comment might be that our room, 58, was a little noisy, with street music and what sounded like garbage pick-up at late hours. Not major problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, England

Great hotel!

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The pillows were hard, but that's how they are out there I suppose!
Location: The hotel,was only five minutes from the world famous arena. Lots of cafes and restaurants all reasonably priced. The usual tourist buses, train etc.
This was a great hotel. Very close to the centre of Verona and only five minutes walk from the Arena. The staff were all polite and friendly and most spoke English. The breakfast was very good and catered really well for gluten free guests. Nice little courtyard to sit out in and have a drink or coffee. We would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice. Great location

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Cons: Mattress
Location: Great for the arena opera and hop-on-hop-off
Mattress is extremely hard, all the rest was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Worth staying again and again

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: Beautiful older hotel with exceptional modern amenities.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: There is no more central location that this hotel--and yet on a quiet side street with good restaurants with meters from the front door.
Wonderful staff, including people at check-in, bar, restaurant, and rest of the staff. Terrific location. 15 minute walk to train station (or 5 minutes by cab). 20 minutes to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Amherst, MA

Beautiful hotel close to the Arena.

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Charming hotel, good breakfast. Great location.
Location: Museums, town square with great restaurants, nice boutiques for shopping. Roman Arena with evening concerts.
Staff was courteous and professional. Charming hotel. We had a beautiful room, one block from the Arena, yet it was a quiet street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: All of the above.
Cons: Nothing. In fact, I will be returning next week, and look forward to it.
Location: About a block from the major historic sites of the city, a block from Piazza Bra.
The facilities were excellent and the location definitely could not be beat--right in the heart of Verona, yet on a quite side street. Wonderful staff, nice bar and garden, and great room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. Unfriendly staff.

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: The location is perfect.
Cons: The front desk staff does not seem to be accessible. They don't seem to want Americans to stay there (we don't speak much Italian)
Location: Right near the Coliseum and historic sights . Dinner at Locando 4 Cuochi (recommended by the front desk) was fabulous.
We arrived at noon and the woman at the front desk seemed very overwhelmed even though we were the only ones checking in . She seemed annoyed by our request for a map and some help with our location . After sightseeing we stopped at the desk for our key and to ask for a dinner suggestion . The man gave us the name of Locando 4 Cuochi a block away but did not offer to call to reserve a table. He wrote the name on our map but , for the life of me , I could not understand his writing . On this trip we were traveling for 18 days in northern Italy , staying at 7 different hotels . This hotel was the biggest disappointment of the trip . I don't think the personnel at this hotel want Americans .I would not recommend this hotel to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gibraltar

Old world charm in centre of Verona

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: We loved the bath. After a long day traipsing up and down Verona, Mantua and Vicenza, it was glorious to soak in a bath. It was also very restful.
Cons: Mattress was slightly hard and the hot water could have been hotter-luckily when we were there was a heat wave so we didn't miss the really hot water!
Location: Excellent location. Within easy walking distance from the Arena, the main shopping centre, the Via Mazzini, and some of the very beautiful churches
The Colomba d'Oro is an excellent hotel in the very heart of Verona. It is quiet, both during the day and at night, making resting and sleeping a pleasure. Breakfast is plentiful and varied, the rooms spacious and comfortable, the staff unfailingly polite, helpful and competent in English, though they love using their Italian with anyone who has a smattering of the language. I think this hotel deserves a very high rating as it combines a décor reminiscent of Renaissance Italy with all the convenience and comfort of mod cons.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud and bad manager

Posted May 7, 2015
I booked with free cancelation, stayed two nights of three booked and they charged me for third night anyway. Manager was worst I have dealt with in 35 years of traveling