Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Quiet, but too small room, unimpressive breakfast

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Verona P.N. station--about a 10-minute walk.
Cons: Breakfast needs rethinking--fresh fruits, fresher croissants and breads, for instance.
Location: There's not very much nearby to do, but it's an easy walk to Piazza Bra.
If you need a hotel not far from Verona P.N. train station, and you don't mind something very, very basic, the Scalzi will do, but if you're hoping for a room with ample space and charm, try the Hotel Columba d'Oro in Piazza Bra, about double the distance from the train station. Breakfast at the Scalzi unfortunately is disappointingly mediocre. The staff, however, is lovely--very friendly, courteous, and attentive, making me feel a little sorry I can't give the Scalzi a glowing review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is conveniently located between the train station and the centre of town. The room would have been improved by thicker pillows. The pillows were very thin and hence a bit uncomfortable. Room included breakfast which was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Good hotel near the station and center

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Very good position and lovely staff
Cons: I found in my room I could not just have bedside light on,so if you needed to get up in the night you did so in the dark to the main light switch.
Location: Near the railway station ,and short walk to good restaurants ,and not far from the arena,we were advised to visit the gardens over the river ,wonderfu
Pleasant surprise behind the big doors! And a very warm welcome after a long journey
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great base to visit Verona

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
A great base to visit Verona. Within easy reach of the train station and the Arena. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very enjoyable stay. Only thing is that the hotel does not have a lift. Otherwise a very comfortable and interesting hotel. Would recommend it to my friends and family.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not far from train station. Very quaint place

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Was a comfortable stay. Not too far from large plaza area. Good breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thompson CT

Highly recommended hotel in Verona!

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay in Verona was incredible and this hotel was a big part of it. Located within walking distance of everything it was a great place to stay. Upon arrival the hostess greeted us with a smile a very positive attitude, rushing around to make sure we and everyone at the hotel was comfortable. The hostess also was able to supply us with anything that we needed and made a great recommendation for dinner. The room was spacious, the air conditioning worked great, and the area was awesome. I would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Lina from Mumbai

Lovely city, nice hotel.

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is in quiet street. The owners were friendly and helpful and guided me properly so that I was able to get the best of my one day stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was adequate but not quite as nice as I thought. Wireless did not work. Towel rack did not work. Front desk staff were helpful and always there. Breakfast was adequate and served in a nice room and patio. Neighborhood was ok, not in the nicest part of Verona but walkable to the Arena in about 10 min, and fairly close to the train station. Just a warning--do not rely on taking a taxi to the airport, at least when it's raining. We were assured by the front desk it would take 2 minutes after their call for a taxi to show. The next morning it was raining, and the front desk couldn't get the call through. We wound up hoofing it to the train station to catch the bus, which took a while and was more expensive (5 people) than a taxi, and we barely made the flight.
5 out of 5
by Jaclyn from United Kingdom

A fantastic hotel

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is a really lovely hotel with really helpful and friendly staff. I had the loveliest welcome and recommendations on the best spots to visit in Verona. My room was very quiet and a good size for a solo traveller. The breakfast was really good, including the cappuccinos. It's also in a great spot to go for a run along the river, taking in the gorgeous scenery. It's about a 10min walk from Piazza Bra, but this shouldn't put you off as its in a great spot.
5 out of 5
by Eunice from Walsall

Great family run hotel!

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here on our annual 'girls' only trip, loved the city and this lovely family run hotel made us so welcome. It is so conveniently situated - easy walk to all the main tourist sites and close to the train & bus station for trips out of the city, we took a bus to Sirmione on Lake Garda one day. Would definitely stay here again.