Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DERBY

VERONA PLACE OF THE GODS

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: THE STAFF,THE LINEN THE BAR,THE TOWELS
Cons: THE PRE OPERA DINNER
Location: REAL VERONA
A FINE HOTEL IN A GOOD LOCATION FOR VERONA ,FOR THE HISTORICAL SITES,THE OPERA.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good spot, close to everything

Posted Jul 17, 2017
We had a great stay in one of our favorite cities. Sites and restaurants were all within walking distance. It was a short cab ride to the hotel costing us only 14 Euros. Staff was very good and helped to book train tickets to next stop as well as recommend very good restaurants Would love to go back to see an opera
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston and New York

Great Location

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Air conditioning and some of the staff were not friendly
Location: all of the sites are within walking distance.
We experienced two extremes, so our rating is an average. The staff was very welcoming and actually upgraded us from a very TINY room (I had booked a deluxe room, so not sure what happened??). The new room was exquisite BUT the air conditioning did not work and the daytime temperatures were over 95 F. The first night, the staff did try to correct the situation but were unable to do so. During the next day, the problem seemed to be corrected but late in the night, the air conditioning failed again. When I called reception, I was actually screamed at and the clerk said "we know your room is hot, we can't fix it, and you can change rooms if you have a problem with that" in the most nasty manner. We did not want to change rooms at 1 am when we were leaving the next morning. The hotel is extremely convenient to the major sites of Verona.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Beautiful Hotel Stay Away When Hot

Posted Jun 25, 2017
This hotel is unique in its furnishings, but the air conditioning is old and designed to only cool the outside air by 7-10 degrees F. Thus when it is above 90, your room will be close to 80 inside. I had to purchase an auxiliary electric fan in order to sleep. Perhaps the culture in Verona is accustomed to that, but the hotel could upgrade their air conditioning. Also, getting ice is like begging. They frown when you ask for more as they apparently do not have efficient ice makers. The Hotel Restauarant serves a delicious breakfast the menu for lunch is too expensive; salad and entree at $32 euros; with drinks your check will average more than $40 euros. The staff tried to overcome the situation by apologizing but they cannot overcome the hotel's management decisions to keep their profits instead of up-dating this facility. With the amount they charge, they could invest in some capital expenses and keep the guests happier. My wife and I hope to return but not during the summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Attractive, characterful and superbly located

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: We liked practically everything about this hotel - oh, did we mention the excellent buffet breakfasts in pleasant surroundings?
Cons: We really are stuck for something to say!
Location: Super location, easy walking distance from most of Verona's attractions - five minutes to the Roman amphitheatre and 10 from the stunning Duomo.
This hotel offers excellent service and clean comfortable accommodation. Like many other buildings in Verona it boasts Roman foundations which can be viewed through several toughened glass windows in the ground floor. Also round the corner from the main shopping street. We took a "Tryverona" trip to Lake Garda which we strongly recommend (details not available from the hotel as they were promoting a more expensive product) Contact www.tryverona.com or drop in to their office at Via Pollone 16.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Not five stars‼

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: Great
Spending 622 euros on junior suite only to be told that the coffee machine only for full suite guests. Elaborate bathtub with jacuzzi is a total nightmare...impossible to get into tub to take shower without endangering oneself. The tub slopes downward and finally the only way to take shower,was to sit on,edge of vert tall tub...grab whatever available, and then attempt to swing legs over and into tub. Then try to stand up and finally turn on shower. Very dangerous and every guest contacted had similar experience. Check in counter is two small places with no other arrival area or concierge service space available. Breakfast was in a small area with minimum choices of foods.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales

Beautiful accommodation in central location

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: Expedia to offer choice of £ Sterling or Euros on initial price please!
Location: Charming historical location as a UNESCO heritage site. Wonderful food and some of the most superb wines in the world.
Enjoyable and relaxing stay in a beautiful city. Hotel staff always helpful.
5 out of 5
by Ivo

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
in the center of Verona. excellent property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017
Dear Mr Ivo, I appreciate you taking the time to share with us your comments. I am very pleased that you appreciated our property and the location and I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of hosting you back in the nearest future. Marcello M Pigozzo Owner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

A charming hotel close to everything.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
The hotel is very close to all the sites but especially the shops and restaurants. The hotel has character and the staff are friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast is very good with a great selection of fresh food. My husband and I enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Marcello M Pigozzo Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Vicky, thank you for your lovely comments. We are very pleased to learn you appreciated our staff and breakfast. My team and I concentrate on service improvement and guest satisfaction every day and your appreciation is very important for us. We look forward to welcoming you at Palazzo Victoria in the near future. Marcello M Pigozzo Owner
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, quiet and great location

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, quiet and great location
Location: Excellent for walking the town
Comfortable, quiet and great location for overnight visit. Easy connect to Milan Centrale and MXP for flight back to US.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Marcello M Pigozzo Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Sirs, I am very pleased that you appreciated our service and location. I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of hosting you back in the nearest future. Best regards, Marcello M Pigozzo Owner