Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich, UK

Imposing hotel with sumptuous breakfasts

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Drinks prices were high.
Location: Great location, just opposite the wonderful beach.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Principe. The staff were really lovely, especially the Reception staff and the Head Porter. The breakfasts were out of this world. The best hotel breakfasts we have ever experienced. Wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anniversary trip to Viaraggio

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere, the reading room, the pool and the breakfasts were great.
Cons: The concierge staff could follow through.
Location: Walks, the beach, shopping
The hotel is beautifully located and the reception staff extremely helpful. I was disappointed there was no bath, only a shower in our room. Although we were offered an alternative room it was not a superior room and we did not change. The Principe (2 Michelin Star) restaurant was superb and will always be remembered for its attention to detail, fabulous food and style. The spa service was also very good and we loved the roof pool and area. Disappointed with concierge staff who did not follow through with our requests on three separate occasions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Viareggio long weekend

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel, great facilities, attentive staff, brilliant service at all times. Well located
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fab hotel excellent staff

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Nice rooms with most facilities you need , lovely pool on roof good restaurant
Cons: Only one thing which was slightly annoying every time went to pool no towels
Location: Good location for traveling to florance , Pisa etc
Had ten days holiday at this hotel and we were thoroughly looked after fabulous helpful staff made it a break to remember
5 out of 5
by Howard

The Gem of Viareggio

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Truly a great hotel. Our room on the sea was perfect with large windows that opened to the constant sea breeze. The services were superb. The bar manager was very attentive. The breakfast was amazing, and the pool on the roof was the icing on the cake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Classy premium hotel close to beach

Posted May 20, 2017
Quality feel about the whole place. Traditional but by no means tired like many other places. Excellent staff and service.
5 out of 5
by Fran

Hotel stay in Viareggio

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
This is a really lovely traditional style hotel in a great location right next to the beach. The staff are on the whole polite, friendly and very efficient although the bar-service is a lot slower than we're used to in the UK. The roof-top pool is gorgeous, and a real sun-trap. The standard of food and drink is very good but quite expensive compared to the other cafes and restaurants in Viareggio. There is a lovely spa which guests have free access to for one hour per day and where you can also book treatments. The only negative is the dilapidated building across the road from the hotel which has been left in a state of disrepair but has the name of the hotel on it. This may have formerly been the private beach area but it is a bit of an eyesore. Our visit coincided with the G7 summit which was taking place in nearby Lucca, the US Secretary of State was staying in our hotel so we had the added excitement of a police cordon and loads of secret service people wandering about!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best hotel in the town

Posted Apr 15, 2017
A very good and best hotel in the town. Close by the beach and wonderful view to the sea! Also a good food served for breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Outstanding...please visit!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Everything...especially the rooftop pool, the quality & view from the room...and amazing service.
Cons: Not much. I think the lower floors are not as good quality as the higher floors...but still beautiful.
Location: Perfect, central location to visit the whole of Tuscanny. Right on the beach. Loads for kids to do nearby...but we just didnt want to leave the hotel.
This was one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in! It oozes class, charm & sophistication...with exceptional service to match! It is right on the sea, and a fantastic location to visit the whole of Northern Tuscany from...30 mins from Pisa, 1 hour from Florence, 1 hour from Cinque Terre etc. The master-stroke is the stunning pool on the rooftop...which is heated to 36*...perfect for the Winter / Spring months....my toddler daughter simply loved it. Amazing views too! We were upgraded to a 5th floor sea view room...absolutely beautiful. After a tiring day sight-seeing, it was a pleasure to come back to such a hotel. In addition...fantastic breakfast, and a high quality restaurant. Please do not miss staying here!