Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Location.

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
Very relaxing weekend break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice, quiet hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Location: Great starting point for travel all around. Cinque Terra, Pisa, Florence, Lucca, Sienna.
Away from the hustle and bustle of the beach strip, this quiet, somewhat hidden hotel offers a relaxing atmosphere. Bikes are free to rent, ping pong and a swimming pool. Breakfast was okay. We did not choose the full meal plan. Staff speaks only little English, but helpful. The only downside is the small shower, that can be challenging even for everyone. Internet very spotty and slow, but okay in lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Very nice places like in the forest. They have carparking area. Very silent place. Hotel condition is good. But because of the weather rooms are little cold. They have clean staff for bath. And room is good. Thank you for your hospiyality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Peace and Quiet

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The staff and swimming pool
Cons: Nothing
We stayed at The La Bussola for 10 days, the staff at the hotel were very accomodating and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The Hotel is based in a very quiet area we did not have a car but were able to get the local buses into Forte Dei Marmei to get the train or other buses to various Towns/Cities. You can have bike supplied from the Hotel if you want to stay local and cycle around the lanes which is perfectly safe. The breakfast is a continental breakfast not your usual egg/bacon which most people expect, it was enough for us to have at breakfast. we did not do the evening meal as we like to eat out etc. Overall a very pleasant stay if you are looking for peace and quiet then this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
by Del from USA

A Great Place to Relax

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel La Bussola is located in a quiet area off the beaten path, yet easily accessible to the activities in the area. The location, the staff, the food and the facilities are all excellent. We used this location to travel Cinque Terre. We booked Hotel La Bussola for two days, but enjoyed it so much that we stayed five days. We traveled Central Europe for five weeks and this was our most pleasant accommodations..
5 out of 5
by Naim Y from Setia Alam, Malaysia

Very nice country-style hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels
A pleasant hotel in a very quiet wooded area near the beach of Massa, just north of Pisa. The staff were friendly and attentive and spoke excellent English, excellent buffet breakfast too. Easy to access the major attractions in the area from this hotel. Parking is free and ample.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet neighborhood, great choice for families

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels
Family run hotel. Staff was accommodating, however at times difficult to communicate with. Very nice pool makes this a great choice for families. Walk or bike to beach. Easy train ride to Cinque Terre, but having a car to get back and forth to train station and dinner locations is a must. Breakfast was adequate, however not nearly as good as some other hotels in Italy we visited. Would definitely consider staying here again on future trips.
5 out of 5
by Catd77 from London

Great value family hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels
Nice hotel with a good pool. We had dinner there two out of three nights which was tasty local cuisine for a bargain price. Drinks were well priced too. If you're travelling with little ones this place works well as they can either join you for dinner or the dining room is close enough to the rooms for your monitor to function. The hotel is a little gem.
5 out of 5
by Lila M

A hidden gem

Posted Jul 8, 2012 on Hotels
This was a great find. A hidden hotel at a great location (close to the beach and a train station, short drive to the Cinque Terre and Pisa). The hotel was very clean and the service by this family-owned crew was amazing. The restaurant had great food and a very good price, so we didn't even go out to dinner. The pool was perfect for the kid to play in and for us to cool down. Overall an excellent experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

A great place to stay near Massa

Posted Sep 26, 2011
This is an inexpensive, ideal hotel for anyone passing through Massa or indeed a family staying at this resort. Its a little way out of the centre of town in a quiet residential neighbourhood , easy to find and with good parking. The hotel has bicycles for hire , swimming pool and was set in lovely gardens. The breakfast buffet was generous and the evening meal was traditional italien fare at a very reasonable price. Whilst the rooms were very clean they were a little 'well worn' and 'basic'. We found the staff attentive and friendly and enjoyed our overnight stay.