Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Spacious apartment

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Great location, all sites close by.
Lovely apartment, some noise from street. Good breakfast, though must be scheduled the night before. Very supportive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

The best place to stay in Verona

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Large rooms and lovation in the middle of town.
Cons: Nothing, it was great.
Location: Close to the Areana, restaurants and all of the sites. Walkable to everything.
Wonderful room, great location, great staff and wonderful service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AB, Canada

Excellent choice to stay in Verona

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Room and location
Cons: Nothing I can think of right now
Location: Great location, pretty much all the point of interests are in the walking distance.
Great location, friendly hotel staff, spacious and comfortable room. Love to be back again for our next vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2016
Excellent hotel. Only complaint is the bed was not the most comfortable (4/5).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2016
The TV didn't work and one of the wardrobe doors wouldn't close so was permanently swung open which I'm surprised staff didn't notice. Also one of the lamps didn't work and the room had no overhead lightings so was v dark without it. Staff were quick to replace the TV and change the lightbulb, although the lamp was broken again by the next morning. Good breakfast and v helpful staff though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Nice location and staff, extra beds are small

Posted Feb 26, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly, location was good if you find out how to get there. The in-house breakfast was really good.
Cons: Better photos to show the real twin beds in family room. They were so much smaller than photos posted on the website.
Location: Location was good if you find the way to get there.
We made reservation for 4 adults but hotel only had small twin beds available. The beds were so small that adult could not lay flat, they were more like for kids..... one of my friend ended up sleeping on the coach. It was definitely not a luxurious experience in such hotel. I would reconsider if I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Verona,s own jewel

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Cons: EVERYTHING. My wife and I travel up to four times a year thisis great for a city break
Location: Right in the heart of verona. Restaurants outside front door . Perfect
Set less than one minute from the arena this hotel was a delight. Atentive friendly staff from reception through to chef who served breakfast in the bedroom. A gem
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast, Northern Ireland

Great Facilities; Great Location

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Location and ease of access. Facilities are ideal for independent travellers. Staff are most helpful and attentive. Secure surroundings.
Cons: An outdoor seating area for guests would have been great, but understandably is not possible in the constraints of the existing building.
Location: Central for Verona, also well situated for travel to Venice, Vicenza and Garda. Easy access to all of these by train just a short taxi ride away.
Escalus is located in the centre of Verona, just a few steps from the Arena, which always seems to have something happening. The lack of in-house restaurant, bar or lounge space was no draw-back at all for us. Breakfast in-room service was excellent and always delivered on time. Restaurants are plentiful, varied and nearby. Shopping is equally convenient and caters for all tastes. Taxis and public transport are plentiful, clean and easy to use. Large areas of the city are traffic free. Loads of places to see visit, and probably something suitable for everyone. Feels like a very safe environment; clean, well maintained and graffiti-free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Writing this review was at the top of our list post honeymoon vacation. The Escalus hotel is Verona's very own gem and one of our favorite hotels during our honeymoon. Marco was on call to assist us as soon as we arrived, he was extremely hospitable and helpful, making us feel very welcome and even upgraded our room to a suite and offered us a bottle of Prosecco on the house. His restaurant recommendations were well thought out and just what we were looking for - Pretto gelato is must while visiting Verona. The Escalus hotel is cozy and charming, it's not a typical hotel, the rooms are quite spacious filled with all the amenities your heart will desire; in fact they look more like apartments than hotel rooms which is great. The hotel serves breakfast in the rooms only - the deli meats, eggs and coffee were our favorite.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Very poor value for money, tired rooms desperately need an update, bathrooms from the 90's