Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay in Verona

Posted Oct 28, 2016
My boyfriend and I visited Verona for a 3 day conference. Our stay in Hotel San Marco, Verona was a pleasant one. We stayed for five nights and were accommodated very nicely. The daily breakfast was great! I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville, ON

Excellent service and amenities

Posted Aug 30, 2016
We had a very nice stay in Verona, partly because if the excellent service we received at the Hotel San Marco. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly, and they went out of their way for the clientele. The spa was fun too; glad we spent a couple of hours there. There was a shuttle to and from downtown, but also walkable distance. We loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells, UK

Excellent hotel and staff were very friendly.

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Very good breakfast and loved the outdoor pool
Cons: No
Location: Location was a little bit out of the way but the price and what was on offer was great
Very nice hotel and I would recommend it. The staff were very friendly when we asked about the Opera and the supermarkets in the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good for an extended stay in Verona

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: The staff were very helpful.
Cons: The day I was there, the restaurant was closed for a private function. This was somewhat surprising since the hotel has a conference centre.
Location: There is a quite good restaurant just across the street. It's a short cab ride to central Verona, which is where the real interest lies.
The hotel is self-contained and has just about everything one would want. It is located some distance from central Verona, but as a result things are quiet in the evening, and the Arena, etc. are still within walking distance. Breakfast was excellent. There is a pleasant enclosed area for sitting outside over an afternoon drink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, S. F. Bay Area

Good hotel in quiet neighborhood.

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: Quiet but close to to popular areas by bus.
Location: Bus service to all popular places. Free shuttle to and from the opera at the Arena. Within walking distance for active people.
Friendly staff. Across from bus stop. Short bus ride to the Arena area and shopping. Nice big swimming pool. Air conditioned.. .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Great location, décor rather tired

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Great base for visiting Verona and other nearby places of interest.
Cons: The décor needs updating
Location: Verona is a lovely city. Vicenza to the east and Sirmione on Lake Garda to the west are easily acccessible.
We were driving between Milan and Venice and wanted a base in Verona that would be convenient not only for that city but also for visiting other places nearby such as Lake Garda and Vicenza. The San Marco resort was ideally placed, and very competitively priced. The staff were helpful and the catering was fine, but the ambiance is that of a conference centre, and the décor is rather tired and dated. Car parking wasn't always easy, either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good value hotel away from centre

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Reasonable sized comfortable room and friendly, helpful staff om reception.
Cons: Slightly faded especially upstairs corridors!
Location: The location is not central but everything is accessible. Not much to do in the immediate area except the best Chinese restaurant we have experienced.
A very comfortable room and a warm welcome. The staff were extremely helpful and prepared to encourage my limited use of Italian. We went into Verona centre often; always walked- it is a good 20 mins brisk walk. There is a regular bus No11 that stops outside hotel. You need €1.50 to buy a ticket from a machine on the bus as the driver would not sell tickets! The courtesy bus to and from the opera was brilliant, and the driver, as she manoeuvred around dozens of coaches, was an entertainment bonus. Breakfast was varied - meats,cheeses etc.,- and efficient, the only negative would be that there was a limited supply of scrambled egg and they rarely replenished it; for those who do not eat meat it was frustrating! We would return if the deal was a good one, I don't think we would pay full price, mainly because of its location and slightly less than the advertised 4 stars!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Pleasant and helpful staff.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and atmosphere.
Cons: The lift must be the slowest in the World. The coffee needs major attention - this would be my major complaint.
Location: Within reasonable walking distance to the Centro - but slightly long.
Spent 10 days - very well run hotel and reasonably priced and located.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Leicester. UK

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Really good breakfast selection.
Cons: The breakfast was great but noticed the tables were slow to be cleared for later arrivals
Location: The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the Arena but the location is in a nice area and the walk is no problem. Taxi s cost around 10 eurosto the Arena.
We were very lucky to stay in the original building of the hotel. A large room with a great bathroom. The hotel was very clean throughout and the staff were very friendly.
2 out of 5
by lyn from bromley

Poor hotel description

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Definitely not 4star. Quite a walk into Verona centre. Rooms small staff miserable. Spa was awfull and tried to charge 15 euros each to use. Outside pool filthy although out of season. Charged for water in room. Not as picture and very disappointed by quality and price. Would not recommend !