Ratings based on 310 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Beautiful Hotel Stay Away When Hot

Posted Jun 25, 2017
This hotel is unique in its furnishings, but the air conditioning is old and designed to only cool the outside air by 7-10 degrees F. Thus when it is above 90, your room will be close to 80 inside. I had to purchase an auxiliary electric fan in order to sleep. Perhaps the culture in Verona is accustomed to that, but the hotel could upgrade their air conditioning. Also, getting ice is like begging. They frown when you ask for more as they apparently do not have efficient ice makers. The Hotel Restauarant serves a delicious breakfast the menu for lunch is too expensive; salad and entree at $32 euros; with drinks your check will average more than $40 euros. The staff tried to overcome the situation by apologizing but they cannot overcome the hotel's management decisions to keep their profits instead of up-dating this facility. With the amount they charge, they could invest in some capital expenses and keep the guests happier. My wife and I hope to return but not during the summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Attractive, characterful and superbly located

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: We liked practically everything about this hotel - oh, did we mention the excellent buffet breakfasts in pleasant surroundings?
Cons: We really are stuck for something to say!
Location: Super location, easy walking distance from most of Verona's attractions - five minutes to the Roman amphitheatre and 10 from the stunning Duomo.
This hotel offers excellent service and clean comfortable accommodation. Like many other buildings in Verona it boasts Roman foundations which can be viewed through several toughened glass windows in the ground floor. Also round the corner from the main shopping street. We took a "Tryverona" trip to Lake Garda which we strongly recommend (details not available from the hotel as they were promoting a more expensive product) Contact www.tryverona.com or drop in to their office at Via Pollone 16.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Not five stars‼

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: Great
Spending 622 euros on junior suite only to be told that the coffee machine only for full suite guests. Elaborate bathtub with jacuzzi is a total nightmare...impossible to get into tub to take shower without endangering oneself. The tub slopes downward and finally the only way to take shower,was to sit on,edge of vert tall tub...grab whatever available, and then attempt to swing legs over and into tub. Then try to stand up and finally turn on shower. Very dangerous and every guest contacted had similar experience. Check in counter is two small places with no other arrival area or concierge service space available. Breakfast was in a small area with minimum choices of foods.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales

Beautiful accommodation in central location

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: Expedia to offer choice of £ Sterling or Euros on initial price please!
Location: Charming historical location as a UNESCO heritage site. Wonderful food and some of the most superb wines in the world.
Enjoyable and relaxing stay in a beautiful city. Hotel staff always helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

A charming hotel close to everything.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
The hotel is very close to all the sites but especially the shops and restaurants. The hotel has character and the staff are friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast is very good with a great selection of fresh food. My husband and I enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Marcello M Pigozzo Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Vicky, thank you for your lovely comments. We are very pleased to learn you appreciated our staff and breakfast. My team and I concentrate on service improvement and guest satisfaction every day and your appreciation is very important for us. We look forward to welcoming you at Palazzo Victoria in the near future. Marcello M Pigozzo Owner
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, quiet and great location

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, quiet and great location
Location: Excellent for walking the town
Comfortable, quiet and great location for overnight visit. Easy connect to Milan Centrale and MXP for flight back to US.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Marcello M Pigozzo Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Sirs, I am very pleased that you appreciated our service and location. I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of hosting you back in the nearest future. Best regards, Marcello M Pigozzo Owner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath, UK

Great location but that's where the star rating is

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Really really great location, Morden hotel decor - bathroom has things like rusted bars and cracks along bottom which although didn't leak, was rather obvious and easy to amend. We had the deluxe double which was nice but a little squashed altohough bed was big and comfy and all amenities fine. Hair dryer was broken but replaced. Breakfast was fine but no hot choicw on the buffet. Has to chase to get hot water both mornings for tea - service wasn't great but again bigger style makes it a bit easier and Room clean and nice which you eat in. When we arrived the desk staff were okay if a bit rushed and I wouldn't say skilled at personability which is expected for this star of rating. But location and overall would stay again but wouldn't be my first recommendation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by MarcelloMPigozzo, Hotel Management
Dear S M, your feedback is very important for us giving us the possibility to better the service and quality. Be sure we will take good care of your observation and will discuss it with our team in order to enhance our standards. Best regards Marcello M Pigozzo Owner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location in Verona

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location and charm.
Cons: Service is average at best. To offer a room like the 1st one we got is not acceptable.
Location: Verona is a very pretty city. The hotel is very well located close to all the major attractions (arena, castle, Giulietta's house, etc..)
The hotel is in a central location in the old town in Verona. I have booked a suite as we were three. The room was in awful condition (smell, furniture, painting) and we were moved to a new suite which was actually quite nice. Overall a good hotel, but for a 5 star proposition, service was just ok, at best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by MarcelloMPigozzo, Hotel Management
Dear FC we thank you for your feedback. We will take good care of your comments to increase our standards and improve our service. Best regards Marcello M Pigozzo Owner
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Nothing extravagance except for dinner price at the only restaurant - no value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Basic room way too small!

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Nice common areas, clean, decent breakfast. Tiny room, staff were a bit of a mixed bag, some helpful others not so much, you need to be demanding to get things done. I was ripped off on room service basic margarita pizza and a water 28 euros without a tip. It was a small/medium size and fairly average, the delivery person seemed put out I didn't tip. (I didn't know the price of what I was ordering or the room service number as no information was in the room, I eventually guessed at 9 for reception and was then transferred, wouldn't have ordered if I had known). I think it could be the go to hotel in Verona if the little things were done better.